Navigant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Manager

Navigant Manager Reviews

Updated May 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Navigant CEO Julie M. Howard
Julie M. Howard
33 Ratings
  1. "average benefits for the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Managing Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Navigant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people and good support teams

    Cons

    bureaucracy can be challenging for getting things done

    Advice to Management

    none

    Navigant2019-05-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great variable pay but work / life balance is an issue for many"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Navigant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This review is for the Banking, Insurance, and Capital Markets (BICM) group. Variable compensation can be very high and is transparent / aligned to key metrics (i.e. performance rating and utilization). It is a smaller firm when compared to Big 4, Accenture, etc. so there is less bureaucracy and more access to senior leadership.

    Cons

    Utilization expectations are much higher than comparable firms. Essentially anyone at the Associate Director level or below is expected to be utilized 100% of the time while taking on greater responsibilities in the areas of practice development, sales, and leading internal initiatives. This leads to burn out among the Managing Consultant / Associate Director group as they have to work long nights and weekends...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reduce the utilization expectations for the Associate Director / Managing Consultant levels so they can push down more work to higher margin resources and devote more time to sales and internal initiatives.

    Navigant2019-02-19
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Navigant full-time

    Pros

    Growth opportunities, and wfh flexibility

    Cons

    The pay is below market value

    Navigant2019-02-07
  4. "Talented Professionals at Navigant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Managing Director in Washington, DC

      I worked at Navigant full-time

      Pros

      Really good people, in a collaborative environment, committed to training and professional development, diversity and inclusion, and work-life balance

      Cons

      Investment focus shift to process-heavy businesses

      Navigant2019-01-21
    • Helpful (8)

      "Lay offs are coming, I was laid off on vacation"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Navigant full-time

      Pros

      Because of a good history, well known among clients, that's in the past however

      Cons

      Company run into the ground, and on the block for sale, trying to up the value for any sucker of an investor. My group has tons of layoffs going on due to a lack of decent management. The turnover on the exec ranks is crazy. I hear it's that way across the firm. Margins down, utilization down, client demand down. Look for a sale in 2019.

      Advice to Management

      Just sell it already, stop the charade.

      Navigant2019-02-14

      Navigant Response

      February 26, 2019External Communications Manager

      We appreciate and respect the right of our current and former employees to comment on Navigant. However, it is also important those comments accurately reflect the current business performance of the company. While we actively manage our workforce to ensure we retain the strongest ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (7)

      "Don’t be an individual"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Managing Consultant in Miami, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Navigant full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Perks that come with travel are great, which is a huge Pro when you’re gone every week.

      Cons

      Senior Leadership is closed minded; nepotism and favoritism are rampant and spread like the flu. Heaven forbid you have a different idea because you actually KNOW how to help a client, if you voice it you’re blackballed and you will be “laid off”

      Advice to Management

      Embrace different ideas and backgrounds, actually help your clients instead of using them as a cash cow and creating more problems for the pm to deal with after they germ your contract. It’s giving Navigant a very negative reputation in the healthcare community.

      Navigant2018-02-25

      Navigant Response

      March 6, 2018External Communications Manager

      Thank you for feedback about your experience at Navigant. We take feedback seriously and have policies that specifically prohibit issues such as nepotism from impacting the workplace and our employees. We encourage all employees to engage in open dialogue with supervisors or Human ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (2)

      "Need to"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Managing Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Navigant full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Leaders focused on growth and mentoring but people in the middle aren’t following the same lead.

      Cons

      Too many toxic MDs and Ds in healthcare management who have picked their people and they only promote them and give them chances only . Management doesn’t address negative behavior of those individuals. - too many green people being promoted too fast and lack skills to do their work

      Advice to Management

      Continue to loose good talent due to people getting tired of being looked over . Take care of the high performers and they will take care of your business.

      Navigant2018-02-12

      Navigant Response

      April 3, 2018External Communications Manager

      Thank you for the sincere feedback. We encourage colleagues to contact their Human Capital Business Partner, Manager, or Practice Area Business Manager to address some of the challenges that we might be able to change.

    • Helpful (1)

      "Managing Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Managing Director in Dallas, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Navigant full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great People and a solid Business Plan

      Cons

      Consulting Focused perhaps missing the point on operations.

      Advice to Management

      A balanced portfolio always grows no matter what the climate.

      Navigant2018-01-15
    • Helpful (4)

      "Not good for rank and file employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Managing Consultant in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Navigant full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Some of the people you work are good people.

      Cons

      Demanding hours including weekends with no potential for a good bonus at the end of the year. Consultants are not appreciated by the directors. Many rules, regulations, and policies that are reflective of a large bloated company.

      Advice to Management

      People don't stick around because it's a burn out model, but management does not seem to care as long as they get paid handsomely.

      Navigant2018-02-17

      Navigant Response

      February 20, 2018External Communications Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Navigant. We support alternative work arrangements and strongly encourage our practice leaders to support their teams in managing work/life mix. We also aspire to maintain a pay for performance culture at all levels and recognize ...

      Show More
    • "Great experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Managing Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Navigant full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great experience with large payers doing a variety of different tasks. Strong opportunity for title advancement. Decent bonus payout if billable hours are strong

      Cons

      Frequent requests for unplanned travel Moderate pay compared to others in the industry Times of plenty and times of drought with interesting jobs to be staffed on

      Navigant2017-12-27
    Found 68 reviews