Octopus Employee Reviews about "social events"

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 206 reviews

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Octopus Chief Executive Simon Rogerson (no image)
Simon Rogerson
144 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working and great company culture(in 13 reviews)

  • "Charity, social events and to have an entrepreneurial spirit in your work(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management skirt around the issue because they don't want to commit to spending more money on staff(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very long hours for the salary paid(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "social events"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Growing business, great ethos.

      Dec 10, 2019 - IT Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture at octopus is strong, effort is clearly made from the top down on this. It's noticeable compared to other companies I've worked in. Charity, social events and to have an entrepreneurial spirit in your work. Everything is based around making it simple for the customer and staff work hard to achieve that. Not everything is perfect, but what is? I only hope as the business grows it doesn't lose the spirit it still has right now. The initiatives to train staff are very much appreciated.

      Cons

      Hours could be a bit shorter. The salaries can be bettered elsewhere, but the culture and benefits can make up for that. If hours were 9-5 or 5:30 (or early finish Friday??) it may make the lower salaries slightly easier to swallow.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Octopus Response

      Octopus Team

      Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We’re proud of our culture and it’s great that you’ve noticed the efforts we go to to make Octopus a great place to work. Our customers are really important to us so it’s good to hear that you think that the work we’re doing to simplify our processes is having a positive effect. Our entrepreneurial spirit is at the heart of Octopus and we promise you that this is not going to change. Thanks for your comments about salaries and working hours. We do offer flexible working to all our employees where practicable so please speak to your line manager if you’d like to discuss changing your work pattern. Regarding our salaries, we know that we don’t pay as much as some of our competitors, but we agree with you that our staff benefits and unique culture makes up for any perceived shortfall. Thanks again for your feedback, we’re looking forward to seeing how your career with us develops.

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      My 'feedback'...

      Nov 4, 2019 - Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rewards employee's efforts Social events are good - we have a great number of clubs at Octopus that bring people together with similar interests eg theatre club, gigs club, garden club, gaming club etc Offices are great Parental leave policy is good

      Cons

      Long working hours (45 working hours week) The need to provide feedback at everything is becoming excessive - people should be giving this when they find it would add value, it shouldn't be a weekly/monthly task otherwise the feedback will either become false or just a tickbox action - surely we want it to be developmental rather than not used in the correct context?! Ask opinions on this, a great number of people think the same! The company is very big and has separate business units - which makes it feel like you only below of a certain business unit rather than the company as a whole Some systems aren't great - accounts system is something from the 1980's and is extremely clunky. Appraisals need a revamp

      2 people found this review helpful

      Octopus Response

      Thanks for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear you’re making the most of the social activities we provide and appreciate our fantastic office space and employee focused policies. If you feel your workload is too much for you, please speak with your manager in the first instance. We provide flexible working opportunities to all employees where practicable and it may be that a different work pattern may suit you better. We think that listening to our people is important and the feedback we receive from our employees helps us to make changes that benefit everyone. We’ve taken your points on board though and will look at the way we gather feedback. We agree with you that Octopus is a big organisation, but we’re proud of our ambitious growth and can’t see things slowing down. We do our best to ensure that all departments are aligned, but appreciate that this isn’t always going to be the case. It’s true that some of our internal systems have not kept pace with our growth, but we’re investing in new technology and things are improving. Regarding the appraisal process, we’d be interested to hear your ideas about this, could you please raise it with HR? Thanks again for taking the time to give such a considered review. We’ll certainly be looking into the points you’ve raised.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Cracks if you look close enough but OK

      Nov 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They seem to hire genuinely nice people who want to help each other and care about their work Staff benefits are ok. Lots of social events, charity work and groups people can get involved in Flexible working is encouraged though the culture doesn't make this easy

      Cons

      Leadership is manipulative and lacks self awareness in some teams, though some of this has been dealt with. They have very few women in positions of power so they have pushed women from within into roles they are not qualified to do. Its unsurprising that the teams these women lead have such a high level of staff turnover & staff unhappiness

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Octopus Response

      Octopus Team

      Thanks so much for your feedback. We’re really pleased you’re taking advantage of the employee benefits we provide and we’re grateful for your support of our charity work. We always encourage and actively promote flexible working so if you feel you don’t have a good work/life balance at the moment, please speak to your manager as we will always support flexible working requests where practicable. As you know, we’ve recently completed a significant restructure of the business and we’re expecting to see some really positive outcomes. Teams should work better and collaborate more as a result and we are sure that these changes will improve your experience of working here. If in a couple of months’ time you still have concerns, please speak to HR. Thanks again for your response, we have taken on board the points you’ve raised.

