OfficeMax Employee Reviews about "office depot"

Updated Oct 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 129 of over 2,257 reviews

3.2
45%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
OfficeMax Chief Executive Officer Gerry Smith
Gerry Smith
139 Ratings
Pros
  • "company has a flexible schedule(in 86 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule and good work environment(in 81 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Periodically firing all old officemax managers when office depot took over(in 115 reviews)

  • "Upper management, understaffed, constant turnover(in 64 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "office depot"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee

      OfficeMax

      Oct 29, 2020 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      OfficeMax is an office supply store

      Cons

      OfficeMax was merged with Office Depot

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Just okay

      Aug 26, 2020 - Customer Service Manager in White Lake, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There was a good deal of schedule flexibility

      Cons

      Periodically firing all old officemax managers when office depot took over

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I Like OMX, but we were lied to by our leaders who say integrity, trust and teamwork are company core values.

      Mar 13, 2014 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The associates and store level managers are great.

      Cons

      DMs are forced to treat the store level employees like we are the problem, This thinking just show how short sighted they are and the absences of any real ideas to build the business. Good to Great companies do not blame the workforce and cut benefits. They find a real way to include the workforce in a greater mission to succeed, Drastic cuts to payroll and staffing. Increased duties and responsibilities with fewer associates to do them. After the merger managers of OfficeMax will be asked to take large pay cuts and ASMs will be let go or switched to hourly. We were told this was a merger of equals and that turned out to be a lie. We are Office Depot. I have not seen one real OMX policy kept.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Avoid the Print Center at all Costs

      Aug 31, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Was fairly relaxed prior to store conversion from Office Max to Office Depot Sales consultant positions are fairly low key (I'd recommend this for a decent part time job, but avoid the print center at all costs)

      Cons

      Print center is always busy and stressful Management complained with you asked for back up, even though company touts Flex Up on 3 policy Merger with Office Depot just added more complication to normal tasks Store was always behind and regional management complained if we worked on excessive freight during regular store hours, set planos during store hours, etc. Not sure when we were supposed to do this stuff in this case... ImPress Supervisor is a quasi manager role - slightly higher pay grade, but no keys, no code to open/close store, no trust given by other managers, 30 minute lunch, and management not very supportive of assisting when things got backed up. LOTS of favoritism (if I reported a print associate for not doing their job, they got no flak for it. If I was sitting behind the counter without customers, I got fussed at for not doing a million other things around the store) Due to merger being a disorganized mess, I wasn't offered any benefits except the retirement plan

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great store I worked at. The whole staff treats me respect and kindness. Hours are flexible and pay is good.

      Mar 3, 2017 - Senior Sales Consultant in Minot, ND
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      With every protection plans sold, there are incentives that goes to your paycheck. Store employees were able to recover from poor management prior when I first started here. Now, as a team, were are now a strong performing store in regards to customer interactions and sales. Our neighborhood have modest to positive reviews about us. Training was a bit rubbish but was able to pick it up through trial and error as well as customer interactions. Management DOES help you training you to become a better sales associate. Benefits are a plus too!

      Cons

      Store presentation: it needs to be more interesting with more technology. True, all stores vary by location but it helps bring interests to customers. POOR marketing team: when was the last time you saw an Office Depot commercial or use social media outlets to expand their brand recognition? The name! To the CEO: Re-brand the company as Office Depot. As that so hard? Even our prices don't match. This should have been merged back years ago!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      It was a fun culture and product mix, don't think I realized just how good it was until I had gone to other retailers.

      Apr 22, 2014 - General Manager in Algonquin, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started as a part time stocker and worked all my way up to Store Manager. Took a while but it was a good feeling seeing the hard work pay off. Time off was almost never an issue. Very flexible for me. I loved my District Managers throughout the years. They actually cared for their employees. The staff always got along well. You really cared about your staff.

