OVO Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

OVO Energy Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 153 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
OVO Energy CEO Stephen Fitzpatrick
Stephen Fitzpatrick
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free breakfast every day, free lunches every Friday in the London office(in 34 reviews)

  • "Amazing training opportunities through OVO University(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Ovo is a complex fast paced business which I personally find exciting but isn't for everyone(in 25 reviews)

  • "Fast paced change can be hard for some people and if you don't enjoy working hard and taking ownership of your own performance then you won't do well(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great place to work, with a great engineering culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people and super friendly environment - Excellent work / life balance - Everyone has a can do attitude - Teams are empowered to decide what tech to use and how to work on their backlog - Management teams actively looking at making life of engineers better.

    Cons

    - Sometimes there are too many changes at once

    Advice to Management

    Keep looking after your engineers, and spreading the amazing OVO culture !

    OVO Energy2019-04-25

    OVO Energy Response

    May 9, 2019OVO HR

    Thank you so much for this shining review! The culture is super important to us and something we continually work on to improve for everyone at OVO. There are lots of things in the pipeline for our Tech areas as we certainly recognise all the value they add to OVO; things like ...

    Show More
  2. "Great company to work for with myriad benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time

    Pros

    - Flexibility: plenty of opportunity to work from home when you need to, core hours are 10-4pm and you can do your 8 hours either side of this (so 8-4, 9-5 etc.) whenever fits in best with your lifestyle. - Free breakfast every day, free lunches every Friday in the London office - Amazing training opportunities through OVO University

    Cons

    - As others have said, it's a rapidly changing and fluid working environment so if you're not someone who's adept at adapting to change then this might not be the place for you

    OVO Energy2019-04-25

    OVO Energy Response

    May 9, 2019OVO HR

    Hi there and thanks so much for your positive review! We're really pleased you enjoy working for OVO! You're right, change comes thick and fast at OVO but we pride ourselves on our ability to adapt quickly and efficiently. Thanks!

  3. "Operations Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time

    Pros

    Invigorating and supporting environment, great installations and huge knowledge bank.

    Cons

    Not been in the company long enough to notice any.

    OVO Energy2019-04-15

    OVO Energy Response

    May 9, 2019OVO HR

    Invigorating! Such a great work to describe OVO! Thanks so much for your review - we'll continue to do all we can to support our people. Thanks!

  4. "An exciting roller coaster ride!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of career growth opportunities available - Genuinely flexible working hours - Good Benefits Package - Free Breakfast - Free Lunch on Fridays for the London offices - Regular Socials

    Cons

    If you don't like change, Ovo might not be for you. Ovo is a complex fast paced business which I personally find exciting but isn't for everyone.

    OVO Energy2019-04-13

    OVO Energy Response

    May 9, 2019OVO HR

    Thanks so much for your wonderful review! All of the pros you've listed are the things we offer in recognition and as a big thank you for the hard work everyone puts in every day. You're right, while the pace of change is exciting for some, it's not for everyone but it defnitely ...

    Show More
  5. "21st century company with lots of work perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industry Operations Administrator in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Its a very fun atmosphere with the office feeling like a big playground. -The company feels very transparent and aims to keep you in the loop. -The hierarchical system is there yet due to the office layout, doesn't exist as much as it would in other offices - creates a much more relaxed, friendly environment.

    Cons

    -Whilst there is progression routes, I don't think they're that good.

    OVO Energy2019-03-27

    OVO Energy Response

    March 29, 2019OVO HR

    Thanks so much for your review! We do our best to share as much as we can with our people as soon as we can as we believe transparency is really important. Within Industry Operations we have well established Reward Steps in place to support career growth. I really encourage you ...

    Show More
  6. "It's OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time

    Pros

    - Good benefits - Good offices - Good agile practises - Lots of clever people there

    Cons

    - Stingy with spending money on things - Not letting the clever people change what they need to change and move fast - Divide between their Bristol and London offices

    OVO Energy2019-03-22

    OVO Energy Response

    March 29, 2019OVO HR

    Hi and thank you for your review! We're working to ensure we have the right goals and measures set in place to be operationally efficient in the longer term. Our aim is always to be able to provide the best service and products to our customers while being sustainable and efficient. ...

    Show More
  7. "Best Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cross Trained Customer Service Advisor in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    good pay good bonus good perks free breakfast (toast and cereal) free unlimited fruit free tea and coffee Good to be part of something which is going to make a difference If you work hard you'll be heavily rewarded

    Cons

    Really petty but sometimes the toilets are broken so you need to go to another floor (so petty I know but literally the only bad thing I can think of)

    OVO Energy2019-03-18

    OVO Energy Response

    March 22, 2019OVO HR

    Hi there! Thanks so much for your comments! Really pleased that you enjoy OVO and the benefits on offer. Look out for the decease in speed at which people are running up and down the stairs - then you'll know the toilets have been fixed!

  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great staff Offices are lovely Fantastic benefits Supportive management Free breakfast every day Free fruit, cold & hot drinks, all day Fast paced Decent career development

    Cons

    If you do not like change then you will be probably struggle to work here Fast paced Sometimes decisions are made that are not well thought through

    OVO Energy2019-03-18

    OVO Energy Response

    March 22, 2019OVO HR

    Thanks so much for your review and your kind comments! You're right, OVO and change are synonymous and while that's not for everyone, it's also something some people thrive on as with change, comes opportunity!

  9. "stressful and badly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Operations Assistant in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    nice office but overkill with low salary

    Cons

    management, salary, business plan, people

    OVO Energy2019-03-29

    OVO Energy Response

    March 29, 2019OVO HR

    Hello and thank you for your review. It's certainly been a busy period for OVO as, with the acquisition of Economy Energy customers, we've grown tremendously in a very short space of time and we thank all our people for all their hard work. We'd encourage anyone feeling under ...

    Show More
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Energy Trader in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities to learn new skills and move within the business. Good perks. Good senior management. Atmosphere is generally very positive and people do buy into the company values and ethos

    Cons

    Pay is supposedly reviewed by HR every July but it's not transparent on what this review actually entails. Found it very difficult to get clarity. Managers have to push really hard to get their reports an increase. I think pay level is good when you join but it's very difficult to go up the salary bands once you're in (in my experience).

    Advice to Management

    Sort out support function pay and be transparent on what the supposed pay reviews actually involve, and then it would be a company you wouldn't want to leave for a good long time

    OVO Energy2019-03-07

    OVO Energy Response

    March 22, 2019OVO HR

    Hi and thanks so much for your review! As you say, we run salary reviews for everyone each summer. In fact 70% of people received a pay increase last year (whether a job change, reward steps or through salary review). Each year, our Head of Reward runs a thorough benchmarking process ...

    Show More
Found 153 reviews