Find jobs for Sales

Octopus Sales Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 216 reviews

2.1
25%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Octopus Chief Executive Simon Rogerson (no image)
Simon Rogerson
10 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Ok place to start career.

    Oct 6, 2020 - Sales BDM in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good brand, headline offering is a good product

    Cons

    Poor pay compared to similar businesses.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Octopus Response

    Octopus Team

    Thanks for your review. We do our best to support all our employees to progress in their careers and it’s great to hear you think we’re a good company to start out with. Thanks for your comment about our brand, we’re very proud of the Octopus values and it’s good to know that our products live up to our promise. Regarding our salaries, we know we don’t pay as much as some of our competitors, but believe that our staff benefits and unique culture makes up for any perceived shortfall. Thanks again for your feedback.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Phenomenal company to be part of

    Oct 30, 2019 - Sales in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People Flexible working A place that cares about its employees Will look after people who work hard and care Social element

    Cons

    Fast pace but rather than that than a huge corporate entity

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Octopus Response

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re glad to hear you’re enjoying your time with us and it’s great you feel proud to work here. It’s true that we place our employees at the centre of everything we do and we always reward people who work hard and show they care about our customers. We’re proud of the Octopus culture and although this type of fast-paced and ambitious environment may not be for everyone, it’s clear that it suits you! Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.

  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Too "innovative" for its own good

    Dec 8, 2018 - Sales in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    After many years and despite my disappointment with management and the strategy, I continue to rate my colleagues. They are fun and easy to work with.

    Cons

    Behind a never ending list of projects, the firm is rudderless. I am actually shocked that the CEO won an 'entrepreneur of the year' award, even if a colleague explained that it was mostly because Octopus had sponsored/paid for so many articles in that newspaper that it was standard reward practice. But it shows the contrast between the perception of the CEO internally and what people are prepared to believe outside the firm.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Octopus Response

    Octopus Team

    Thanks so much for your response. It’s clear you’re feeling a bit frustrated with things at the moment and we hope we can get you back on board with us soon. We love that you rate your colleagues, we do too, and agree this is a fun place to work. It’s true we have launched a lot of financial products over the past couple of years but we don’t see this as a negative. We’re really proud of our ambitious growth and embrace our entrepreneurial spirit, even if at times it can make things challenging. We take your point about the need for expertise though and we anticipate that the appointments of a new Chief Technology Officer, Chief Information Officer and a new CEO for Octopus Investments will have a positive impact in this respect. Thanks again for your feedback. We’re certain you’ll soon start to enjoy the benefits of the changes we’ve implemented, but if you’re still feeling frustrated in a couple of months’ time, please do speak to HR.

  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Eve sleep another disastrous deal by octopus

    Jul 22, 2018 - Sales in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    over the many years i have worked at the firm, i have grown concerned by the lack of skills of many of my colleagues, especially those in high places

    Cons

    members of the ventures team strut their stuff around the office, claiming that they have a fantastic track record, but the failure of eve sleep is one of many disasters they have had in recent years. shopa, yplan just to mention a few

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful

    Octopus Response

    Octopus Team

    Thanks for your review. We manage about 65 +/- companies in the portfolio at the moment, investing in 15-20 new companies each year. We tend to invest in very early stage companies and then reinvest further in these companies when the ideas turn into commercial reality and success with customers starts to lead to revenue growth and a sustainable growth trajectory. We do not expect all the companies we invest in to succeed – and a good number will fail – and we do our best to avoid investing further in businesses where the commercial proof points are not starting to shine through and to focus our time, energy and investment on those businesses which are growing successfully. This approach has meant that companies such as Zoopla, Secret Escapes, Swiftkey, Graze, Magic Pony, Rangespan etc have been able to deliver the required return to our investors over the last 11 years, compensating for those businesses that did not work out. Specifically in terms of Eve, yes, the business missed its numbers this last period and the public markets have reacted, causing the share price to drop. We hope and expect that the team will build from here. Hopefully goes without saying, but do drop by my desk if you want to discuss more! (Response provided by Alliott Cole, CEO of Octopus Ventures)

  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Only looking for yes men (and the occasional woman)

    Jul 9, 2017 - Sales Team in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the founders say that they wanted to change the way financial products were perceived but Octopus is just like any other financial firms

    Cons

    We are raising as much money as we can so that we can charge fees. Performance is irrelevant

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Inspiring

    Feb 22, 2017 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Octopus is a wonderful place to work. The culture is all about ambition, achievement and being nice to people. The company has come a long way in my time and I have no doubt Octopus will achieve everything Simon (CEO) wants it to. Octopus hires great people and they make it a great place to work.

    Cons

    The other reviews are right, it goes at 100 miles an hour. It can be manic. It suits people that love achieving things, working hard and having the humility to always want to be better.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good at marketing, bad at investing

    Mar 23, 2016 - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You have to hand it them, Octopus have done a great job at riding on the government's coattails. If it wasn't for the government's policies in favour of tax avoidance, Octopus would not exist. They have done a great job at raising money from individuals who want to avoid paying tax (IHT, VCT, etc).

    Cons

    The problem is that Octopus has done an equally bad job at investing that money. The returns on all their products are dismal.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Control freaks

    Feb 16, 2016 - Sales in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In all my years in employment (over 5 years) I have never come across a firm so obsessed with controlling staff

    Cons

    Too much time is spent on training that is irrelevant to our jobs. It is just another way for HR to check on employees and build files on individuals. HR has set up processes to monitor people (one-to-one reviews, quarterly, half-yearly and annual reviews). Employees are given grades as if they were at school during very political annual performance reviews. It is worse than being a civil servant.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Jan 13, 2016 - Sales in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the best things about Octopus is the people, it is a pleasure to come to work and see people work hard and get stuff done. It is also a really exciting to see how we grow as a business and how we can improve things but also seeing the positive affect our investments have on the economy.

    Cons

    It is exceptionally fast paced and can feel a little manic at times, the technology we use still feels a little behind the times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Not what it used to be

    Aug 29, 2015 - Sales in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working at Octopus for several years and enjoy my job though I must say it is not thanks to the general atmosphere.

    Cons

    There is mistrust between the management committee and the staff. Strategy is poor in my view. As always after bonus time there is a mass exodus. This summer is no different.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with Octopus Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Octopus? Share Your Experiences

Octopus logo
or