Northwest Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Northwest Bank Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Northwest Bank CEO Ronald J. Seiffert
Ronald J. Seiffert
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, Not much upward mobility(in 4 reviews)

  • "Personal bankers have to do EVERYTHING leaving it so that the branch managers do not know how to do anything as far as day to day operations(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Reasonable Part Time Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Bank part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits offered for part time employees & career apparel provided

    Cons

    Little guidance or direction when I was working there - we seemed like the forgotten branch

    Northwest Bank2019-07-11
  2. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Northwest Bank part-time

    Pros

    Loved working here, such a great place

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Northwest Bank2019-05-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Retail banking and teller experience, mediocre comp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good work and company culture. only seem to work with friendly people. flexible with requesting days off two weeks in advance.

    Cons

    Pay of $10/hr for 38 hour weeks isn't very lucrative. takes 6 months to get company clothes, so a substantial initial cost. work environment varies branch to branch, some managers are very strict and cold while others are more friendly. branch environment seems to trickle down from the manager.

    Northwest Bank2019-04-05
  4. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller 

    I worked at Northwest Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, commitment to customers, community-focused

    Cons

    Lots of down time, limited growth opportunities

    Northwest Bank2019-04-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None! If I could I would give it a zero star rating.

    Cons

    Everything. This company recently ripped almost $500 off all its hourly employees middle of winter right after the holidays doesn't show you have much appreciation for the people who are the face of your company that make you the money to pay for your JD Power awards to try to attract more clientele. Lack of training is a major drawback, no clear direction on anything at all besides what to wear on what day (which... is also a joke nobody wants to wear a tablecloth!) Personal bankers have to do EVERYTHING leaving it so that the branch managers do not know how to do anything as far as day to day operations. Manager actually pulls you from training class to bring you back to the branch to be vault custodian and balance out the office because they do not know how to, which prevents others from learning how to do their job correctly and efficiently. No reimbursement for driving back and forth to and from training. Absolutely no work life balance at all. I would spend most evenings at the branch till 6,7,8,9,10 all the way till 10:30 at night. We close at 4:30pm Monday-Thursday and 6pm Fridays there is absolutely no reason at all to be at any job from 8:30am-10:30pm unless that is your actuall schedule. I feel there is no reason to be at work an extra 2-6 hours a day everyday. Once reviewing my paystubs I started noticing I was not being paid for all the extra time I was there I brought it up to HR and they could not give me an explanation as to how my extra 10-20 hours every two weeks only reflected 2-3 hours of overtime every 2 weeks on my paystub. This company is "awesome" at ripping off their employees and taking advantage of them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to do the job so you can provide better training and have a better office environment.

    Northwest Bank2019-01-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not what they make it out to be at all!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PTO Days and bank holidays are pretty much the only perk at this bank.

    Cons

    Everything. This bank is stuck in an era that I didn’t exist in. They actually tell you what you can wear on each day sassing it up calling it “career apparel”. If you’ve ever worked for another bank this role as a personal banker here is different. You’re basically a teller supervisor who is in charge of all the tellers. You are to coach them daily and weekly. Personal bankers are in charge of all things operations... and audit. Basically what I am getting at is that a personal banker is a branch manager without the pay. They make you scan and fax everything very outdated and lots of paperwork. Branch managers pretty much do nothing unless they are in a conference call we’ll that was my experience. Pay is also very outdated and the main reason I left because I was basically running a branch for minimum wage. The company is also going to a sales culture like other banks although it is in the infancy stage. There is essentially no career advancement and although I don’t think that I am better than anyone I often met people who were hire ranked than I and I asked myself how did they get this job? My mentality coming in was small bank easy to get promoted but that’s not the case this company doesn’t look to advance personal bankers. I was also told that I was probably the only male personal banker when I started. Also the audit here is a nightmare you have to log and sign everything and if you don’t you lose audit points. They will also tell you in the interview that you will work one Saturday per month when in actuality because of the high turnover within the bank its more like 3-4 Saturday’s per month. If you have the basic work ethics of showing up on time being professional and a hard worker your manager will take advantage of you. They are now also expecting bankers to do outside business development with no reimbursement. Overall this company from top to bottom is a micromanagement machine. What pushed me out was the changing of the pay period from Thursday to Friday which they stated they would be taking 32 hours from us our first check in January and we would get that paid back after we quit or retired and they offered a payday loan for that 32 hours that could be withdrawn from our checks over the next year. At first they said it was Low interest then I’m sure because of backlash they said no interest. With in mind they just won a IG lawsuit against another bank.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more money to keep top talent and monitor your managers better.

    Northwest Bank2019-01-01
  7. "Great coworkers and benefits! Not the best pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Warren, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, amazing company intranet to provide daily resources, no individual sales goals only team goals, hours are very normal

    Cons

    They have a hard time maintaining employees more recently, compensation is lacking, rotating Saturday schedule and Friday’s until 6, uniforms they many people do not like (suits),

    Advice to Management

    With the younger generation coming in, you have to begin increasing pay. Personally, I am young and the benefits didn’t mean much to me (I am very healthy & it’s great that I have a 401K but I will not be able to touch that for another 40 years). You can’t keep stressing the benefits thinking that will keep employees around when we have so many other options. Company loyalty is not like it used to be not just at... Northwest but everywhere. Also, the uniforms feel degrading to many employees and many customers do not care for them either. It would be good for morale to allow the branches to dress like employees in the corporate office.

    Show More
    Northwest Bank2018-10-26
  8. "Summer Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in Erie, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northwest Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked for Northwest as a summer teller before my senior year of college. I can confidently say it highly increased my professional skills and made me a better people person. They care about their employees and are highly committed to bettering their communities.

    Cons

    Working directly with people all day results in dealing with rude customers at times.

    Advice to Management

    Keep things light and fun. Being a bank teller can be a little boring at times so doing fun things in the office could help build morale.

    Northwest Bank2018-09-24
  9. "Summer Associate - Teller Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northwest Bank

    Pros

    The coworkers do their best to achieve maximum customer satisfaction

    Cons

    Didn't get introduced to a lot of the details that go into banking

    Northwest Bank2018-09-16
  10. "Local bank feel , yet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northwest Bank full-time

    Pros

    Benefits Local management Smaller bank feel

    Cons

    Technology is antiquated Senior management are stuck back In time ! Hierarchal feel.

    Advice to Management

    Realize it is 2018 and the culture is 1978. Decision makers don’t get it ! Most banks used technology like NW decades ago

    Northwest Bank2018-09-28
Found 78 reviews