OVO Energy Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
OVO Energy CEO Stephen Fitzpatrick
Stephen Fitzpatrick
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "free breakfast (toast and cereal)(in 42 reviews)

  • "Ovo Energy cares about their employees(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "A good measure of an employer is how they treat you once they no longer need you, and Ovo was 5/5(in 27 reviews)

  • "Company can be very fast paced which is not for everyone(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fast pace, exciting and full of amazing people!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are fantastic, approachable, fun. friendly and super helpful! Forward-thinking and fast paced Emphasis on well-being. work life balance and mental health support Work can be hard but it's also fun and it's the people around us which make it enjoyable. 4% Flexible benefits fund - can spend it on some great perks like technology or extra holiday! We all have a shared vision and a passion for achieving that.

    Cons

    Fast-pace and ever changing, which isn't for everyone! If you thrive in this environment though, it's a great place to be. Sometimes management can be quite slow on updates, it would be nice if communication could be kept as open as possible at all times.

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-05-29
  2. "A good place to work, on the cusp of something great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    OVO has been through incredible transition over the past year or two; the leadership team are settling in now and are making change - hopefully things that will sustain the business long-term. The past week or so has been really tough with the changes that have been announced - but most people understand we're living through incredibly uncertain times, and the new setup is what's best for everyone longer term. OVO is a business with some fantastic people, some really motivated people - it's a combination of cutting-edge tech, a strong people culture, and a clear plan around de-carbonisation.

    Cons

    There is still a massive amount of work to do. I've given 4 stars, because I really believe OVO is on a journey - we are absolutely not where we want to be yet, but I feel more confident than ever that we are on the right path.

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-05-29
  3. "Working"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smart Meter Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company very good colleagues

    Cons

    No bad experience working for them

    OVO Energy2020-05-17

    OVO Energy Response

    May 29, 2020The People Team

    Hello, Thanks for giving us this feedback - it's awesome to hear you're enjoying your time with us!

  4. "Still to come"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Business 

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time

    Pros

    Forward thinking company with admirable goals

    Cons

    Still waiting for the magic

    OVO Energy2020-05-24

    OVO Energy Response

    May 29, 2020The People Team

    Hi there, Hope you're doing ok It's great to hear you are on board with our mission to zero carbon with Plan Zero (https://www.ovo.com/planzero/) and like that we're trying to make a difference. We'd be keen to hear more about the magic or if you have any suggestions to make this a great place to work. If you'd like to pop in some time with one of us from the People team we'd love to have a chat Thanks :)

  5. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are great, lots of rewards and benefits. Opportunity to progress.

    Cons

    Company can be very fast paced which is not for everyone.

    OVO Energy2020-05-08

    OVO Energy Response

    May 29, 2020The People Team

    Thanks for your feedback :)

  6. "Loved every minute"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Bristol, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues, subsidised friska on site, socials,

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    OVO Energy2020-05-04

    OVO Energy Response

    May 6, 2020The People Team

    Hey, thank you so much for taking the time to review :) It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we agree - the people are what makes OVO a great place to work! We hope you're keeping well in these unprecedented times Good luck with your next adventure!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best start to a takeover"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Perth, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Love my team, great people

    Cons

    Terrible liars who said there wouldn't be any redundancies when the took over SSE now they're getting rid of 2600 people

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-05-27
  8. "False promises"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meter Reader in Poole, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Costa coffee voucher when they took sse over

    Cons

    Complete disregard for people. They closed our whole team down during mental health awareness week, and placed blame on Covud 19. They promised no job losses when they purchased SSE energy services.

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-05-23
  9. "The best."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time

    Pros

    Smooth interview process and people that care.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    OVO Energy2020-03-22

    OVO Energy Response

    March 27, 2020The People Team

    Thanks for the feedback about the interview process! Welcome to OVO :)

  10. "Energy customer advisor"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ovo Energy cares about their employees

    Cons

    Na na na na na

    OVO Energy2020-03-11

    OVO Energy Response

    March 27, 2020The People Team

    Thanks for your review - pleased to hear you're enjoying your time with us :)

Found 202 reviews