Find jobs for Scout

NCSA Next College Student Athlete Scout Reviews

Updated 28 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
NCSA Next College Student Athlete President and COO Lisa Strasman
Lisa Strasman
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scout Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are great and driven. Product helps families

    Cons

    A little disorganized. Only constant is change

    Continue reading

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    March 13, 2019Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for your review and the time you spent with us! We wish you the best of luck with your professional career.

  2. Helpful (5)

    "Good for College Students, Not people who want to make real money"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scout in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Food, and parties every once in a while

    Cons

    Long hours, the few people who get commission get specific recruits the company gives them better recruits. The real athletes who have real experience dont get to utilize their knowledge. When it comes to changing positions or moving up you better hope you know someone or you get on the managers good side then maybe they will put in a word for you. Other than that your credentials wont get you as much as you think.

    Continue reading

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    August 20, 2018EVP of Sales

    Thank you for your review and we hope you’ve found happiness in your new position. Its been a year since you wrote your review, but I wanted to come back to it to address the career path for our Recruiting Coordinators (RCs) (formerly called “Scouts”). There are several ways to gain more experience as a RC at NCSA. First, we have a Career Development Program which is a series of classes on topics such as consultative sales, but also marketing, customer service, management and more. Upon graduating, RCs become Senior RCs and earn a higher compensation. Beyond that, RCs have the opportunity to become mentors, apply for management positions as they open up, and even move on to open roles in other departments at the company. Assuming teammates are passionate about their work and our mission, are hard workers, and have proven themselves as someone willing to go above and beyond, we are happy to consider them for these roles. We would rather promote from within when possible.


  3. Helpful (9)

    "Great Starter Job: DO NOT STAY MORE THAN A YEAR"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scout in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great starter job right out of college, awesome coworkers and for the most part a good cause helping students get college scholarships. Great training and learn a whole lot during the process.

    Cons

    The salary is terrible, forced to work weekends and no such thing as a work life balance. You will burn yourself out and wonder why you are not hitting the numbers you used to. Very high turnover rate and even if you think you are killing it, then have 2 bad months and are threatened to lose you're job....... No such thing as taking time off as if you do you will be paid with the terrible base salary and no chance at commission.

    Continue reading

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    June 5, 2017EVP of Recruiting

    As a former employee, I appreciate you taking the time to review your time at NCSA. I agree, NCSA is a great place to work with our amazing teammates and allowing us the opportunity to change high school student-athletes lives! Our entry level sales role (Recruiting Coordinator or RC) is meant to be an 18-24 month role which is explained during the interview process. We provide RCs extensive training opportunities, the chance to gain some consultative selling experience and encourage individuals to grow professionally through our 6-month Career Development Program. Our hope is for these individuals to move up to the Senior Sales role at NCSA or to another position at NCSA. Some RCs do decide to make the RC role a longer term career, and others use the skills they learned at NCSA to transition to other sales environments that our company does not currently offer, which we fully support. In regards to work/life balance, our Recruiting Coordinators are expected to work a 40 hour week and have the option to work OT. We do not require anyone in this role to work on weekends as we are very sensitive to work/life balance. I hope you’re enjoying your new career and wish you the best of luck.

  4. Helpful (6)

    "Fun and Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scout in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission, Great People, Great Management

    Cons

    Typical Sales Role Up's and Down's

    Continue reading

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    March 15, 2017Human Resources Athleader

    Thanks for the feedback! Glad to hear things are going well.

  5. Helpful (8)

    "Great place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Scout in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Control of your schedule Every call is different Talk sports all day Great money

    Cons

    Work- Life Balance can be an issue - as long as you hit your goals, you have control of your schedule. If you don't hit your goals, you may seem like you're working more to try to get there.

    Continue reading

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    February 9, 2017Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for the feedback. I am glad to hear you are enjoying your role as a Head Scout (now Recruiting Specialist) with NCSA. Work life balance is a topic we are always striving to help our teammates to manage. Please call or stop by and visit with the HR team if you ever would like to chat about it!

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Scout"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Scout 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Help athletes, good job for those that are self motivated and looking to work hard

    Cons

    Job can be a grind and a little repetitive

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (19)

    "Poor Management / Misleading Product / No work-life / Great Pay"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Scout in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sports. Work from home. Can be great pay.

