North American Lighting Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

North American Lighting Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 201 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
North American Lighting CEO Kirk Gadberry
Kirk Gadberry
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, good pay, an a great working environment all add up to a company that cares about its employees(in 22 reviews)

  • "NAL is a growing company in a solid industry(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, very active and intense work environment(in 17 reviews)

  • "If you are unable to work in a fast-paced environment, NAL could be overwhelming for you(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Paris, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North American Lighting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pays much better than other employers for similar work. Easy work. Not political

    Cons

    You never know when you’re getting off

    North American Lighting2019-08-25
  2. "Loved, loved my job there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Muscle Shoals, AL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at North American Lighting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and plenty of opportunities to move forward within the company.

    Cons

    The 7 Point system per year no matter the situation.

    North American Lighting2019-08-01
  3. "Pretty package but empty insde"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at North American Lighting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    best reasons..big break room and noone watches hours

    Cons

    crap management, no training, no structure

    Advice to Management

    fire your management

    North American Lighting2019-09-03

    North American Lighting Response

    September 10, 2019Corporate Human Resources GM

    We are sorry to learn of your experience at NAL. If you would like to discuss this further or provide specific examples or concerns, please contact me at 217-465-6600, Ext 7216 or at chad_thompson@nal.com. Thank you, Chad Thompson Corp GM of Human Resources

  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Operator in Muscle Shoals, AL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at North American Lighting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This place taught me a lot of marketable values that I still use today to get jobs

    Cons

    There was a lot of turn over in management at first in 2011 so the new managers were not aware of certain people's potential. They listened to hear say

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to operators

    North American Lighting2019-08-09
  5. "A growing company, good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Trainer in Flora, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at North American Lighting full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive wages, great 401K, room to develop and grow

    Cons

    Since the company is highly sought after as a place to work, sometimes you have to compete with 10 or more people for higher positions.

    Advice to Management

    When looking at candidates, talk with their pees, some people sound great on paper but their work ethics are different.

    North American Lighting2019-06-27
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Test Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North American Lighting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance

    Cons

    Need improve cooperation between different departments

    North American Lighting2019-06-17
  7. "A good career to retire to!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Control Specialist in Salem, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North American Lighting full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My co-workers are the best! The best benefit package anywhere in this area. The pay is above average. Greatest chance for advancement.

    Cons

    The overtime can be a little much in most departments.

    Advice to Management

    Need to take more time training the new people and help them understand their jobs.

    North American Lighting2019-05-23
  8. "Refreshing Career Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Paris, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North American Lighting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am a lifelong learner and there are always opportunities to grow and learn through different aspects of the company. I appreciate being able to challenge myself by helping in many areas across operations.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say.

    North American Lighting2019-05-22
  9. "Awesome Benefits, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Paris, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North American Lighting full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Promotions Internally, and the Training Department is AWESOME

    Cons

    Not a set schedule, depending on customer demand depends on hours

    North American Lighting2019-05-22

    North American Lighting Response

    July 30, 2019Human Resources

    We think highly of our Training Department too! Keep up the great work!

  10. "NAL is a good company to work for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Flora, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North American Lighting full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive wages, reasonable insurance plan, temperature controlled work environment,

    Cons

    Company does not offer part-time positions, mandatory over-time occasionally, the organizational chart is stacked with lots of manager levels

    North American Lighting2019-05-22
Found 201 reviews