North Highland Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

North Highland Reviews

Updated 29 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
North Highland CEO Dan Reardon
Dan Reardon
351 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Their business model is broken as their client's (Fortune 500) dropped pricing on staff augmentation roles causing North Highland financial discomfort(in 27 reviews)

  • "All the power is held in Atlanta(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at North Highland full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culture, clients, growth potential

    Cons

    They let a caste system take hold. A damn shame what happened. My CEO lost his way, plain and simple.

    Continue reading
    North Highland2019-10-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic People and Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Highland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy for those that want it, but support when you need it The firm is listening to employees and working to improve and adapt Everyone has been amazing to work with Fun clients and cool projects that we get to work on Lots of flexibility and good work-life balance

    Cons

    The only thing I would list as a con would be the amount of change the firm went through over an 18 month period which ended about a year ago. Leadership listened to employees and has adapted its approach to change and is very interested in making people happy.

    Continue reading
    North Highland2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Not what they advertise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at North Highland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are the best part of working here. We really have become like family.

    Cons

    Everything else. The leaders that everyone could trust have been let go now we are left with a bunch of liars. They change the business model every few months.

    Continue reading
    North Highland2019-10-07
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Welcome to Mediocrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at North Highland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many consultants get staffed locally.

    Cons

    The firm is quite small there are only 400 consultants, and many of the best people seem to be leaving. Most of the work is not true consulting, its staff augmentation. Topline revenue has been declining year over year for quite a long time.

    Continue reading
    North Highland2019-10-29
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great people, declining culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at North Highland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great energy from coworkers - Some great senior leadership to learn from - Nice office - Little travel for consulting - Trust and autonomy

    Cons

    - High attrition and US takeover is eroding what made the company great - Unhealthy obsession with promotion and development for juniors, feels like people are doing things just to be promoted rather than because it's good for the client or firm - Projects starting to become less interesting, more consultants being sent out to fill roles rather than work on projects

    North Highland2019-10-04
  6. Helpful (4)

    "If you're just starting out in your career , this might not be the right fit for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at North Highland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met some really lovely people who were not caught up in the politics of the workplace

    Cons

    Clients are based in far locations, leaving you with very little of choice of where to be placed They up sell you to clients with no real support to help you succeed in the role

    North Highland2019-10-05
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Good people but going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at North Highland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, friendly and smart people

    Cons

    Too much gossip and seems to be a lot of disgruntled employees

    North Highland2019-10-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not for everyone, but some people really love NOrth Highland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at North Highland

    Pros

    Central London location Inspiring people who want to make a difference, although sometimes their enthusiasm can be misplaced

    Cons

    You may have been reading a number of reviews below. Some people have a fantastic experience, others don’t. Most of what is written is true. What you need to take into account is that North Highland works in a very specific way and they are not welcoming to external perspectives or people who are different. They are very proud and enthusiastic about their culture, so I would advice everyone to interview carefully and then test if you are a fit. If you do fit in the organisation (and you don’t end up in a horrible programme), please stay and enjoy. If you don’t, switch on your job search straight away and move on. Also, North Highland being a smaller company, you will be extremely limited selecting your programmes and essentially you will be body shopped. I didn’t have a good experience and left after 7 months and I am someone who have had really strong tenures in my previous employments. I just found the culture very toxic.

    Continue reading
    North Highland2019-10-21
  9. "Solid employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at North Highland full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance, sense of community.

    Cons

    Distance from corporate office, no visibility into our market's real worth.

    North Highland2019-08-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "company in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at North Highland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great relationships with clients; very smart, talented colleagues; little travel

    Cons

    pay; differentiation from other consultancies

    Continue reading
    North Highland2019-08-27
Found 551 reviews