North Yorkshire County Council Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

North Yorkshire County Council Reviews

Updated 26 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
North Yorkshire County Council Chief Executive Richard Flinton
Richard Flinton
10 Ratings
  1. "Needs to enter the 21st century"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Assistant in North Yorkshire, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at North Yorkshire County Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job security, local government pension scheme, you are helping the general public in the real world

    Cons

    Outdated attitude to flexible working, lack of trust of employees

    Continue reading
    North Yorkshire County Council2020-01-26

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    January 27, 2020Senior HR Advisor

    We're sorry your time with us was not to your expectation and we appreciate you leaving us your review. If you'd like to contact us at resourcingsolutions@northyorks.gov.uk to discuss your experience we would appreciate it. Thank you for taking the time.

    Continue reading
  2. "Ridiculous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Worker in Selby, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at North Yorkshire County Council full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I lived close by so did not incur any travelling costs to and from work.

    Cons

    Dire company , don’t employ agency staff so when people leave or off work with a long term illness the rest of the team have to do their work. Was there a year and saw many colleagues leave resulting in me being the longest serving member. Poor children have to cope with numerous change of workers when they need stability and familiarity at times of crisis.

    Continue reading
    North Yorkshire County Council2020-01-05

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    January 16, 2020Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry you have had a bad experience working for us and we would like to discuss this further if you could contact us at resourcingsolutions@northyorks.gov.uk so we will look into this further.

    Continue reading
  3. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker in Scarborough, England

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good employee benefits, training, flexi hours, working from home

    Cons

    Problems with management, too big caseload of complex cases, lack of staff, Poor worklife balance and risk of burnout

    Continue reading
    North Yorkshire County Council2019-12-06

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    January 16, 2020Senior HR Advisor

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, if you could email us at resourcingsolutions@northyorks.gov.uk we would like to take the opportunity to discuss this further to try resolve some of the issues you have experienced. Many thanks.

    Continue reading
  4. "Social care/NHS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Worker in North Yorkshire, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at North Yorkshire County Council full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work was Interesting and varied.

    Cons

    Not doing what I was trained for. More emphasis on paperwork than people.

    Continue reading
    North Yorkshire County Council2019-09-26

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    January 16, 2020Senior HR Advisor

    We are sorry you did not have a good experience working for us, if you could email us at resourcingsolutions@northyorks.gov.uk we'd like to discuss your issues further. Many thanks for leaving a review we do appreciate the feedback and the opportunity to resolve any issues.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of benefits and discounts included

    Cons

    Wages not very high and

    North Yorkshire County Council2019-08-30

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    September 3, 2019Senior HR Advisor

    We're pleased to think our benefits and discounts are a plus to working for us at North Yorkshire County Council as we continually look at improving our offer. Sorry to see you are disappointed with the payrate as we pride ourselves on offering above the national minimum wage which is not age related. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great start to life at NYCC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Northallerton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice induction, IT equipment all ready on 1st day and attended informative CEO event early on. Flexibility in role and scope to get involved in value added work.

    Cons

    Get to HQ early for parking

    North Yorkshire County Council2019-07-04

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    July 5, 2019Senior HR Advisor - Resourcing Solutions

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. Glad that you had a nice induction and you are enjoying your new role with us. We look forward to working with you! HQ is a busy place as you can appreciate and you may need to arrive at little earlier in the morning on some days to guarantee a space. Please feel free to reach out to your Line Manager if you are having any difficulties as we do have a number of back-up options available.

    Continue reading
  7. "No Recognition or appreciation of going above and beyond."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in North Yorkshire, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Local Government pension/ Holiday entitlement/ Flexitime

    Cons

    no recognition of doing work especially when going above and beyond and trying to produce a quality result, poor quality, last of trust, continually having to justify work, high levels of micromanagement, not very receptive to new way / ideas of doing things.

    Continue reading
    North Yorkshire County Council2019-04-06

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    April 12, 2019Senior HR Advisor

    We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, we strive to ensure that all employees feel their time at NYCC is enjoyable and any issues that occur are resolved quickly. I’m sorry to hear that you feel your work is not recognised, particularly as we have a range of ways our managers can give recognition to employees for the fantastic work they do. I would welcome the opportunity to talk to you about your experience so I can look into the issues you are experiencing. If you would be happy to do this please contact me via an email to ResourcingSolutions@northyorks.gov.uk so we can contact you to discuss your concerns further. I would also really encourage you to use the ‘Bright Ideas’ tool on the NYCC intranet to suggest the new ideas/ ways of working you have. Many thanks and best wishes

    Continue reading
  8. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Northallerton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance through flexible working. Happy enough in own position. Not unhappy being here...

    Cons

    Feel undervalued at times through lack of communication/interest in current workload. Very top heavy structure with lack of interest in amount of work undertaken by staff. Don't like the hierarchies of command - very structured with little flexibility. The library culture of working in silence can be deafening.. Very little camaraderie. People come in, work in silos and go home.

    Continue reading
    North Yorkshire County Council2019-04-04

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    April 12, 2019Senior HR Advisor

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback, I am glad to hear you are happy in your role but really sorry to hear you feel undervalued and are having a negative experience within your service area. Our employee satisfaction is very important to us, we have an amazing workforce that we are tremendously proud of and we encourage employees to feed back to us if there are areas we can improve on. We would welcome the opportunity to find out more about the issues you are experiencing so we can look to make improvements in your working life. If you are happy to discuss your concerns further it would be greatly appreciated please send us an email to ResourcingSolutions@northyorks.gov.uk. Many thanks and best wishes

    Continue reading
  9. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reliable payment Large company Excellent HR and support

    Cons

    Government run so not private sector pay!

    North Yorkshire County Council2019-03-14

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    July 5, 2019Senior HR Advisor - Resourcing Solutions

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your comments. Always great to hear good things about HR! Sadly, not alot we can do to address your "Cons" at the minute, as much as we would love to :)

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Northallerton, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Yorkshire County Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Monday to Friday Flex time Holiday entitlement Bank holidays off Great employee benefits

    Cons

    At times restricted due to being public sector

    Continue reading
    North Yorkshire County Council2018-12-19

    North Yorkshire County Council Response

    January 8, 2019Senior HR Advisor

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, it is great to hear that you recommend NYCC as a great place to work.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 40 reviews