      Cons

      Different stores seemed to run differently then one another, (if that makes sense) Almost like one thing was ok in one store, but not another. Took some adjustment. Now that they've merged with Office Depot, I can only imagine how difficult its going to be getting promoted if stores close being too close to one another, etc.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Disappointing after some time spent here

      Jun 4, 2015 - Sales Consultant - Print Services in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The customers are my favorite part of the job. I've built countless professional relationships with print and copy customers, and they're at this point the only thing keeping me here. My management staff is very flexible with taking time off, except during "blackouts." LGBT crowd is more than welcome at Office Depot/OfficeMax for employment. Management does not discriminate.

      Cons

      I feel like I'm overqualified to work here. It seems like despite giving 110% from clocking in to clocking out, nothing is ever good enough for my managers, and they have no interest in rewarding employees that perform well. They're only concerned with hitting their numbers every day. I have done everything I can to break my back for this company, and I'm just beginning to feel taken advantage of. Management is a tease. "If you keep getting surveys like that, you'll see a raise!", but it never actually comes, except for the automatic inflation raise each fall, which is a whopping 25 cents or so. If you're seasoned in graphic design/printing, search elsewhere. You deserve more than the lowly salary you'll get here, even starting out. Paid holidays are gone as of the merger with Office Depot. Part time associates used to receive holiday pay after working there for a year, or 1.5x pay on holidays if not there for a year.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Office Depot Hostile Takeover puts a bad taste in your mouth. Down down down hill...

      May 3, 2014 - Store Operations Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most of my direct reports were very accommodating with scheduling and willing to listen to feedback. Up until the "merger" there was a lot of room for retail level promotion, now it's almost non-existent.

      Cons

      Overworked and underpaid. Period. The "merger of equals" touted by executive management in corporate is an absolute crock of crap. The industry is dying and Office Depot, Inc. is trying to ram services down customers throats that they don't really need. From a business standpoint services offer a high margin, but 90% of our customers just want paper and ink. They don't care about having a website or being able to take credit card payments. The typical client base is very difficult to keep a smiling face for. You get at least 10 comments a day about how horrible the prices are. Payroll is a nightmare since Q3 of last year. We are expected to have amazing surveys and assist every customer, yet we are staffed with 3-4 people most of the time. How am I supposed to reach out to every customer when I don't have the people to do so?

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Cashier, Impress associate 2.5 years and counting (:

      Mar 5, 2015 - Cashier, Impress Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I absolutely love working for Office Max! Management at my store is amazing I couldn't think of a better group of people to work for! I love the connections made with the customers! Some customers insist on only coming in when certain people are working because of the relationship they have built. I love that the company doesn't only focus on the numbers but rather the customer experience. Working for a company this great really makes it hard to find a second job that I don't hate!

      Cons

      Only thing that sucks is before the Office Depot Office Max merger I was a part time associate working 39.5 hours a week and after the merger they cut my hours to around 20. I just want my hours back! Being the most senior cashier there I should be getting the most hours of the cashiers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It was okay, I was laid off after working 2 years because of the merger with office max and depot.

      Apr 19, 2014 - Sales Associate - Office Max in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best reasons are flexible scheduling great management. I've worked at 3 stores in Las Vegas and it was amazing! Great employees, clean stores, and proper training.

      Cons

      Cons. When times are slow your hours affect you. If the store has to many employees you share hours. So hopefully your store isn't over employed. Corporate is a mess and so Is loss prevention. But sometimes we were under staffed and only had 3 people close including manager. Once we heard about Office Depot buying office max out things went down hill. People got fired and stores are closing. Not the same. And people got fired for the wrong reasons. I was happy for 2 years or employment at OfficeMax but after December 2013 until January 2014 it took a drastic turn. They blame you for things that you don't do to get rid of you when things get tight. Like now during the merger while stores are closing and they need to transfer employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 129 Reviews

    Popular Careers with OfficeMax Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at OfficeMax? Share Your Experiences

    OfficeMax logo
    or