Norwegian Cruise Line "onboard" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Norwegian Cruise Line Employee Reviews about "onboard"

Updated 11 Jan 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Norwegian Cruise Line President and CEO Harry Sommer
Harry Sommer
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great opportunity to travel the world and save money(in 35 reviews)

  • "Spent 5 months in Hawaii traveling to all the major islands(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "requires you to work Long hours(in 74 reviews)

  • "If you've worked on a ship before, then you understand the "con" of most crew cabins(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "onboard"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I love Norwegian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Bar Server in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line for more than a year

    Pros

    You save money, flights, training, uniforms, cabin, food, health insurance while working onboard is free, opportunity to grow professionally while traveling the world.

    Cons

    No days off, you have to work every day until the end of your contract, work is very hard and intense.

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-01-07
  2. "As a housekeeping you always maintain the cleanliness of your assigned area of responsibility."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Housekeeping Supervisor in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You can explore around the world while working onboard.

    Cons

    Very hectic schedule sometimes,hard especially you are far away with your loved ones.

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-01-11
  3. "Fun Place to be but prepared to work long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Audio Technician in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team family onboard the Getaway, lots of cool friends to make and get to know.

    Cons

    Long working hours, crew food in the mess is always the same everyday.

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2017-03-27
  4. "Cruise Ship Employee -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Recreation 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked for NCL 5 contracts as Recreation Staff. I would say this is not the worst cruise company out there. Some of the goods about my job: * Entertainment Team Could eat at the same restaurants as guests , if not busy and had to follow guests come first rule; * Had access to guests bars and payed restaurants as well , but had to pay same high prices as guests pay; *Open communication to the Crew Scheduler who seemed to be a nice guy; * Up to 2014 company could deviate your end of contract flight to go home so you could have a vacation in a country you sign off the ship. Indeed NCl had nice pros but "OH BOY" job onboard wasn't easy at all but that i will keep to the Cons.

    Cons

    There we go! corporation had not idea of whats going on onboard the ship. It's a big mafia world and if you do not comply with that job its even harder than what it is by nature. * No days off; * crew mess food sucks; *pay suck a big time ( do not get fooled by the fact they are paying you to travel because if you do not work for the entertainment you barely be able to smell any of its destination but the ship galley); *managers most of the time are rude; Sometime if you are married a high position person it may be easier for you to get a promotion; I indeed left my job because i felt promotion was given to a unreliable employee who barely knew his job just because employee was married w a manager who knew Corporation company entertainment manager over in Miami. I felt there were more qualified people who would do a better job at supervising the team/ and making a better guest first and even last impression. Felt company didn't heard the team voices once it was reported and they even sent me to another ship where I felt I was even maltreated by it's cruise director, as I also believed he was advised to do so. It's a hard job... unfair , at least at was... so be prepared.

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2017-03-02
  5. "cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Cebu City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line for less than a year

    Pros

    lots of experience and decipline onboard

    Cons

    low salary of galley asst. cooks but lots of work pressure

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2016-06-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Hotel Manager at Norwegian Cruise Line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief Financial Accountant in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting work environment, international crew, lots of travel, 4 months on / 2 months off, open atmosphere onboard, excellent salary, genuine concern for the crew, crew activities and recreational equipment, direct line to company head office

    Cons

    Internal performance pressure, budget cuts, loss of flexibility, knee-jerk reactions to passenger comments, tendency to micro-managing, less and less willingness to listen to the experienced voices from the ships

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2015-07-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities available."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shore Excursions 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time

    Pros

    Working onboard offers you lots of benefits such as free room and board, travel opportunities, medical, dental, 401K and a substantial amount of vacation time you can use to travel the world or spend with family. You get to meet people from all over the world and have fun doing your job.

    Cons

    Crew are away from home for long periods of time. There is a communication disconnect at times. Pay may not seem substantial if you don't think about the free room and board.

    Continue reading
    Norwegian Cruise Line2012-11-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews