Nest Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 219 reviews

4.0
70%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Nest CEO Marwan Fawaz (no image)
Marwan Fawaz
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Autonomous work environment: You're given the freedom to get your work done without micromanagement(in 13 reviews)

  • "Working with smart people, nice environment, free food, pet friendly , great boss(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and there are times when you feel not so appreciated(in 8 reviews)

  • "Complete lack of work life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech India

    Join the conversation on

    Tech India

    6.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/tech-india/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.in&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Nest~670862
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      good

      Jul 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good opportunity for growth,good salary

      Cons

      hectic no work life balance too much work load

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work

      Dec 21, 2019 - Information Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance Great offices Flexible working

      Cons

      Slow delivery of projects Wrong people in key jobs Poor remuneration

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Embedded Platform Team Member

      May 16, 2018 - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Solid compensation, excellent benefits and great work/life balance. - Nest's culture is somewhere between neutral to a slightly warm and casual; some people come to work and go home, others engage a bit more - My manager is technically excellent and easy to talk to; in the past I've felt lucky when either or those has been true, so achieving both is somewhat shocking to me. - There's lots of opportunities to play and learn about different technologies in an interesting space. - Pleasantly surprised by my experience relative to many of the reviews here. I haven't seen anything even remotely toxic or aggressive at any level.

      Cons

      - Coming from a startup the company feels pretty large and like it's more difficult to find 'that person' you need to answer a question. - Lots of technical debt from a long lived and disparate set of products. This is known and has, or is, being addressed in part or in whole. Unfortunately, there's still quite a bit of effort being put into 'older' platforms.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      High impact per engineer

      Jan 7, 2018 - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nest is the keystone of Alphabet's strategy of enabling a smart, connected and comfortable home. This has manifested in Nest going beyond its iconic thermostats, launching similarly iconic products in more categories, such as home security and safety, with many more on the way. The team is still relatively small for the scope. As a result, an individual can make a much higher impact compared to similarly sized peers with several challenging opportunities to work on . Yet, the work-life balance is great! The quality of engineers is great, on par with Google, evident in a constant bidirectional flow of people between Nest and Google. There are frequent team outings and fun events. There was a period of upper management turmoil in 2016. That is far in the rear view mirror now and the current leadership has streamlined the organization. Each team has a clear charter, most have experienced leaders, and work well together.

      Cons

      The original Nest software infrastructure platform was complicated and had a lot of technical debt. This is rapidly changing with the investing in a state of the art platform showing great results.

      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Heaven for coasters, hell for aspiring engineers

      Nov 10, 2017 - Software Engineering Manager in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Google perks. Good work life balance for those who want to coast. And you can transfer to Google!

      Cons

      Nest has passed the phase with great ideas and great execution. One can simply check out the Amazon reviews of their recent camera product. And why? Most of the senior and above engineers just want to coast and do as little as possible, since the upward channel depends immensely on your report chain. This is particularly true since Nest uses Google promo committee system, which works well for big companies like Google but not Nest. Those key decision makers either know( and like) your work very well or not at all because Nest is small. For a junior engineer, your fate is written when you join a certain team. I am seeing many talented and driven engineers deliver great work but end up leaving. And the people Nest hire to fill those roles are of lower and lower calibre. Nest keeps losing people to Google despite all "retention efforts". Aren't you surprised when the people who champion these retention efforts end up going to Google in a month? Nest used to do company wide survey, now they are scared to do and see the results.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay away if you value your mental health

      Mar 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      401k on par with Google standards Shuttles to Palo Alto Free food Medical benefits

      Cons

      Rewarding of bullying behavior Lack of support Complete lack of work life balance

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Contractor

      Product Marketing Manager

      Feb 6, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with the best people in the industry, a lot of room for self-development and a flexible work-life balance.

      Cons

      Certain operations within the company could be quite sticky, which can mean some of your projects can get a bit entrenched.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Software Engineer

      Nov 18, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture, management really wants you to succeed and is sincere. great work life balance, very interesting and rewarding work.

      Cons

      I have nothing I can say that is bad about Nest. I had a great experience overall and hope that this review attracts several others to work for the company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Supply Chain - Product Operations - 1+ years - Full Time

      Jul 3, 2016 - Program Manager in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers: I am continually impressed with my my coworkers. Almost everyone is accomplished and experienced in their field. People make the time to educate each other, I have never been 'shooed away' if I have a technical question to engineering. People are super friendly as well and genuinely enjoy each others company. Teamwork: I find that if you have a reasonably sounding plan and are able to communicate how that plan will resolve a problem facing the team, folks generally allow for you to try it out. In that way it feels very collaborative and open. There is a lot of emphasis on working together in teams and spending time together with your product and functional group. Senior Management: Senior Executives are very seasoned, sharp, and inspiring. I personally look up to my chief executive, as well as some of her peers. I love the direction and shape the company is headed in. Benefits & Pay: We receive all benefits of being part of Alphabet (Google) without the big company feel. It's pretty great. Flexible Work Schedules: There are periods of time where work peaks, however as a whole our schedules are very flexible. There isn't any emphasis on being 'butts in seats' from 9-5 or associated guilt from leaving early, working from home, going on vacation, etc. My work life balance is better then it has been here then in some past companies. Roughly work 45-55 hours a week. Career Development: There is a lot of emphasis in my department in providing people with great career development opportunities. I feel like my development is definitely at the forefront of my manager's mind. A lot of people are being promoted from within to more senior roles, which is great to see as an employee. Creates a positive work environment.

      Cons

      Perfectionists: Everyone here is an A+ player, A- work is considered a bit of a faliure. We are trying to optimize in every direction. This can lead to some functional conflict around how to prioritize points that cannot be optimized at the same time. Also, the drive to perfection can sometimes seemingly slow down development, but personally I'd rather ship excellent product a little later than a mediocre product today. From past experience, this is pretty typical in high performing teams... First Line Management: Some percentage of the first line managers is less seasoned then the senior executives, but is being continuously trained and improving. They occasionally make some 'new manager' type judgement errors. Nothing really terrible, but this can sometimes rub people the wrong way in the lower ranks.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A job I'm happy to wake up for in the mornings.

      Apr 6, 2016 - Program Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nest is fast paced, demanding and because of that extremely rewarding. It still has the feeling of a startup bringing new challenges every day but since the acquisition by Google (now Alphabet) we have the opportunity to grow, faster. I have never worked with a more dedicated, hard working and talented group of people. You feel like you're part of something pretty amazing. Nest has a very open culture There is an incredible amount of thought to the design and quality of the products we make. Great comp and benefits Work/life balance

      Cons

      It can be a tough company to work for. Nest requires you to step up daily to help them create some awesome products. If you're looking for a relaxing job where you can become an office wallflower then working at Nest Labs would not be for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Nest Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Nest? Share Your Experiences

    or