Nestlé Purina Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Nestlé Purina Reviews

Updated 17 January 2019
1,146 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Nestlé Purina CEO Joseph R. Sivewright
Joseph R. Sivewright
438 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Company promotes work/life balance" (in 249 reviews)

  • "Bringing well-behaved pets to work is a huge perk" (in 112 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wish flextime/work life balance options didn't vary manager to manager for the same job" (in 84 reviews)

  • "Long hours sometimes they can force you to stay extra hours to cover" (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (8)

    "GREAT Team and Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Purina is a great place to work! Employees are provided with a variety of training and development opportunities and the company really cares about your career aspirations and encourages you to stretch yourself, grow and move into other roles if you desire to do so. Teams are collaborative and fun and while it is amazing to be able to bring pets to work, it is the people who really make this a great place to work. Feedback is provided freely, management listens and encourages involvement by all. We are all being challenged to clearly understand our decision rights and do our part to make a difference. So glad to be a part of this team and company!

    Cons

    Sometimes the Nestle world headquarters can be very slow, process heavy and a bit too focused on standardization through NBE.

    Advice to Management

    Really appreciate the strong focus on "Agility" and the many ways Management communicates with employees to maintain alignment!

    Nestlé Purina Response

    10 May 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We certainly hope that after more than 10 years you’ve been able to take advantage of many developmental and training opportunities. We’re also happy to... More


  2. "Employees working together toward the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    There is growth opportunity if you do your job well and take charge of your development; leaders are ready to face new challenges and are adjusting; coworkers are like family

    Cons

    change is hard in a big company

    Advice to Management

    Be Bold, Be Enthusiastic, Share Stories

  3. "Purina is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Quite independent than Nestle. Same WOW, but colleagues are pretty collaborative. A lot of development opportunities. Work/life balance is great.

    Cons

    As part of the Nestle group, sometimes even a small change takes ages. Management is obsessed with the KPIs

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with the people, numbers are important, but people are doing everything to make them


  4. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Saint Joseph, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Saint Joseph, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great employee engagement. I feel management believes in me and my future. I love the benefits the company provides

    Cons

    Sometimes there is long hours to get work done but its worth it.


  5. "Great safety oriented place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Processing Team Leader
    Current Employee - Processing Team Leader
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There's just something about this place that really sets it apart from the rest. The people and company actually make an effort to make you feel valued

    Cons

    There are no cons at this time.

    Nestlé Purina Response

    14 Jan 2019 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback, we’re pleased to hear your satisfaction in your role! As our greatest asset, the safety of our associates is our first priority. As a Team Lead, we depend on you to... More


  6. "Love the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is amazing. I have loved all bosses I have worked for in the company.

    Cons

    Innovation is hard to get thru the red tape

    Nestlé Purina Response

    14 Jan 2019 – Human Resources

    First, thank you for your 10+ years of service! A great manager can certainly make coming to work day-to-day rewarding. You also mention some obstacles in the way of innovation. As one of our... More


  7. "Fork Lift driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina part-time

    Pros

    Close to where I live.New company would like to join

    Cons

    Do not have any at this time

    Nestlé Purina Response

    28 Dec 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! A short commute is certainly the icing on the cake in a great career.

  8. Helpful (13)

    "People Leave Managers, Not Companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Overall, Purina has been a really great company to me and my family. The salary and benefits feel comparable to any other company in St. Louis. The campus is beautiful, you can bring your pets to work (and sometimes your kids in a pinch), there is a gym on site, and there is some flexibility with schedules and working from home to meet each person’s needs. As with most companies, the heart of it really comes down to the people. Most everyone strongly believes in the products and the company. Over the years all of my direct teammates and support team members have been kind to one another, celebrating the victories and lifting each other up in more challenging times.

