Okta Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Okta Reviews

Updated 19 de Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 313 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Okta CEO Todd McKinnon
Todd McKinnon
251 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great leadership, great product, great enviornment(in 29 reviews)

  • "Great company vision led by a CEO who truly cares about his employees and maintaining an excellent culture(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical growing pains for tech company in bay area(in 24 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance can be tricky with a Pacific-Time based team(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "SRE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Okta full-time

    Pros

    Excellent company and best work culture

    Cons

    None specific The food quality served is not well.

    Okta2018-01-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Okta

    Pros

    Startup mentality..definite need for this solution.

    Cons

    Too much politics for such a small company

    Advice to Management

    Stop under-delivering.

    Okta2015-12-09
  3. "Highly rewarding Work. Fast pace. Startup mentality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely best product in the Identity as a service space. Maniacal focus on growth. Very sharp hires. Constant new hires. Open communication. CEO does an all hands call every Friday. You can ask anything.

    Cons

    Work-life balance. The motto is ‘Always On’ and I don’t agree with that. I work to provide for my family and I do need to be around to take care of them. Always-On is not my idea of balance. Too many apps for everything. Hard to navigate. Crazy amount of emails. You have to be very focused to not have email run your day.

    Advice to Management

    I think it’s a great culture. Keep hiring top talent. Compensation doesn’t match the work load compared to my previous gigs. It’s 25% more work for about the same amount of pay. Hire fast. Act fast. Two of my referrals went elsewhere as we took too long to get the 7 interviews done! I really like my BU and direct leadership. Love the transparency and access to leadership. Enjoying the crazy pace for now but at... some point it will need to balance out.

    Show More
    Okta2019-09-19
  4. "Strong sales culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative team, smart people, lots of go-to-market resources to help reps hit target.

    Cons

    Aggressive growth targets and shrinking territories.

    Advice to Management

    Allow dogs :) And keep providing upward mobility opportunities for hungry sales reps.

    Okta2019-09-13
  5. "Amazing company to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - fast growing, many career opportunities - great culture - amazing company benefits

    Cons

    - tech is extremely competitive - Okta is fast growing, so the high performance pressure is quite high

    Advice to Management

    Keep empowering people!

    Okta2019-09-13
  6. "The Steak Does Not Match The Sizzle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are growing, have a good reputation within the industry, and have excellent compensation and benefits offerings. There are interesting problems to solve.

    Cons

    Though they have stated values surrounding lofty concepts - such as Transparency and Integrity - the implementation is sorely lacking. They have hired and promoted people with impressive resumes, but who lack many of the basic skills and talents needed to perform their jobs. Though they speak a lot about Inclusion and Diversity, and have training about avoiding bias, the net results are far less impressive. Honest... feedback about dysfunctional patterns is not appreciated (and barely tolerated). It's a great place to earn some money and bolster your resume, but is not a long-term career - except for a very small group of elite.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Walk your talk; become (and hire) the kind of managers you claim you value. Have the courage to examine the culture and interactions between teams and teammates and root out bigotry and incompetence.

    Okta2019-09-18
  7. "Keep your head down and don't ask too many questions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Okta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, an industry leader, great benefits and perks

    Cons

    Politics - watched the organization lose sight of its values and vision in exchange for being an industry leader. The company placed outside talent with no understanding of the organization in place of several internal candidates. The opportunity for growth is a joke. If you are trying to move up the corporate ladder get experience elsewhere because it's not a top value when making a decision if you know the... business from the inside. I've watched recruiters and hiring managers specifically decline to look at resumes due to candidates alma maters regardless of their experience and academic achievements. I watched turnover after turnover across all departments with the biggest reasoning being that management just didn't have the aligned vision or basic understanding needed for their role.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees and teams, you are as strong as your "weakest" link. Scrap this mentality that big-name schools are the only producers of valuable talent - maybe that will diversify the employee pool because the strategy in place is just not cutting it.

    Okta2019-09-19
  8. "Great company if you're not in sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing product, amazing vision, amazing people.

    Cons

    Do not value salespeople. No stock. This year, no RSUs allocated even for top performers. Executive vision is that "salespeople have the opportunity to make a lot." Well, virtually EVERY other peer company has decent RSU packages. Makes it very hard to recruit, and makes salespeople apt to leave at the drop of a hat. Top management does not value salespeople or sales managers. With no 401K match, no RSUs,... what are salespeople to think? Executive team even decided that for this FY, there would be no stock allocation for anyone in sales. This is 100% contrary to what I was told during the hiring process.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at the market. As a sales manager, I have found it very hard to recruit people.

    Okta2019-09-13
  9. "Amazing Culture & Opportunity for Growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaign Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Okta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Okta has a fantastic culture - I work with very positive, intelligent, and caring teammates. There is no shortage of work to get done, so you have an opportunity to make an impact and grow quickly.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Okta2019-08-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not a review of the company but of the product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Okta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing to complain about company wise.

    Cons

    After working at Okta for a few years I decided to leave in pursuit of a better opportunity. A couple of months after leaving I decided to check the salesforce app on my phone and to my absolute amazement, I still had an active salesforce account at okta and was still logged in. As an ex-employee, I was still able to look at all the sales reports, opportunities, and makes modifications! This was very surprising to... me because it seems that a company that is focused on identity access management has failed to managed identity and access internally. I had access to my account (and still probably do) until I decided to logout and login with my current employer's salesforce credentials. Just wanted to put it out there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It seems that some of the automated deprovisioning systems have broken down internally. You should probably look into it.

    Okta2019-09-06
Found 313 reviews
</>Embed