Old Dominion Freight Driver Reviews

Updated 12 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Old Dominion Freight President, CEO, and Director  David S. Congdon
David S. Congdon
74 Ratings
  1. "Productive. Great Benefits."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - P & D Driver in Dracut, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Shifts are mostly between 7-9a and you'll probably be done with your last pickup at 6:30p (earlier at times depending on season), so you have plenty of family time. -Work week is Mon - Fri. -Plenty of family time -Management is very supportive (Depends on terminal; Mine was-Dracut terminal) -Great Benefits. Huge Plus here.

    Cons

    -OT is rare... very rare -You only bid routes as a senior (for most drivers, this isn't particularly a negative) -Equipment could be better.

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2020-05-13
  2. "Linehaul/local driver"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linehaul Driver in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for clean equipment good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Hauling mty sets can be a challenge during winter.

    Old Dominion Freight2020-05-05
  3. "Senior employee opinion"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linehaul Driver in White Pine, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great equipment,good pay, management leaves you alone and let's you do your job,no cameras in trucks

    Cons

    Biggest con is everything goes by department time not company time even layoffs,when you're waiting on freight it's on your time you don't get paid

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2020-04-25
  4. "Best Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Tolleson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive work place, well maintained equipment, and excellent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Odd hours and weekend work

    Old Dominion Freight2020-04-09
  5. "Great place to work and great pay"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - P&D Driver in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay easy work to work for

    Cons

    Not a lot home time when OTR driver

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2020-02-23
  6. "Line Haul"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Haul Driver 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Old Dominion Freight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Definitely work available, however totally based on the weather.

    Cons

    Wild - no set schedule... Seniority based.

    Old Dominion Freight2020-03-08
  7. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linehaul Driver in Eighty Four, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay,equipment,management,vacation and holiday pay

    Cons

    There are absolutely no cons to working here in my opinion

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2020-01-02
  8. "Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Haul Driver in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Old Dominion Freight full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits. It is a good career. Just not for me. I enjoy more physical labor. Odd but true.

    Cons

    For me i messed up bidding a run. Running the same 550 miles a night was mind numbing.

    Continue reading
    Old Dominion Freight2019-11-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Haul Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good money and good management

    Cons

    Long hours and not much time for family during the week.

    Old Dominion Freight2019-10-05
  10. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Driver in Fontana, CA

    I worked at Old Dominion Freight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money is Great. Supervisors are great

    Cons

    Overtime is after 40. Co workers are terrible

    Old Dominion Freight2019-09-29
Found 114 reviews