    Cons

    Purina is in a state of flux, budgets are continually being cut in an attempt to course correct from not keeping up with industry trends. Lack of direction has become the norm. While new teams have formed to be more agile, the result has been chaos. Purina’s executive and senior management are out of touch with average employee. They tend to manage to their own agenda, often to advance their own career or to push meaningless corporate initiatives, rather than practicing true leadership. Good leaders inspire, are uplifting, support their team’s success and are able to get the most out of their staff without even asking or applying some initiative that should already be regular practice….because they’re that good! Frequently, employees are moved into leadership/management positions they’re not qualified to hold. I’ve been lucky to have some great leadership during my time at Purina, but most recently that was not the case. For context on my specific situation, the managing director on my team is disengaged from the overall team, rather focusing her attention on the part of the team that provides her the greatest exposure with senior leadership. She often inserted herself at the 11th hour of a project, quite frequently resulting in criticism and rework, but not leading the work to a better place. There is zero morale on the team, people are burned out, and there is no respect for the managing director. It has been a struggle to recruit new senior team members, because they don’t want any part of working with her and her track record. In the past four years, three people intentionally transitioned off the team through available internal positions, and nine (of roughly 20) people have left the company. Three of those people left without another job!! The most frustrating part of all of this? HR is aware of the situation. Anyone who is brave enough to bring up their challenges and frustrations are met with “I know, but there is nothing I can do”.

    Most recently, I was assigned to a new middle manager. She came with a reputation for being difficult, aggressive and insecure. She held four positions within Purina in five years, which is not the typical career progression at Purina, but a sign that leadership knows there is an issue and they’re passing it along for someone else to handle. In a matter of months, she turned a successful small team into a toxic wasteland, fostering an environment of distrust and fear of retaliation if speaking out. She systematically pushed out one team member before setting her sites on me. She proceeded to reduce my successful fifteen-year career at Purina into a meaningless pile of rubble. All the while, complaints across the team were piling up with her manager and HR regarding her inability to collaborate, overstepping her position, and lack of flexibility. Nothing was done. This past year, I was blindsided with documentation which included false claims regarding my work ethic and defamation of character. When I provided pages of documentation to counter the accusations, HR’s response was “well that’s what your manager said” or “well this is what they really mean”. I was not supported by HR or the management team, and HR did not remain neutral. The truth, backed by other’s accounts on this manager’s behavior, was unimportant. HR and management were only interested in silencing a person with a point of view, who was not afraid to speak up. I wholeheartedly believed my track record would speak for itself, shame on me for giving Purina that kind of credit.

    Advice to Management

    Leadership at the company seems completely uninterested in why top talent is leaving. In times of change and course correction, it seems imperative to have the best talent on your team. Perhaps a completely confidential, company-wide survey evaluating people leaders with associate’s input is in order. I think it could be very eye-opening and may provide an avenue for making management adjustments before more talented individuals jump ship.

    Additionally, the company continues to pile unrealistic expectations on their teams, while resources continue to be cut. While I understand times are tight this has resulted in some embarrassing and potentially reputation ruining situations, one of which involved asking an industry leading nonprofit for a refund due to poor planning. It’s about time executive leadership took responsibility and became accountable for upholding a positive work environment across all departments of the company which would, in turn, result in unified, successful company outcomes. Take a hard look at who you have leading, and weed out those who can’t deliver or who have a negative impact. Believe in your associates, they’re probably still believing in you.

    Nestlé Purina Response

    19 Dec 2018 – Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review; I agree with much of what you share in terms of work-life balance and culture. However, my impression is that your situation is unique and not... More


  9. "Nestle Purina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Operator in Saint Joseph, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Line Operator in Saint Joseph, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Pays the bills very well

    Cons

    You have to live there, no work life balance

    Advice to Management

    None

    Nestlé Purina Response

    9 Jan 2019 – Human Resources

    Thank you for providing us with feedback on our St. Joe facility. We’re pleased to hear you feel compensated well, however, not at the cost of a good work-life balance. Work-life balance is a top... More


  10. "One of the best places to work in St. Louis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Continuous improvement mindset, always trying to be more agile
    - Culture with employee perks and conveniences (employee store, bring pets to work, nurse's office, gym, daycare)
    - Being surrounded by pet lovers and experts in pet nutrition

    Cons

    - Like other big companies with conservative cultures, changes can take time
    - Historical tendency not to hire senior leaders from the outside, resulting in more narrow experiences to draw from in different specialties (but I think that's changing with time and retirements)
    - Diversity and female leadership could be increased (which could also be interpreted as an opportunity for diverse talent, so please apply)
    - Job security isn't what it once was with a tough business environment, changes at Purina and the always looming possibility of changes driven by Nestle

    Advice to Management

    Keep fighting the good fight to focus on priorities and be more agile. Stop what's not helping, improve what is and help the teams reach for new heights.

    Nestlé Purina Response

    14 Dec 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! You mention a lot of the efforts we believe will help us be successful in the future, like continuous improvement and agility, in addition to a passionate culture and... More