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Good opportunity...for the right sort of person

      Jan 29, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cool, fun culture Lots of smart people Great social events Opportunity for personal development and career progression Ambitious growth Nice office

      Cons

      Cliquey work environment - lots of gossip Toxic middle-management Ambitious growth into new product lines makes it feel like the company has no clear direction Work/life balance can sometimes suffer

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Octopus Response

      Octopus Team

      Thanks so much for your feedback. We’re pleased you find Octopus a cool place to work and full of smart people and we’re really glad that you are taking full advantage of all the social events we put on. We love the Octopus culture and it’s great that you are finding lots of opportunities for personal development within your role. We appreciate that in a highly driven, ambitiously growing business like ours, work-life balance can take a back seat, but we’re doing what we can to make sure everyone who works here feels empowered to strike the right balance based on their own individual needs. If you feel that you would benefit from a different work pattern, we recommend speaking to your line manager and coming up with a suggestion that works for you. As we’re sure you’re aware, we’ve just undergone a significant restructure and we’ve looked at how our teams are organised and managed and tried to improve things. We really hope that you’ll experience the benefits of this very soon. Thanks again for your review. Please let us know whether the restructure has resolved the issues that you raised.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jul 5, 2017 - Events and Project Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are incredibly friendly and eager to help you settle in. There are loads of social events, charity days and groups you can get involved with. Teams are supportive when you have a deadline or are under pressure to complete a project and will always try to help where they can. You have a lot of freedom to manage your workload and make decisions (very little micro management) which is great- no idea is a bad idea and the company are really open about trying new things.

      Cons

      Sometimes decisions or changes can be made very last minute which does put the pressure on to try and deliver something quickly. However if you enjoy a fast paced environment and have the support in place these things are usually manageable as there is very little hierarchy to get things signed off which is great.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Octopus Response

      Octopus Team

      Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Listen to the CEO!

      Apr 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Really seemed to back the client facing staff. A good place to work if you are Business Development Manager or Sales Support. - Excellent training of their (admittedly niche and complicated) products - Some good social events put on. A 'work hard play hard' attitude for some in the business

      Cons

      - Arrogant middle management who don't listen to the ideas of those around them - Total void of any kind of training for how to manage people well - Support functions just want to squeeze the life out of you - 'work hard play never' attitude where they expect you to be married to your job & work 12+hour days, every day - Don't really know where they are going as an organisation - Blatently obvious that they are making up reviews on Glassdoor

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Business Development Manager

      Apr 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A company who hire bright, intellectual, strong minded people with a culture which resembles that of Google or Apple. They recently moved to a completed refurbished office in Holborn circus which is really quite something and certainly makes it an eye catching place to work. Great benefits package including 27 days holiday, private health care and more social events than you will know what to do with.

      Cons

      - Sales team are spoken to like children. A lot of micro managing and lack of trust towards us to get on and do a successful job. - No clear path for growth inside or outside the sales team. - Lack of communication between middle & senior management. - Overly ambitious - Lack of respect for the Smaller Companies (AIM) team

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      No shackles here. Simply a great place to work.

      Jun 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      First up, much like the reviewer on the 4 June, I too have been trying to leave Octopus ever since I joined. I could be wrong but I reckon I have been here longer, so I trump on that one. The bit I couldn’t work out though with that reviewer (fully entitled to their own opinion of course) is what are the metaphorical shackles that keep them from leaving. I can only conclude that Octopus, with their very fair, all-round top quartile remuneration package, has inadvertently overpaid you and you are now priced out of the market, hence trying to leave but can’t. Either way, if you need the key to unlock the chains just chat it through with HR. Anyhow, I mentioned above I too have been trying to leave Octopus ever since I joined but I haven’t; I’m still here. And the previous reviewer got me thinking why. I shall try to explain and keep it brief but forgive me if I go on a bit. Maybe I’m still here because I thrive on a challenging and progressive work environment. Maybe it’s because, on balance, I get to work with some pretty awesome people every day. Maybe it’s the free fruit, vaguely(!) decent coffee, selection of teas, frequent themed drink-ups, celebrations and social events – no wait, a lot of GOOD companies do that too, but hey, what’s wrong with being like other GOOD companies. Maybe it’s the recently introduced Officevibe system where HR and the management team can gather huge amounts of feedback from people and take steps to MAKE IMPROVEMENTS. Maybe it’s the ambitions of Octopus – the fact it wants to build businesses in broken markets and disrupt them, or simply doing things better. Or the way it should be. Particularly those markets with long-term demographics and needs (financial services, energy, healthcare infrastructure); a pretty smart play for a business I hope outlives the founders and all who have the pleasure of helping to build it. Maybe it’s the fact that Octopus offers many (not all, but many) of its employees the opportunity to build careers here. I have. Maybe it’s the Octopus Foundation and its support (financial, but more importantly time), for charities chosen by employees. Maybe it’s the myriad of clubs I can get involved with. Nearly 40 colleagues went on a ski trip to France recently. Theatre clubs, curry clubs, running clubs, diving clubs you name it, there’s a club, and if there isn’t, I could probably just set one up for it, AND get a little bit of funding from the company. Maybe it’s the sheer diversity of religions, races, sexualities, providing a dynamic, multi-cultural environment where we can learn and develop. The Octopus LGBT group taking part in Pride of London this year for the first time is going to be pretty cool. I’m not part of the group but I shall be proud to see my colleagues taking part. Maybe because Simon and Chris (the founders) have incredible work ethic and set a total example, yet remain totally approachable. You can walk up to their desks and pick their brains. There are no closed offices at Octopus. Maybe it’s the warm welcome you will receive from my colleagues on the reception desk. Maybe, as I mentioned above, it’s the fair remuneration we get. Not everyone will always be pleased, but no one forces you to accept the job offer! I don’t know. But I reckon it’s many of the above, and many more positive things about Octopus I haven’t mentioned that keep me here, but shackles there are not, and I could leave (hopefully on good terms) if I so chose. Let’s not forget, this is a company that is only 17 years old, yet aspires to be around 100 years from now. So it’s perhaps going through its teenage years. Being bold and ambitious, making some mistakes, trying to find out what works and doesn’t, but on the whole, it’s getting A LOT of things right and will very likely go on to create further, massive success. The opportunity which lies ahead is gigantic. Nearly 600 people (maybe more, we’re growing so fast I lose track) on the whole seem pretty happy. I bet the stats show many have been here for quite some time, but of course many will have been hired in recent years as Octopus continues to grow at an impressive pace. For one thing, honest Glassdoor reviews are very valid (everyone is entitled to their opinion), but Simon and Chris should be immensely proud of the business they have built today. They’ve had some fantastic past colleagues along the way who have made massive contributions; virtually all employees today are adding masses of value in their roles, and employees yet to join or don’t even know they will one day work at Octopus, will no doubt make an amazing contribution. Of course, I am positive on the company, but there is little to lose for those given an offer of employment to join the team. If you subsequently realise it’s not for you, then you can part terms, amicably. You WILL be allowed to leave, really.

      Cons

      Oh we’ve made LOADS of mistakes along the way. The ferocious pace of growth lends itself to it. We often ask too much of our managers – they need to deliver as well as manage, which can lead to a feeling of unsupported colleagues in places, unless the manager is very, very good. The whole of Octopus working on this, but it’s not easy trying to make the right changes. The direction of travel is positive though. We made some redundancies last year – by the troops on the ground this felt like a big mistake and continues to have an impact on the culture but time is a healer. Why not just slow the hiring or manage those people out – no need to do things ‘by the book’. Anyhow, it’s done. Hopefully senior management have reflected and will be more considerate if there ever was an unfortunate next time. It’s a fairly work hard, have fun culture. This won’t suit everyone – there’s no point trying to join Octopus if you fancy an easy ride, but it will suit you very well if you’d like to work with some great colleagues in a business where its heart is really in the right place, although its head can take it off-piste sometimes!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Smart, ambitious and innovative investment group

      Jan 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Continually evolving and adapting in order to achieve the high targets set for itself and its customers - Full of smart and motivated employees - Fun work culture, plenty of social events and clubs to get involved in

      Cons

      Onboarding hasn't quite kept up with the rate of growth, so work loads and hours are often high.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Octopus Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Octopus? Share Your Experiences

    Octopus logo
    or