Noon Academy Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 28 reviews

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Noon Academy Co-Founder and CEO Mohammed Aldhalaan (no image)
Mohammed Aldhalaan
11 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Appreciation of efforts

    Oct 3, 2020 - Junior IOS Developer in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Noon never fails to make its employees feel valued and makes its intentions clear by appreciating their efforts from time to time 2. Being Saudi based, I thought communication with the CXOs would be minimal but this perspective changed I met the CEO in person and witnessed the way he encourages participation in discussions, put forward our opinions and takes time to understand and answer everyones' doubts 3. I heard Noon's a family when I first joined here and since that time, I've only seen the company grow and more people starting to believe in the goal we're trying to achieve 4. Seniors would give you performance feedback every now and then which sometimes are brutally honest and I prefer that because reality check is important for being on track and growing professionally 5. Billiards, playstation and occasional fun events are all there to take your stress away and relax your mind

    Cons

    Developer's perspective: 1. Quality of a feature is sometimes compromised because product demands a timely delivery 2. Sometimes you won't get to work for days at a stretch because your feature has to be built on the top of something whose development is in progress (but happens once in a blue moon) 3. It'd be better to plan things beforehand and make requirements clear instead of bringing up new ones during development (cause of 1)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great place to make an impact in the world. it's not a workplace, It's a family full of mad love!

    Jun 3, 2020 - SRE in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - You have a lot of opportunities to learn and experiment. - Well learnt, valued, inspiring and extremely motivating team. - Excellent senior management that is willing to show you how to grow. - I am forever happy to have been a part of Noon Academy!

    Cons

    No cons as of now

    5 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Freedom To Explore And Learn

    May 30, 2020 - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Opportunity to learn and work on challenging problems, which is exciting. But what's even better is freedom to choose a path or method to solve these problems. - Motivated work environment and dev culture where things do get done and get done right, ensuring a job well executed is acknowledged and failure is acceptable. - Openness: You can voice your opinion, have a say in anything at noon academy which is heard and valued. - Great bunch of people to work with who are always willing to help and inspire.

    Cons

    We're always trying to evolve and disrupt ourselves, before our competitors do. This can sometimes maybe lead to confusion or lack of clarity and can affect work life balance.

    6 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Good techs but be careful with management and politics

    May 20, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good product in Edtech domain. - Good tech challenges to solve.

    Cons

    - No focus on quality of work. Just get the work done in any possible way is encouraged by senior management. - Lack of Experience in Senior Tech Management leading to poor technology decisions. - Inexperienced people promoted to Senior Managers and proper talent are not given right opportunity to grow. - No proper vision on the Product team under utilising few talented folks in the company. - HR policies are lagging behind in protecting the interest & integrity of employees. - Senior management stresses a lot on Core values of the company while none of them are followed properly. - Tech Management is run by members of single family. Any decision to be made are to be approved by family members.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Noon Academy Response

    Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer

    Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. While we appreciate both positive feedback and criticisms, I wanted to address some of the points that you have unfairly highlighted. We believe that the essence of building a world-class platform lies in quality. And, our product stands as proof of that. Our Engineers have helped create Noon Academy as a social learning platform that has already surpassed 8 million student users across 8 countries where active students spend 76 mins per day (on an average), 4 days a week on our platform which demonstrate our tech/product quality. Building a world-class product requires a world-class team. Our top 4 leaders in tech, namely the CTO, the Director of Engineering, the Chief Architect and the Sr. Product Manager come from different regions. Our Chief Architect hails from Silicon Valley, with over 12 years of experience under his belt. Another remarkable talent is our Director of Tech, who is an Android expert, with over 10 years spent in this industry and comes with an enriched experience from Paytm. Our values have not been sedimented by management alone. These were articulated and imbibed based on a survey where 70 different employees participated in what makes Noon Academy different from other organisations. Our values have shaped our behaviour (what we exhibit), and our behaviour has resulted in the rituals (what we do). This has happened because we have led a ground-up consolidation of our ways of work. This reflects in our HR processes as well. For example, all our new joiners are personally assessed on cultural and values fit. We pride ourselves on being a people-first company and are thoroughly meritocratic in our approach. Promotions are entirely based on 360-degree reviews conducted by managers, peers and team members. We promote people based on the holistic review and sometimes have decided against it also. This is a true test of meritocratic companies like ours where one does the right thing always and with stringent audit and review processes driving our decisions. We have full trust on our employees that's why Nooners will highlight the great autonomy that they feel working here. Good luck on your future endeavors

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Have been part of Noon family for the past 18 months.

    Mar 19, 2020 - SDE1 in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Amazing Working culture (Friendly Environment) -Great opportunity to learn and grow (Building features from scratch and be the owner) -Great communication among colleagues (no formal barrier). -Numerous facilities for employees.

    Cons

    No cons as of now

    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    "Company That Believes in its Values"

    Mar 18, 2020 - UI-UX Designer in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing Product Vision with Clear and Honest Communication. Lots of opportunities to learn. Respectful and Enjoyable Working Environment. Amazing Co-workers. Good Collaboration within Teams. Really Care About Company Values, not like Just Values written on paper

    Cons

    Communication from different countries can be better.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Work with the fast growing Edtech startup and a great learning oppotunity

    Feb 24, 2020 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Opportunity to work with an awesome bunch of folks and build scalable products - Failing and learning are appreciated and encouraged. Good work culture- Autonomy and people take ownership of their work - Great opportunity to work on latest technologies and professional growth- Flexible working hours, Competitive pay and perks

    Cons

    sometimes right trade-off between quality vs speed is missing

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Friendly colleagues but worst senior management.

    Jan 8, 2020 - SDE2 in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers are very helpful. Lots of opportunity to explore new things or concepts. Cool office and really great startup idea.

    Cons

    Senior managers only likes people who are good in discussions and not the one who actually implements it. Promotions are based on how good you are in convincing, even if you haven’t worked for the entire year. There are very few peoples who are actually working hard and delivering while others are taking the credits. Senior management don’t listen to the problems of the employees.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Be a part of the social learning initiative

    Nov 13, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Lean teams enabling autonomy and ownership to be part of work design - Being lean also allows flat hierarchy - Opportunity to build from scratch and to scale - The collaborative and uninhibited work environment - Competitive salary considering only series A funded - Already profitable - Focusses on organic growth through building a network of teachers & students, thus very low burn. Geared towards sustainable growth - Leaders lead by example - Attitude to learning & alignment to org mission is valued during the selection process without compromising on technical competence - Flexibility in work, employee-friendly guidelines are again part of work design - Heavy bias towards challenging status quo and being effective & efficient - Great colleagues to work with who to my surprise are not necessarily from the IITs - Acknowledging the need for long term growth of engineers through career ladders & competency frameworks - Pre joining experience is very engaging and is quite a representative of real culture

    Cons

    - Hitting the ground running is a norm - A lot of microservices still run on Java

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Continued Growth and Great Coworkers!

    Mar 1, 2019 - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great peer's to work Time flexibility and top level management

    Cons

    Pay can be a little better

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with Noon Academy Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Noon Academy? Share Your Experiences

Noon Academy logo
or