Octopus Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 30 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Octopus Chief Executive Simon Rogerson (no image)
Simon Rogerson
136 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working and great company culture(in 13 reviews)

  • "Charity, social events and to have an entrepreneurial spirit in your work(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management skirt around the issue because they don't want to commit to spending more money on staff(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very long hours for the salary paid(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Experience"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Investment Analyst in London, England

    I worked at Octopus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Social life, ambitious group, great technology.

    Cons

    Long hours and confusing structure.

    Octopus Response

    September 24, 2020

    Thanks for taking the time to feed back. It’s great you’re enjoying your time with us and making the most of the opportunities to socialise. It’s true we’re an ambitious and fast-growing company and it’s great to have you on board. We’re sorry to hear you feel your working hours are too long and we do take concerns over workload very seriously. Please speak to your line manager who will support you to achieve a better work/life balance. If you’re finding the business structure is confusing, please speak to HR or your manager who will be happy to explain our structures and processes to you. Thanks again for leaving a review.

  2. Helpful (9)

    "A terrible place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Nice, modern offices I wish there were more....

    Cons

    Firstly it’s the toxic working environment, management and sales are only interested in hitting numbers with absolutely no thought for how this is achieved. This means being constantly harassed to get stuff done as quickly as possible. Antiquated systems and infrastructure with a management team that is reluctant to spend money upgrading these, this poses a significant risk to the business. To get on here you must be willing to work all hours and have a face that fits, this is typically white male under 40 with a public school education. Long hours, people rarely take a lunch break and you’ll be expected to work 8-6. The big push on wellness initiatives isn’t something to be proud of, you shouldn’t need to have these in place just to keep people happy and make them forget they are working all hours. Morale is generally low because of the points above. Vibe office surveys are sent to all staff and although the scores are low nothing ever really changes. Large turnover of staff including people in senior positions, the reasons for their departures are not disclosed which creates a feeling of unease.

    Continue reading

    Octopus Response

    February 11, 2019Octopus Team

    First off, thank you for your review. Feedback is a huge part of the Octopus culture, and we wanted to let you know that your voice has been heard. We introduced the Vibe office survey and the wellness initiative because we want to give people ways to speak up about what’s troubling them, to ask for help when they need it, and achieve a long-term work-life balance that is right for them. We don’t ignore the results and we continue to work at improving the working environment across all parts of Octopus. We’re trying to move people away from the ‘work all hours’ and ‘no lunchbreaks’ culture, but it sounds like we’ve still got some work to do here. There’s no reason why the flexible, smarter working culture we’re trying to promote throughout the whole of Octopus shouldn’t apply to your specific area too. Changing the way we hire people, improving our technology and building a more diverse workplace are some of our biggest priorities for 2019. If you were at January’s monthly All-Company Meeting you will have heard about some significant changes to our senior management structure that deliver on this commitment. Sometimes initiatives like this can take a while to bear fruit, but we are moving in the right direction, we promise you.


  3. Helpful (16)

    "Awful"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ability to work from home, but not encouraged Decent pay

    Cons

    Toxic environment All white middle class management Very long hours and management make it clear the only way to progress is to be at your desk at 9pm, even when they aren't. A worrying bullying culture with a few individuals' attitudes being exceptionally unprofessional but tolerated because they put the hours in. Highly stressful, with no let up. You will be expected to be contactable at all times, log on when sick or on holiday, read emails and action them at home (managers send 7pm Friday emails for things they want Monday morning). One employee was rang whilst at a funeral. No fixed desks, and too many employees, so you can arrive and spend 40mins wandering around with a carrier bag of your stationery searching for a free desk before being expected to set up in the kitchen. Poorly trained management creating a chaotic, demotivated team. Your goal is identified (be it promotion, recognition, payrise) then withheld. 121s are used to beat you emotionally for not doing more, quicker, longer. 12 hour days are encouraged, and then there is immense pressure to put in additional hours volunteering for their charity projects. An entirely numbers driven focus with no care for quality or accuracy A very immature boys playground environment with name calling, inflatable toys being thrown around the office, leering at customer ID, borderline and often unacceptable sexist comments on a daily basis, including from senior management. Managers set people up against each other rather than encourage teamwork so you will work alone, under stress. It's very lonely. Poor systems Perhaps the worst part is, management believe they have a fabulous customer focused flexible company and will not hesitate to tell you that. The reality is just the opposite. They pretend to encourage feedback then label you negative and difficult for giving anything other than glowing reviews. Even the "anonymous" office vibe feedback is used to bully teams with veiled threats when the scores are low for happiness. Difficult people are encouraged to leave, but then they put a non compete clause in your contracts meaning you can't go anywhere else (so will be jobless for 3 months if you do) Seriously if you are not a white, 20 something slightly immature male, living at home with mummy with no partner or family and no life, don't apply.

