Norwegian Cruise Line Photographer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Norwegian Cruise Line Photographer Reviews

Updated 27 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
29%
Recommend to a Friend
Norwegian Cruise Line President and CEO Harry Sommer
Harry Sommer
0 Rating
  1. "It's generally a good company for photographers the pay is a higher than most companies ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Photographer in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line for more than 5 years

    Pros

    For me it's been awesome working at norwegian I have been on many different ships and have seen many different places in my 5 years, i have been working on aprox. 10 different ships in the early days working for the company was especially great because we had very experienced photographers and supervisors so one could learn a lot from each other and there were many great benefits like flight deviations and general request that made working for norwegian fantastic .

    Cons

    These days we have a lot of in experience photographers some of whom don't even know anything about a camera it's not their fault because company just hire anybody who says they are a photographer but that's ok one could deal with that and teach them and easily get along what them . The main problem is supervises these days are just as incompetent and having to deal with that makes life onboard a lot more challenging. There's lot of changes in the pay structure and that is also one of the main things that effects working for the company these days it would be too complicated to explain everything here but just know it is not the same anymore many of us experienced individuals are now looking for greener pastures

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2019-07-27
  2. "Good and Fair employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Photographer 

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line for less than a year

    Pros

    Free travel, free living, free food, great ports, you will meet friends for life, you will experience different cultures of people, and cheap beer!

    Cons

    Well I haven't have any

    Norwegian Cruise Line2019-01-13
  3. "Staff Photographer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Sales Associate/Photographer in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line for more than a year

    Pros

    Visit new countries and cities every other day and 6 weeks paid vacation after 6 months of work

    Cons

    Missing family at home but lots of vacation time to catch up.

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-12-20
  4. "Photographer - onboard position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Photographer/Sales in Copenhagen
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line for more than a year

    Pros

    Generally is good, but depends on many things how hard is your life on the ship.

    Cons

    Too many people who hardly can speak English. Meanwhile company put me to pass a very serious English test to get the job.

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-05-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "It was the best of times. It was the worst of times."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Photographer in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line for less than a year

    Pros

    The few hours we photographers get to spend in port when not working. Having access to guest areas. Making new friends.

    Cons

    Work every single day for six months. Food in staff and crew mess is subpar. Management are not good leaders.

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2017-12-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Working on a ship is not as great as it seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photographer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Traveling, friends from all over

    Cons

    No days off, very limited time at port if any, crew food was absolutely terrible, living conditions were ok

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2016-11-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "This Job is not for the weak!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Photographer in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line for less than a year

    Pros

    Free travel, free living, free food, great ports, you will meet friends for life, you will experience different cultures of people, and cheap beer!

    Cons

    long-long-long hours, zero days off your entire contract, lots of pointless training classes, small living space, low pay, the managers are crazy!

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2015-08-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Photographer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line

    Pros

    lots of travelling, meeting new people, amazing experience

    Cons

    law salary, micro management, lots of hours to work, no days off, managers treat you poorly, bad managing system,all native English speakers are welcome, better attitude towards them,double standards

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2015-04-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photographer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel to different locations. Work with people from different parts of the world. Special discounts for crew members. Most positions are allowed to use a good number of guest areas.

    Cons

    Really low salary for the hours you work. Overtime not paid. Management (onboard and shoreside) could be a little more helpful and interested in keeping/rewarding good employees.

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2013-03-08
  10. Helpful (4)

    "A 5 month prison sentence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Photographer in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line

    Pros

    If you're a performer(Actors,Musician and Comedian) you will have the time of you're life, work like a twenty hours a week, make almost 3grand a month with plenty of time to see Hawaii and have fun.

    Cons

    If you're a photographer,jewlery sales person or anything that has to with on-board revenue you will suffer, work long hours, up to 80hr. and no less than 75hr. a week with sometimes not making the commission. You may not makes as much money, Heck waiters make more money than most on revenue position.It can get very stressfull and lonely.

    Norwegian Cruise Line2012-04-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews