Nuance "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Nuance Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated 10 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
210 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work/life balance can suffer; permeated by corporate politics(in 55 reviews)

  • "I heard later that Nuance fired all its California-based transcriptionists because that state instituted a higher minimum wage ((in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Thinking about working for them gives me chills of disgust"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist/Editor in Gaithersburg, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only pro of working for them was that I learned how to use EditScript, which is a program I use in my current job. I did work with some very fine transcriptionists and some of the team leaders were nice and sympathetic.

    Cons

    I have read through the reviews by other transcriptionist/editors and have been nodding my head for an hour. Yes, I experienced everything they did; their reviews are legit; I experienced this myself. Where do I begin? I was recruited for this job. I’ve been transcribing for over 30 years. This was the worst experience of my professional life. Right from the get-go, the recruiter represented the compensation was at more than $0.08/line, but that was a lie; he had said nothing about the “edited” work was compensated at half that. I worked here for about 15 months. It was awful. I was required to be available to work 40 hours a week; my shift began in the afternoon and I worked until 11 p.m. or something. However, there was never enough work to work more than 30 hours/week. I was scheduled to work, couldn’t work for anyone else, but for at least two hours a day, there was no work and no pay. I was still supposed to check in periodically to see if there was work, but this was uncompensated. I honestly couldn’t afford to live on $12K for a full-time job. At the time I was l living in poverty working for them, Nuance’s CEO Paul Ricci was reported to be the highest paid executive in Massachusetts, earning around $33 MILLION per year. There were frequent problems with the platform I was using. I found the IT folks pleasant, but the hours I waited for a callback for someone to remote access my computer and fix things were uncompensated time. I was repeatedly told “Nobody else has these problems” and it was suggested that I get a new computer. The computer I was working on was less than a year old, but I did go out and get a new computer, and the problems persisted. I supplied the computer, the Word software, the high-speed internet connection, the electricity; Nuance’s contribution to this overhead was ZERO. There were phone meetings and emails from managers where we were continually promised more work which never materialized. I worked on several accounts and each account had different editing/transcription standards. The QA was punitive. I was expected to contend with horrible sound quality (imagine 5 minutes of static) and produce a transcript with zero blanks or else my compensation rate for the entire pay period would be reduced. The entire system was designed so that transcriptionists were paid the lowest rate possible while keeping them constantly hungry for work. I came across an article on sick systems at issendai dot com and it really hit home. This is the Nuance business model. I remember bursting into tears and telling my supervisor of the moment (they changed frequently) that I had to borrow money for groceries. This was met with stony silence. By having us work at home (this was touted as a benefit) Nuance kept its transcriptionist/editors isolated; we couldn’t join forces or discuss working conditions and we couldn’t unionize or collectively bargain. Soon after I started, they announced with great fanfare and patting themselves on the back that everyone with Nuance NTS (the transcription end of Nuance) would be getting 40 WHOLE HOURS OF PTO PER YEAR. Cue the confetti. This was PTO that had to be used for sick leave, holidays, and vacation. The crappy health insurance plan had a $2600 yearly deductible. That’s right; on an annual salary of $12K/year, I was supposed to pay the first $2.6K out of pocket before the insurance would kick in the first dime. I have been on state medical assistance and it had better benefits. I was actually offered a promotion and higher rate to work as a member of some sort of special group of MTs that worked with new accounts, but my start date kept getting pushed back, which was disappointing; I kept hoping for more work and a tiny bit more money, but it was never going to come. (They can’t control you effectively by fulfilling their promises, can they?) I had applied for another job and asked my Nuance manager if I could use her as a work reference. She agreed and stipulated she’d use her personal email address. She mentioned that Nuance never answered any employment history inquiries. Under her breath, she suggested that I not give Nuance any notice of my impending departure. If I gave them a two-week notice, her superiors would have forced her to take me off the schedule. I heard later that Nuance fired all its California-based transcriptionists because that state instituted a higher minimum wage ($10/hour) and well, Nuance’s business model is based on exploiting an underpaid workforce. (I just noticed on Nuance’s website that they no longer hire in my state, either; our state minimum wage was increased to about $10/hour, too. I ESCAPED THIS HELLHOLE JUST IN TIME.) After I resigned (escaped), I was contacted about a class action lawsuit concerning uncompensated time. I didn’t join the lawsuit because I still felt traumatized over the company's abusive, dehumanizing treatment. I was with my current employer about a year when Nuance had that big meltdown/computer virus thing where for days and days the dictation system couldn’t be accessed. Part of me was thrilled that this had happened to them, but I know that this disaster was borne on the backs of the MTs who couldn’t afford to lose even a day’s pay.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2019-08-10
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Don't Work There!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros that I can't think of. Even if you have to work at home, I'm sure you could find a better company.

    Cons

    They are greedy and count off for minor mistakes just to get your pay down to minimum wage. Believe me, if you don't have any mistakes, they will find some supposedly mistakes. They should be ashamed of themselves. Also, if you are a good producer, they will slow the work down and claim that they don't have any work available. Either way, a person can't make more than minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2019-05-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Negative experience. I wish I would have read the real reviews before wasting my time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Scribe 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Remote position. - There are no other pros.