    Continue reading

    Octopus Response

    April 2, 2019Octopus Team

    Thanks so much for your response. It doesn’t make for happy reading and we accept we have a way to go before we can get you back on board. We appreciate you haven’t had the most positive of experiences and we’re sorry that you are not enjoying working with us at the moment. We understand that a sales-focused environment is not for everyone and if you feel that you would like to move to another area of the business which may suit you better, please speak to your manager who can support you to do this. We don’t accept your comment about the lack of flexible working, as this is a policy which we actively promote and encourage. Please speak to your manager about your work patterns if you do not feel that you have a good work/life balance, because we will always support flexible working arrangements where practicable. You certainly aren’t expected to be contactable when not at work, and if you are receiving emails at inappropriate times, or feeling pressure to respond outside of your usual working hours, please speak to HR. If you feel that your working environment is damaging to your health and wellbeing, we would urge you to take steps to improve it. We offer free-of-charge coaching sessions with Sanctus, and you can also sign up for counselling via our Cognacity programme. We’re really proud that so many of our employees are actively taking ownership of their health and wellbeing and are pleased that the services are proving so popular. As you know, we’ve recently completed a significant restructure of the business, including appointing a new Chief Executive Officer and Chief Investment Officer, as well as a new Chief Technology Officer, and we are expecting to see some really positive outcomes. Teams should work better and collaborate more as a result and we are certain that these changes will improve your experience of working here. We agree wholeheartedly that the future is about working smarter, better and more flexibly and we think that we are moving in the right direction with this. Thanks again for your review. We really hope that the changes that we have made will mean you are happier in your role, but please let us know if this is not the case.

  4. Helpful (10)

    "Ok company to work for"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time

    Pros

    Lots of different clubs and activities for those who want to get involved. Great office and environment. Mostly everyone seems to be friendly. Free fruit and fresh coffee helps. Like being able to openly praise colleagues and other incentives to perform or get involved in sponsored charities.

    Cons

    Very long hours for the salary paid. While flexible working is sold as a job perk, unfortunately not everyone can enjoy this. Their telephone infrastructure is out of date and does not seemlessly allow staff to work from home who have to be telephone based because of their role, e.g. contact centre staff. but there seems to be little emphasis on DSE assessments as part of the new starter process. Doesn't matter if you are 2 ft tall or 10ft tall, the chairs are not adjustable to support lower back. It is important for ensuring staff have the right equipment (chair, mouse, etc). Also I'd much rather have a shorter day (work /life balance?) than have long hours with 'creative' time. Not sure what attrition rate is but there seem to be lots of leavers which is a bit worrying.

    Continue reading

    Octopus Response

    December 31, 2018Octopus Team

    Thanks so much for your response. We really value your feedback and we’ve taken a number of your points on board. We want to create a positive environment to work in and we’re very proud of the Octopus culture. We’re grateful for your support of our charity work and it’s great that you’re taking full advantage of our social activities. We’re sorry to hear you’re not currently enjoying the benefits of flexible working as this is a practice we actively encourage and fully support. It’s true that at the moment our technology does not support home working for telephone-based roles, but it’s something we’re working hard to rectify and we’re investing huge sums into developing our technology in this, and other areas. We do everything we can to support our employees and we’re sure the recent restructure will have a positive impact on employee retention. We’re concerned to hear you’re experiencing problems with the equipment we provide. The health and wellbeing of our employees is something we take very seriously and we ask that you raise this with your manager who will be able to provide whatever you need to make you feel more comfortable. If you need a chair that supports your lower back, this is certainly something we can look into. We really do care about your feedback and your suggestion about asking new starters about their experiences is a good one. We do currently do this, but we will certainly consider ways that we can better support new employees in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to feed back so honestly.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great for the right sort of person (read below)"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Professional in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Fast-paced, really ambitious, young at heart company - Always changing and innovating - Profitable and fast growing - Lots of responsibility if you want it If you want a fast ride, lots of change, want to grow as a person, and can handle that sort of set-up, Octopus is for you. If not, then it's not going to work out for you here.

    Cons

    - Quite a few 'straight talkers' - you need to take things on the chin and grow - Can be manic - Long hours at times

    Continue reading

    Octopus Response

    June 2, 2017Octopus Team

    Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion.

  6. "Good but not for the faint hearted"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Octopus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture open to new ways of working and putting the customer first. Good opportunities for personal development and growth.

    Cons

    Wellbeing scores are low because people's workloads are too high. Senior management skirt around the issue because they don't want to commit to spending more money on staff. Therefore you have to commit to long hours to get the work done including evenings and weekends.

    Continue reading

    Octopus Response

    June 2, 2017Octopus Team

    Thank you very much for your feedback.

  7. Helpful (12)

    "Weak, disorganised, too many egos"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Holborn, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Octopus full-time

    Pros

    Nice office, desks that go up and down, dress down all week, free fruit, coffee, days off, some genuinely nice people about the place.

    Cons

    Bad culture. Ego-driven. Founders are 'nice' but naive, easily distracted and weak with poor hiring habits and lack of judgement. Second tier of management dominated by ego and insecurity. Long hours, expected to be on call day and night, lots of talk about open and honest culture, speak up, flat structure but ultimately failing the test. Just another financial services company doing what financial services companies do.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    MBA Intern in San Jose, CA

    I worked at Octopus for less than a year

    Pros

    amazing company + team. highly recommend for finance professional londoners

    Cons

    very long hours + work on weekends

Viewing 1 - 7 of 8 English Reviews