Network Rail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Network Rail Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Network Rail CEO Andrew Haines
Andrew Haines
47 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some poor management plus a lot of weekends & nights working(in 14 reviews)

  • "There was nothing negative about working at NR(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Ticket collectet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airline Ticketing in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am very happy to do job rail network

    Cons

    It is better then other jobs

    Advice to Management

    Working with team and with all operational department

    Network Rail2019-09-22
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Burdened by red tape and morale sapping performance reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in North West
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Network Rail full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cannot say much about pros of working at NR other than training and annual leave allowance. Training was the best and engineers could easily book themselves on courses.

    Cons

    Working hours far above contracted hours for no extra. Poor performance review process limiting pay progression. No autonomy to take decisions due to excessive bottom covering.

    Advice to Management

    Provide engineers with thanks for jobs done well.

    Network Rail2017-07-15
  3. "Insightful experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in York, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Had great opportunities to push myself outside my comfort zone as well as networking with a range of stakeholders and employees of the company.

    Cons

    At times there were significant lulls in workload but there are opportunities when you ask for them!

    Network Rail2019-10-21
  4. "Challenging but rewarding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Technical Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Under the right manager you can get opportunities to develop and grow throughout your career. Network Rail is keen to deliver the best for its customers and employees. Varied work with a lot of support towards work life balance. Great benefits such as Gympass which offers massive discounts on local gyms.

    Cons

    So many departments within the organisation with opposing agendas. Due to the demand of highly skilled frontline staff it becomes difficult to recruit and often vacancies are open for long periods of time.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more resources on preventative measures rather than corrective. Correctly implementing and supporting preventative measures will save the company in the long run.

    Network Rail2019-10-19
  5. "Great opportunities, culture could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager (Change) in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great public sector perks, good opportunities

    Cons

    Lack of gender equality, lack of transparency

    Network Rail2019-10-18
  6. "Good Company for a long term Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scheme Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Clear pathway of career progression. A competitive salary. Flexible working arrangements are great. Annual leave, sick pay, pension are all much better than an average company. You are looked after very well.

    Cons

    Currently in a reorganization which is being dragged out months at a time, bringing uncertainty for employees. HR department is a awful, especially when trying to get new starters in.

    Advice to Management

    Bring HR to local regions as part of the putting passengers first. One central team for the majority of queries does not work well. Look into the way large engineering projects are ran, we should be starting to adopt parts of agile working.

    Network Rail2019-10-11
  7. "Pma"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company great career opportunities

    Cons

    Poor pay clicky restrictive workload

    Network Rail2019-10-04
  8. "Good company, supportive and great progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, salary, balance, culture, and overall great place to work

    Cons

    Not very innovative, stifles creativity

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the guys on the ground, PPF isn’t having the desired effect

    Network Rail2019-10-04
  9. "Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Section Planner/Administrative in Dartford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good for leave, pension, 35 hours a week, good team work

    Cons

    Too top heavy, too many managers

    Advice to Management

    Employ more groundstaff

    Network Rail2019-10-03
  10. "No flex time for working mothers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scheme Interface Manager 

    I have been working at Network Rail full-time

    Pros

    Flexible (for some). Great salaries for new graduates, better than private company. Office located in Central London

    Cons

    No flexible working for mothers who really need it but only flex time is available for men! It is very shameful. My boss refused me working from home while he himself works from home. I had more understanding boss in priviate industry where I was able to negotiate hours and even cut hours as I needed for childcare purposes. I am so disappointed

    Advice to Management

    Please end the misogyny, it’s the 21st century, this is shameful.

    Network Rail2019-10-12
Found 529 reviews