Nestlé Purina U.S. Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Nestlé Purina U.S. Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Nestlé Purina U.S. CEO Joseph R. Sivewright
Joseph R. Sivewright
457 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Could have a better Work - Life balance(in 88 reviews)

  • "Long hours sometimes they can force you to stay extra hours to cover(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good to work in North Region of India"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time

    Pros

    All the systems are followed as same as Nestle. Easy access to top management.

    Cons

    Managers are not supportive for field force

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-05-27
  2. "Loved it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, great people, great compensation

    Cons

    Top leadership still seems to be a "big ol boys' & girls' club" not willing to change with the times, which I think is a big factor holding Purina back

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be more flexibility and more hire of younger professionals to keep up with the times

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-11-13
  3. "General laborer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse/Production in Addison, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great group of people to work with. Learn alot if different areas.

    Cons

    Everyone is expendable. Not much room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the workers when asked for feed back.

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-11-11
  4. "No Place I'd Rather Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Communications Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company is taking major steps forward not only in winning more business, but also addressing any potential culture problems. Our leadership is heading us in a direction that will continue to solidify our position as the leader in the category and I'm excited what the future will hold. I've been here about 10 years and look forward to retiring with the company in another ~30 years.

    Cons

    Still a very meeting heavy schedule. Sometimes contradictory messaging between Nestle leadership and Purina leadership - they all mean well, but can be confusing at times when it comes to priorities

    Advice to Management

    Continue transparency with associates about what the business is doing and what we can continue to do to keep winning

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-11-05
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time

    Pros

    Great People, Culture, Benefits, and opportunities

    Cons

    It is a large company that is ran by bigger Nestle.

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-11-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - ORM Business Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Opportunities for growth and advancement Pets at work

    Cons

    Fair amount of nepotism, resulting in some less than qualified colleagues Large company standardization leading to some headaches (required to have too many pointless meetings, for example)

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-10-17
  7. "the best place to start but not to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time

    Pros

    the best gym for marketing

    Cons

    at the end you are just a number

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-11-05
  8. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Allentown, PA

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the money is not to bad

    Cons

    hours can be tough not alot of personal time

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-10-30
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Best of both worlds. Family culture with all the benefits & support of a large organization!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People & pets come first, always. Without question, Purina will do the right thing. Time and time again Purina steps up. This has proven true in multiple areas of my career including; benefits, compensation and career development. It also presents itself in the culture. Overall, Purina has managed to create an atmosphere that embraces changes, pushes creativity and seeks forward thinking ideas while still... holding onto its longstanding heritage, values and reputation. All in all, Purina goes out of their way to invest in the most important asset, the people.

    Show More

    Cons

    Growing pains typical with a business that is accelerating. Mostly good problems to have.

    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-09-24
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Used to be a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Nestlé Purina U.S. full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice campus in downtown STL, good location

    Cons

    Declining Nestle culture, turnover, pay

    Advice to Management

    I worked at Purina for nearly 10 years, and can say that the company used to be a good place to work. With each year the Nestle culture continues to infest the Purina culture, and turnover is now becoming the norm rather than the exception. Over the past 2 years or so the company "bought out" all employees over 55 years old, resulting in the promotion of a number of inexperienced/unqualified people into VP and... Director level roles. This has created a meeting based culture, with a lot of talk but not much actual action or meaningful communication. If you read through these reviews, you will see that most of the 5 star reviews come from people in HR, and any negative review is met with retaliation (I'm sure this one will as well). This behavior perfectly reflects reality at Checkerboard Square. Pump up the company, and maintain the perception that this is a great place to work. However if you actually research St Louis based companies, Purina no longer makes the best places to work lists. Just 5 or so years ago, the company was always near the top. I am thankful for my time at Purina, however I recently left to pursue new opportunities and have no regrets. If you choose to work here, good luck, just temper your expectations upon arrival.

    Show More
    Nestlé Purina U.S.2019-10-08
Found 1175 reviews