Ombudsman Services Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Ombudsman Services Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
41%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Ombudsman Services CEO and Chief Ombudsman Matthew Vickers
Matthew Vickers
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great changes happening for the good of the staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ombudsman Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People Work Energy - exciting - motivating new culture Direction Rewarding work Ability to make a difference Beautiful offices On site parking On site catering Pay and benefits package is amazing

    Cons

    Still big changes happening which is worrying for those employed that jobs are stable

    Continue reading
    Ombudsman Services2020-02-21
  2. "Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Team Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ombudsman Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, Culture, Environment, Technology, Organisation

    Cons

    Lack of salary and career path progression

    Continue reading
    Ombudsman Services2020-01-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The People Make The Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ombudsman Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Vast majority of people are great to work with. - Opportunity to progress to where you want to be. - Time given for learning/training . - New leadership team put in place who are making needed/good changes to the business. - Hardware/Kit provided on 1st day by IT dept. - Nice office space. - Approachable /trustworthy line manager (Relevant to me at least) - Free desk massages

    Cons

    - Lack of amenities nearby. - Money invested into "well-being" projects that dont seem to last very long. - Not a massive selection of benefits (e.g. No bike to work scheme after free bus was stopped) - Canteen quite expensive considering it is supposed to be subsidised.

    Ombudsman Services2019-09-26

    Ombudsman Services Response

    October 1, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Ombudsman Services and sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not the worst place I have worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Daresbury, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ombudsman Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good progression opportunities - Massuse comes round every month for free - Nice offices - Recently appointed directors who appear committed to improving the company - Quarterly Q&A sessions with CEO - Plenty of car parking and lift share scheme - Free tea and coffee

    Cons

    - Location is practically in the middle of nowhere with very poor transport links, used to be a free bus which was cancelled - Working in the Operation is extremely micro managed and not pleasant resulting in high turnover. - Countless employee wellbeing programs which are all destined to fail (COSMOS/Novus) - Canteen is pretty expensive and not that good (except the cakes) - No Xmas parties/incentives for doing well (used to be social events which no longer happen) - No pay rises, no bonuses

    Continue reading
    Ombudsman Services2019-09-27

    Ombudsman Services Response

    October 1, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review about your experience at Ombudsman Services and provide feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. "Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ombudsman Services part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to help the organisation change

    Cons

    Lot of change resisters

    Ombudsman Services2019-09-23

    Ombudsman Services Response

    October 1, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Ombudsman Services and sharing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "If you want to progress or be invested in stay away...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enquiry Officer in Warrington, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ombudsman Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You know how they say when you join the army you meet your second family and friends for life? Same thing at this place. The management, business strategy, facilities and lack of care from anyone other than the people on your team helps forge many bonds of friendship.... Oh and the canteen does some half decent food.

    Cons

    Current staff are being leaned on to give good reviews to make the place seem better for prospective employees. Managers are not present. They do not invest in their staff. They lie and ignore and put off responding in the hopes that you will go away. They might be nice to your face but will comment and talk about you behind your back, and they will recognise others/take recognition for your hard work. The expectations on staff performance are too high considering the lack of resources, working tools or support that is actually given. In the space of 6 months they must of gone through 3 maybe 4 heads of operation (the same post). The CEO has his head in the sand and keeps telling everyone it will be better in the long run. Bare with us we are sorting it. But actually nothing gets done for months or if it does it isn’t communicated. Nobody knows what’s going on, nobody is given any real opportunity to progress or share their ideas to help improve the workplace. The office is in the sticks (a good 10 minute drive from the nearest shop). You are lied to when applying about the amount of time you will spend off the phones (they say 50/50 it’s more 95% of the time Online 5% offline during which you have to complete your own review documents, coaching logs and normal work.) no time is given for development and learning - unless it’s for your current role and is a sporadic 6 monthly 3 hour upskill session that doesn’t really manage to upskill anything other than your sleep levels. OS is trying to give a facelift to an old tired company facade and it just isn’t happening. Also as much as they try to tell you they’re not it’s an “if the face fits” culture through and through. Couldn’t make a decent internal management decision with a clear rationale explanation and positive outcome if it was mapped out for them step by step (having attempted to actually do this and watch them mess it up I speak from experience). In my last 2 months I don’t think there was a single person in the business who actually wanted to be there. The whole atmosphere and culture is negative, blood sucking and damaging to mental health (of which you’ll receive no support with if you have any mental health issues). I could go on and on waxing lyrical but I guess I’ve put enough for you to get the picture. STAY AWAY.

    Continue reading
    Ombudsman Services2019-10-08
  7. "Fantastic Organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Confidential 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ombudsman Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ombudsman Services are committed to support their colleagues. There are many opportunities across the business for colleagues to grow and enhance their knowledge and build upon their expertise. The best thing about Ombudsman Services is their people; they're supportive and helpful.

    Cons

    They are constantly evolving, so if you don't like change, Ombudsman Services is not for you.

    Continue reading
    Ombudsman Services2019-08-15

    Ombudsman Services Response

    October 1, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Ombudsman Services and providing your feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Incredibly toxic department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigation Officer in Daresbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ombudsman Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Home working every other day.

    Cons

    The IO role is an extremely challenging one with strict, stretching targets which require extra unpaid working hours. The operations managers in Investigations are totally blinkered to the fact they’re ‘managing’ ineffectively and refuse to accept or address the toxic environment. I suspect the positive reviews on here are from managers but I can assure you there are few, if any, investigation officers who are happy and positive about this role. Why stay? Well because it’s not easy to jump to another role which offers £24k +. I find it sad that years on, operations managers are still in denial and ignoring IO staff’s pleas for help and support. Yes the business has to make money, but it’s doing so at the expense of health and well-being of the staff. I’ve witnessed bullying, micro managing and deliberate managing out of people rather than supporting them when they struggle with change. Note the review which says if you don’t like change it’s nit for you - how about you support the staff properly through change instead of bullying them out. It’s truly is a negative, toxic, draining place to work as an IO and needs the whole process and management team replacing. I meet my target week in, week out and pass all QA checks but the target and relentless pressure is suffocating. As for career opportunities, in Investigations, absolutely zero opportunities. Don’t believe anything else. If you didn’t have mental health issues before working here, you most definitely will end up with them if you work here.

    Continue reading
    Ombudsman Services2019-09-10

    Ombudsman Services Response

    October 1, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with Ombudsman Services and sharing your feedback. We will review your comments and look to address them as part of our on going great place to work strategy.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good people bad execs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enquiry Officer 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ombudsman Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The lovely people, the actual service (no sales)

    Cons

    No pay rise, no benefits, stricture policies

    Continue reading
    Ombudsman Services2019-07-11
  10. "Tough targets. No room for illness or personal matters."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigation Officer in Daresbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ombudsman Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary - good level of pay

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations on target achievement when cases vary significantly

    Continue reading
    Ombudsman Services2019-07-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 59 reviews