Nationwide Building Society Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Nationwide Building Society Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Nationwide Building Society CEO Joe Garner
Joe Garner
233 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management are in some cases Jurassic in their style(in 22 reviews)

  • "Head office in Swindon, very few opportunities for progression if you didn't want to move(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Good to work in Nationwide

    Cons

    No Points as of now

    Nationwide Building Society2019-08-28
  2. "Senior Progamme Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Good leadership and direction a

    Cons

    Can be more commercially inclined to gain value

    Nationwide Building Society2016-11-26
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Branch Manager in Shrewsbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mutual, owned by our members Staff are valued Able to speak up freely Good overall remuneration package Promotion opportunities

    Cons

    Resourcing levels can be a challenge

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-18
  4. "performance consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work for , great opportunities for progression

    Cons

    no cons all is well within the organisation

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-16
  5. "Nationwide as an Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employer, focussed on customers and employees is very high. Diversity, fairness and opportunity aplenty. Right culture for me, the challenge is there and definitely get the support if challenges arise. Benefits are superb especially for employees in difficult situations.

    Cons

    HR policies could be perceived as lenient as some employees take advantage however I still look at this as a positive.

    Advice to Management

    Not much - Chief Exec is very inspirational, the culture is fantastic (please don't change) - you're doing a great job.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Director in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get to work with amazing people from diverse backgrounds, that contribute to the same goal. Focussed on providing the best possible customer experience. Pay is great based on similar roles elsewhere. The wider package including pension is fantastic. There is an opportunity for career progression, and self development including support with relevant qualifications.

    Cons

    Most head office based roles are based in the south, but if you’re prepared to travel the opportunity is there, The competition is the strongest it’s ever been with some challenger banks being more innovate with their approach.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-04
  7. "I feel proud to work for an organisation that puts the needs of its members and colleagues above all else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is energising to work in an organisation of such scale that is so significant in the financial sector and feel you have the opportunity to inform and contribute to its future direction.

    Cons

    There genuinely are no downsides to being a colleague at Nationwide.

    Advice to Management

    More of what you are doing and quicker. Those tech only based banks are on our heels.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-07
  8. "Customer focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Customer focused helpful family orientated

    Cons

    No overtime no bonuses etc

    Advice to Management

    Reward loyalty better

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-01
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Genuinely cares about members and it’s employees

    Cons

    Project delivery tends to be slow

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-27
  10. "Good emloyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant 

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, offer loyalty rewards,

    Cons

    Poor incentive structure, weak technology

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-25
Found 577 reviews