Nest Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Feb 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 219 reviews

4.0
70%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Nest CEO Marwan Fawaz (no image)
Marwan Fawaz
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Autonomous work environment: You're given the freedom to get your work done without micromanagement(in 13 reviews)

  • "Working with smart people, nice environment, free food, pet friendly , great boss(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and there are times when you feel not so appreciated(in 8 reviews)

  • "Complete lack of work life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech India

    Join the conversation on

    Tech India

    6.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/tech-india/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.in&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Nest~670862
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Intern

      intern

      Aug 2, 2018 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good and supportive working environment

      Cons

      none of my knowledge .

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      intern

      Jul 25, 2016 - Internship in New Delhi
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great working environment ..will consider for full time employment

      Cons

      none as such..ya none

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      goof

      Feb 17, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      its a good work environment

      Cons

      the work load is hwavy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Contractor

      Component Engineer

      Aug 30, 2017 - Component Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company working environment and supportive collegues

      Cons

      improve sharing of new products information between all internal groups

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing Place to work for people who are passionate about smart home technology

      May 11, 2017 - Marketing in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart, talented and dedicated people Amazing products Autonomous work environment: You're given the freedom to get your work done without micromanagement Real enthusiasm for making a difference in the world by providing energy efficiency and safety and security to our customers.

      Cons

      The hours are long and the work is intense.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Tier 1 Tech

      Sep 20, 2016 - Tech Support Representative Austin in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good work environment love working with the tech company

      Cons

      open 24/7 not sure how I feel about working over night

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Office Coordinator

      Jul 15, 2016 - Office Coordinator in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people, flexible work hours, communication is great!

      Cons

      If you like a fast-paced work environment, this one may not suit you! Laid back.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Supply Chain - Product Operations - 1+ years - Full Time

      Jul 3, 2016 - Program Manager in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers: I am continually impressed with my my coworkers. Almost everyone is accomplished and experienced in their field. People make the time to educate each other, I have never been 'shooed away' if I have a technical question to engineering. People are super friendly as well and genuinely enjoy each others company. Teamwork: I find that if you have a reasonably sounding plan and are able to communicate how that plan will resolve a problem facing the team, folks generally allow for you to try it out. In that way it feels very collaborative and open. There is a lot of emphasis on working together in teams and spending time together with your product and functional group. Senior Management: Senior Executives are very seasoned, sharp, and inspiring. I personally look up to my chief executive, as well as some of her peers. I love the direction and shape the company is headed in. Benefits & Pay: We receive all benefits of being part of Alphabet (Google) without the big company feel. It's pretty great. Flexible Work Schedules: There are periods of time where work peaks, however as a whole our schedules are very flexible. There isn't any emphasis on being 'butts in seats' from 9-5 or associated guilt from leaving early, working from home, going on vacation, etc. My work life balance is better then it has been here then in some past companies. Roughly work 45-55 hours a week. Career Development: There is a lot of emphasis in my department in providing people with great career development opportunities. I feel like my development is definitely at the forefront of my manager's mind. A lot of people are being promoted from within to more senior roles, which is great to see as an employee. Creates a positive work environment.

      Cons

      Perfectionists: Everyone here is an A+ player, A- work is considered a bit of a faliure. We are trying to optimize in every direction. This can lead to some functional conflict around how to prioritize points that cannot be optimized at the same time. Also, the drive to perfection can sometimes seemingly slow down development, but personally I'd rather ship excellent product a little later than a mediocre product today. From past experience, this is pretty typical in high performing teams... First Line Management: Some percentage of the first line managers is less seasoned then the senior executives, but is being continuously trained and improving. They occasionally make some 'new manager' type judgement errors. Nothing really terrible, but this can sometimes rub people the wrong way in the lower ranks.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Worst experience of my -career- life

      Jul 16, 2016 - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Google benefits, Google-affiliation - The experience you have here will tear you apart so much, it pretty much prepares for all other adversity/meanness you can imagine. Three cheers to being ripped apart and having paid for God-knows-what-sins. - Having your eyes opened to just about how clique-y, malicious a culture can get. Just look at all the obviously fake reviews pushed out here by their recruiting team. Cookie-cutter, "all is great and I am in heaven" posts here that hide the emotional and psychological trauma that top-performing employees went through before jumping ship to google, after being berated and abused like never before.

      Cons

      - Oh well, an experience that prepares you for the worst in life. Abusive environment that gets you psychologically strong. What's not to like? All the better if you've been a star performer all your life academically/professionally - this place will tear you down in as little as six months. Be prepared for semi-deserving "tech leads" and "managers" to show you are a not-so-valuable employee who churns out dirt. After all, that's what Steve Jobs did to the folks he worked with too, no? So isn't it great that you are getting a taste of that? Watching semi-competent fully-arrogant pre-acquisition insiders get promoted while you slog away and build products for them and still get slammed for not being good enough. And then you go to Google and recalibrate yourself, going through PTSD for a year or two before you realize you were really fine, and get a sense of what a "normal" work environment feels like.