    Cons

    When I took my job as a 'Head Scout' at this company I could not have been more excited. I get to talk sports at home, for a job, make $100k, AND help kids get college scholarships? Sounds like the dream job! Then I worked there and this is where things went downhill. If you want to have no life at all but make a lot of money, maybe I haven't lost you yet. A typical day includes making calls to families who have been cold called by a 'Scout' (aka some kid fresh out of college who says anything to the family to take a meeting with a 'Head Scout' cause it's free). Your morning is filled with calling the families you have scheduled in your calendar for that night and the next to 'confirm' the meeting. Most of the time you don't get answers, they don't understand what the call is about, or ask if it costs money (because NCSA doesn't say it costs money, doesn't tell anyone their prices because they are very expensive, and the 'Scouts' tell the families its a 'free evaluation'. So besides trying to confirm your meetings you will be making follow up calls to families that said no on the phone during your 'evaluation' (we will get to the evaluation in a bit) but need to try and re-sell them on what the cost of recruiting will be without NCSA. Mix in some video conferencing meeting along with meetings with your micromanaging manager talking to you and reviewing your 'calls' and how you need to open your calendar up to hit more meetings. This happens OVER and OVER and OVER. That's your job for 3 hours in the morning. Since NCSA is based out of Chicago, that's typically from 9am to noon. From noon until 430 you are 'free'. But make sure you're checking your phone constantly for e-mails that come through cause you need to make sure you're not missing anything. Typical amount of e-mails that come through per day are around 60-75. Now, starts the second half of your day. So from about 4:30-5 you are prepping for your calls, seeing what families cancelled their 'free evaluation' because they asked their coach, read reviews online, heard somewhere it costs money and are no longer interested. Your slots are an hour and 15 minutes long. So you work 5-6:15, 6:15-7:30, 7:30-8:45, 8:45-10, 10-11:15 and if you want to hit your numbers or work seven days a week, you will try and get your 11:15pm - 12:30am slot filled also. That is your typical day Monday - Thursday. Friday lots of people will work cause they are under pressure to get more meetings or hit certain sales numbers so they will add in a couple meetings as well. Then the fun and exciting weekend. Now on Saturday and Sunday, you are expected to work both days technically your actual 'day off' is Friday. So wake up and do meetings from 8am to 1pm on Saturday and then on Sunday, some guys will do anywhere from 5-10 meetings. Well, at least open up their calendars for that many. Many will fall out because families usually have lives on weekends and are doing things with their family and friends. But can you leave to go do something if a family doesn't show up? Nope. Because your next call is only an hour from then and theres not enough time to do anything but sit and maybe grab a snack and catch a bit of Sportscenter. You want time with your family? Your kids? Your friends? Go to sporting events? Watch your nephews mid-week game? Go out to eat with people? Have a social life? Well that all goes out the window with this job. I can't call it a career because there is no career advancement what so ever. The "VP's" for the most part are people that do a whole lot of nothing but micromanage, sit on meetings, and talk about how to improve your call and get more meetings set up. Now during your 'evaluations' with the family you will deal with people that have no money to pay for such an expensive service for something they can do on their own, people that thought the call was a 'free evaluation', questions on how do we work specifically with college coaches (ask around, I would honestly say the majority don't use or like information that NCSA sends the coaches), how do we evaluate their kid besides talking to them on the phone (most kids have no video at all and no varsity experience but as long as they'll pay, we will take them). Now during your call, your first 10-20 minutes is to build rapport with the family to get them to 'trust you' and then you begin your hard sell. Covering the same exact talk track family after family after family, day after day after day. You have to show them the webpage, how it works and how it will be beneficial to their needs. So just do a quick favor, go to Best Buy or ESPN or whatever site you want, and now imagine you have to explain how to use that site for 5-6 hours a night, day in and day out. The site doesn't change, just the person you're talking to does. Sounds new and exciting every night right? This has to be the most monotonous job in the world. Everything on the NCSA site can be done for free if you do a simple Google search but it is nice for families to have in one place. The software is definitely above average and fairly simple to use. But that's not why families enroll. They enroll because the messaging is we will help their student athlete find the college of their dreams and get recruited to PLAY at that school because of our connections, our knowledge and our guidance. What would you say one 'Recruiting Coach' could handle in getting to know each student athlete and their families, following up how their season is going, help them make better videos, talk about whats been new, what schools they have been talking to, how to follow up with them, how to negotiate scholarships, how to get financial aid, etc etc etc? 10? 50? 100 student athletes and families at once? Actually, when you enroll a family, you NEVER speak to them ever again cause they all get sent to a recruiting coach who has on average of OVER 1,000 different student athletes to manage and keep track of. You think your high dollar investment would get you a little more personal attention, but unfortunately for the families and the student athlete, it doesn't. If you want to work 6-7 days a week from home, sell a product that doesn't live up to its messaging, live in a bubble, miss out of life but make a lot of money, then NCSA is your job. The turnover is ridiculously high for a reason but for some, all the above is worth it. This is the 100% reality of this job and if someone tells you any different, they are flat out being dishonest. Best of luck to anyone reading this. I hope it helps one way or another.

    Continue reading

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    February 9, 2017Executive Vice President of Sales

    Thank you for your feedback. I see you are no longer with NCSA and I wish you would have shared your concerns while you were still part of our team. I would like to address a few of your points, as they are not based in reality. You state that NCSA doesn’t say it costs money. This is not accurate. While it is true that pricing details are not publicly displayed, we do make it very clear that there is a fee for premium services on our website - http://www.ncsasports.org/who-is-ncsa/what-does-ncsa-do/what-does-ncsa-cost-how-much. In addition, Specialists have the ability to offer discounts and even free memberships for families in financial need, and Specialists activate student-athletes so they have more access to our free tools. This activation is 100% free. Our managers consistently reiterate that when you are not working, you should not be working. This includes checking emails. You say that nothing will change, but I beg to differ. Every year NCSA gets better for our clients and our internal teammates. Our compensation plans, benefits, hours, and much more look very different than they did three, two, or even one year ago. I hope you are doing well in your new endeavor.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Head Football Scout for NCSA will leave you with NO LIFE- Trust me!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Football Scout 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, good pay and benefits, great people.

    Cons

    Insane work hours. I worked from 5pm-1:30am on Monday-Thursday. We also had to do phone calls between 10am-noon, so there was really never serious time away from the phone, especially when you work from home. Weekdays were the easy part, weekends were the worst, I would average about 10 hours on Saturdays and 15 hours on Sundays- no joke. They would want more than that too. I worked on every single holiday except Christmas, yes even Thanksgiving and Easter because it's "a good chance to speak to families who are already together." Oh and if you're thinking Friday is a day off, it's not. You have to call every single family you will be speaking with over the weekend and speak to them for about 10-20 minutes, and if they don't answer? you wait and call again. Expect to work about 3-4 hours every Friday. In the 60 hours spent working each week, every waking minute is on the phone. Your throat will hurt, and you're social/family life will disappear. There's a reason each Head Scout only lasts about a year or less.

    Continue reading

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    February 9, 2017Executive Vice President of Sales

    We agree that our great people are definitely a huge pro of working at NCSA. We are very up front that our hours for Head Scouts (now called Recruiting Specialists) are not traditional. If people don’t want to work nights and weekends, this job is not a good fit. The position also requires high phone time, as the role consists of a high volume of lengthy conversations with families. We always communicate this during the interview process, and understand it is not for everyone. The average Recruiting Specialist works much less than 60 hours per week. We also have an option for Recruiting Specialists to work a set schedule of 40 hours max, per week. I see you are a former teammate, and am proud to say that NCSA has made many positive advancements with benefits and work-life balance and we are constantly looking for ways to do even more for all our team members.

  9. Helpful (6)

    "NCSA is Fantastic"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Scout in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Doing incredible work for families and student athletes to help them achieve their academic and athletic ambitions. NCSA provides incredible access, organization and process to connect recruits with college coaches and vice - versa. The company is succeeding and compensation is very good. One can be part of a very large team or work independently/remotely depending upon the role. Very impressed with leadership, vision, quality for all stake holders.

    Cons

    There is not much that I can complain about from my position. I am fortunate to have my role and my opportunities are what I choose to create.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "National Scout"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Scout 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great culture and awesome atmosphere

    Cons

    Have to work your best everyday

    Continue reading
Found 70 reviews