    Cons

    - Extremely low pay. The company does not compensate their scribes fairly for the services they expect. Pay starts at minimum wage and then only after 2 months will it increase to just $10 an hour. There is no room for advancement. - The company advertises itself as flexible, but often times you have less than a full day to complete all of your charts. In addition, some providers work late in the day, so this results in late nights of charting in order to finish by the next morning. -The initial training is extremely tedious and redundant. You don’t get paid hourly for this, so you will most definitely spend much more time working on it than what you’re actually being paid for. - Once you graduate training and are assigned a team lead, you will find that a majority of the concepts learned in training are abandoned, which is frustrating. I found my team lead to be extremely demanding and rude, which was discouraging seeing that I had already spent so much unpaid time to progress through training. I was constantly criticized over the most minute mistakes, such as adding a comma or period- never anything context related. I never received any positive feedback from my team lead, even when I know I provided good quality charts.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2019-04-22
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Disgusting company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Nuance

    Pros

    Work from home, make your own hours.

    Cons

    It’s really gross reading these reviews. Apparently you pay INTERNS really well and give your IT guys lots of vacation time. Why then, do you essentially break the law by classing your transcriptionists as independent contractors and pay them way less than minimum wage?

    Nuance2019-03-13
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Just awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QC Editor in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay was hourly when I joined and that was good.

    Cons

    I took a job here because they paid an hourly wage - unusual in the MT business. The benefits got more and more expensive, and the 401k matching was paltry. Management was ineffective and uncommunicative. At one point I asked for a list of clients I'd be working on, and was told I couldn't have it because NO ONE HAD THE FULL LIST. Just awful. I went through the return to production pay (which was bad), and the transition to fishbowl every-day auditing (which was bad), and the horrible compensation grid where if you made a couple of mistakes you went to minimum wage for two weeks (obviously bad), and the firing people and refusing to tell anyone if they were still or not, and the complete mismanagement of the schedule that left people either with no work and not getting paid or too much work and being penalized for not doing it, and the benefits going up and up and up, and the utter refusal of management to clarify expectations, and on and on and on... and for my trouble I was demoted and then laid off.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2019-03-02
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Do not accept a job at this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Medical Language Specialist in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. Their horrendous and dishonest way of operating and the way employees are treated overbears any good things about this company, the only thing being working offsite.

    Cons

    These people are dishonest, greedy, and despicable! They shut down my department at a hospital just to get their contract, offered to hire all of the hospital employees at their same wages for 3 months, then after that, your pay will be less than minimum wage. Then, 5 months later, you will be laid off immediately, no 2 weeks' notice, only explanation being "not enough work." They care nil about their employees, you are just a number, and they send work overseas (India) to get it done even cheaper! There is a lawsuit against them for not paying employees for breaks and lunch, which is the law.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-11-20
  7. "Only Worth the Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Medical Language Specialist in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience for those in the medical field.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay that doesn't even match minimum wage, horrible management.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-10-24
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Soul Crushing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Language in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work from home, some flexibility in schedule.

    Cons

    They're killing the industry and their employers. I started at a different company that got bought by Nuance. Fine at first. But the business's main concern is the software division developing Dragon voice recognition software. A job that used to be about writing is about editing voice rec. No problem, that's the industry. But editing gets lower financial compensation. Additionally, there's a huge part of the company that's outsourced (I notice that most of the positive reviews of Nuance come from offshore employees), which is used as an excuse to further drive down salaries. The pay is obscenely low. And I see people complaining that they got penalized for errors. I went a little slow and researched things. What I found was that a lot of errors still slipped through, but boy did I get penalized for not meeting line requirements. If I didn't live in a city with a high minimum wage, I couldn't have survived, but I got angry letters frequently because they had to keep giving me make-up pay because my line count didn't match that minimum wage. The benefits were fairly nonexistent. In the end, I got so physically and emotionally sick that I had to quit.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-05-13
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Don't do it...you will be disappointed and it will leave you heart broken"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Transcriptionist/Editor in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nuance part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work from home ... that is it!!!

    Cons

    You are required to work as if you are in a sweatshop in India. Extremely poor pay under minimum wage requirement in US and I work in Canada being paid in Canadian funds, not US . Must meet 6000 VR lines a week and then they convert the lines by half. No communication unless you do something wrong, which is always as they nitpick everything (Everything is your fault even when there are dictators that are intelligible, you are expected to know what they are saying even if you only have them once every 6-8 weeks). Poor direction from management. Worked is always critiqued even if doing well. Pay is 0.003 cents per edited line (not including spaces or extra typed lines in reports) of what has been caught by VR. Contract terminated after 12.5 years who is paid at 98.75% or greater QA with less than 1-2% QC for no other reason than "a physician, who happens to be an extremely poor dictator with reports that get auto-pended to hospital for review, said so due to "one" poor quality report he reviewed prior to hospital staff looking at it.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2018-03-09
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Don't bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Medical Language Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Nuance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work from home. Most managers are very helpful.

    Cons

    Impossible to make money here due to pay grid. In the end, was not even able to use PTO unless they could find someone to cover my shift in advance. When work is not available, forced to use PTO hours or go unpaid. Very difficult to make anything over minimum wage. As much as I loved my work, I was a total ball of stress almost every day struggling to get by. Was let go in mass layoff in September via email/phone call effective immediately after 11 years of employment.

    Continue reading
    Nuance2017-12-03
Found 52 reviews