      Continue reading
      33 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      An absolute pleasure: I would pay them to work here (and I work really hard)

      Mar 30, 2016 - Operations in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Nest almost 6 months ago, and my life changed immeasurably for the better. I am working at a company that makes work entirely inspiring, enjoyable, and satisfying. I have a 25-year work history that includes many years in management consulting, so I have literally worked inside 35 or more top Fortune 500 or 1000 companies. I can honestly and confidently say that, from that breadth of experience, that Nest represents the very pinnacle of work environments, and might be a once-in-a-lifetime chance. I count myself incredibly lucky for the pleasure of working here, and it is something I reflect on daily, and never take for granted. The grass simply does not get any greener. As an employee, Nest represents the perfect of all imaginable company scenarios. It is an unprecedented mixture of cultural and capability elements that would be normally considered absolute trade-offs, and the possibility of them all coming together at one time would seemingly be an impossibility: 1. Nest maintains the exhilarating aspects of a start up -- with lots of decisions to be made, markets to be pursued, and operations to be built; leaving plenty of room to make your mark or put your fingerprint on things. 2. Nest has the DNA of Apple and a total commitment to integrated design and holistic customer experience; which brings a level of quality and conscientiousness that most companies have lost control over or interest in. 3. Nest has the full arsenal of a large company like Google, where expertise, support, and resources abound. 4. Nest benefits from Google’s modern and sophisticated working practices and tools, like Google for Work, that makes collaboration, administration, and productivity tasks feel contemporary and efficient. 5. Nest is in the super fast-moving and growing space of IoT (Internet of Things) that inherently makes work exciting and rewarding -- the natural pressures of which force both progressive thinking and progress to be made; there is no status quo and no tolerance for sitting still or going backwards. 6. Nest has built a level of brand equity and awareness that are astounding for a company of its size. These factors create an incredible work environment and culture -- and hopeful future. And on top of that, the people are uniformly wonderful, talented, cooperative, and motivated. One of my greatest observations upon working at Google and Nest versus other companies: Interaction posture. In my past experiences, most companies have cultures that negatively influence the posture of employees at most levels, and it results in every meeting or interaction starting from a place of skepticism. First out of people’s minds or mouths: Why is that new idea flawed and will never work? What is their motive for wanting to hire or promote that person? Why we cannot and should not change that process? Is that person or function encroaching on what I am supposed to be doing? While at Google and Nest, every meeting or interaction begins from a place of trust. This is incredibly powerful. Instead of forcing people to go on the defensive, it starts with questions or statements of support: What a neat idea! What information do you need? How could my department help you? Are we giving them the right recognition when we promote them? Who else have we overlooked and should be promoted? You get the idea. The cultural impact of displaying trust to and among every employee at Google -- emanating from little things like from providing free food or office supplies that should be consumed in an honor system, or openly inviting constructive feedback from all ranks at company meetings -- pays huge dividends: There is no lost energy fighting through endless hurdles and obstacles, but rather, all the spirit and power is applied directly to progressive action and change. Lastly, it is lost on me how others could complain about the leadership, culture, and working conditions here. Nest is a miracle company started by brilliant people (Tony, Matt, Shige, etc.) that is on a mission to make beautiful things that solve real and hard problems. And our products must be designed to be enduring and reliable, capable of performing critical duties for the homeowner (i..e, safety, security, comfort, privacy) for long periods of time. This is not something to take lightly. There is no room for mediocrity. Things should and must be perfect. Having leaders like Tony Fadell is a blessing and privilege. A blessing in that he (and just about everyone at Nest today) cares incredibly about details and quality -- why should we expect any less? Why would we not re-do something that was wrong, or work overtime to make something better? There should be no surprise to work at a company like Nest and be held to high standards and expectations. And it is a privilege to work for someone like Tony who has instincts, drive, and smarts that, quite frankly, come along a few times in a generation. It is an honor to work on behalf of Tony and to learn and grow professionally in a company that came to be because of his entrepreneurship. If you don’t want to work extra hours, don’t work in the Silicon Valley. If you don’t want to be exposed to changing schedules and plans, don’t work in hardware and software. If you don’t like this company, go take on the personal risk and start your own.

      Cons

      The company still needs to work out exactly how it integrates with and leverages Google, which brings tremendous assets to the equation.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Nest Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Nest? Share Your Experiences

    or