North Yorkshire County Council Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

North Yorkshire County Council Reviews

Updated 13 March 2019
31 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
North Yorkshire County Council Chief Executive Richard Flinton
Richard Flinton
7 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher
    Current Employee - Teacher

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Reliable payment
    Large company
    Excellent HR and support

    Cons

    Government run so not private sector pay!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Northallerton, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Northallerton, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Monday to Friday
    Flex time
    Holiday entitlement
    Bank holidays off
    Great employee benefits

    Cons

    At times restricted due to being public sector

    Advice to Management

    None

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    8 Jan 2019 – Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, it is great to hear that you recommend NYCC as a great place to work.

  3. "Supported & Structured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northallerton, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northallerton, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good structure
    Good support system
    Training provided
    Flexible Working
    Trusted employee

    Cons

    Sometimes too focused on structure and less on the 'here and now' impact

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    8 Jan 2019 – Senior HR Advisor

    Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Fantastic to see that you recommend NYCC as an employer and that you feel you get good support and training in your role.


  4. "RSF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with and for

    Cons

    Lots of travel around the county


  5. "Paralegal Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    You get to do some legal work, staff are very nice. Also flexitime is available which is a plus point. Train station is very near

    Cons

    Although the job is related to legal work, majority of the work is legal administrative. It can get very busy depending on which department you cover.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    17 Dec 2018 – Senior HR Advisor

    Hello, great to hear that you recommend NYCC as an employer and that you had a positive experience working within a nice team . We work hard to try and ensure we have benefits that suit the needs of... More


  6. "Don't believe the flexible working offer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northallerton, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northallerton, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at North Yorkshire County Council full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Salary is good for the area
    Pension is generous
    Some very clever people work here eg lots of expertise to call on
    Facilities are good on campus eg canteen, pleasant surroundings, close to train station

    Cons

    Car parking difficult as too many people are office based and crammed into County Hall

    Home working and flexible working only if you work in certain parts of the organisation. It's a lottery and purely down to the whim of your manager and often nothing to do with the suitability of the role. Most of the organisation is still stuck in 1990 with an 'if I can't see you you mustn't be working' attitude. Some are forward thinking and support the modern council agenda eg T&C. Some just want 'bums on seats' and don't value the benefits it offers. Ridiculous when all staff now have laptops and the tools to work anywhere at any time. Anticipating the stock reply, this role was entirely suitable for flexible working, just like most desk based roles at County Hall, and wasn't customer facing. There was no business need to require it to be desk based. It's well known internally that some managers simply don't like flexible working.

    Often underappreciated. You can go the extra mile and work hard and you don't see thanks or reward for that commitment.

    Advice to Management

    Aside from obvious front facing roles which need to cover offices, perhaps you should instill in your managers the new ethos of the organisation for modern council as there are huge chunks of it missing out on the benefits. It's unfair and breeds resentment and makes people unlikely to go the extra mile. It's really frustrating how much this is pushed internally when you can't take advantage of it. It was the reason I left in the end.

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    18 Oct 2018 – Senior HR Advisor

    We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is such a shame to hear you have not had a positive experience of being able to work flexibly.
    As your have mentioned... More


  7. "Staff not valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northallerton, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northallerton, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at North Yorkshire County Council full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Flexi-time, work life balance, annual leave

    Cons

    Stress, not being valued, and undermined by senior management, bullying, leading to poor health, they reward your loyalty by giving you a pay cut, the last 3 years were awful, which is a shame as it used to be a happy place to work

    Advice to Management

    Value the experience and professional competency of your longer serving employees, or they leave and go to an employer that treats them with empathy and respect

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    13 Sep 2018 – Senior HR Advisor

    Its really disappointing to read your review and the negative experience that you had more recently in your career at NYCC. It sounds as though you started with a happy working experience here at... More

  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Support Administrator in Northallerton, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Business Support Administrator in Northallerton, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible working conditions - home working and working from hubs across the county. Monday to Friday working - I have a great work life balance.
     Holiday entitlement. Bank Holidays in addition to annual holiday leave entitlement. Able to buy additional leave if required. CUP Holidays with week closedown at Christmas.
    good benefits packsge such as the salary sacrifice schemes.
    Pay is job related not age related.
    Great career propects with different methods of career developments.
    Great working atmosphere with the team I work with.

    Cons

    Parking - though plans are in place to extend.
    Benefit package to include more local businesses and extend further as we have a lot of workers from Teeside.

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    6 Aug 2018 – Senior HR Advisor

    Hello,

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your role here at NYCC and feel that our flexible working policy allows for a good work/life balance.

    If you would... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "NYCC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Friendly, Salary, Pension, leave

    Cons

    Progression, Don't like change, systems

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    1 Mar 2018 – Senior HR Advisor

    Hello, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for NYCC. We are pleased to hear that your experience working for us has been overall a positive one.

    We are very lucky to benefit from a... More


  10. "Treated well, happy team but a bit old fashioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    You are treated fairly and professionally
    Good holidays and benefits especially if you are a long time employee
    A culture of integrity and honesty
    Colleagues are genuine and try to help
    Improving use of technology (but could be better)
    Generally a happy place to work
    You feel like you are making a difference, and you are appreciated

    Cons

    Lack of diversity in the workforce especially in senior management
    Old fashioned and sometimes hierarchical (depending on department)
    Many colleagues are stale and need to move on but are stuck in a rut
    Lack of advancement opportunities
    Can be overly bureaucratic which means simple tasks are complicated
    Pay is mediocre but this is a symptom of the public sector

    Advice to Management

    Actively tackle unconscious bias to increase diversity especially in senior positions
    Improve the training opportunities and encourage continuous development
    Tackle poor performance more quickly

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    11 Dec 2017 – Senior HR Advisor

    Hi, thank you for your review. We really appreciate our employees taking the time to share their experience of working for NYCC, together with our employee survey it allows us to reflect on what we... More