One Kings Lane Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

One Kings Lane Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 157 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
One Kings Lane CEO Debbie Propst (no image)
Debbie Propst
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun work environment with good coworkers(in 13 reviews)

  • "OKL has an amazing start-up mentality and is full of creative, talented employees(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "OKL has always been unprofitable(in 15 reviews)

  • "poor management, poor pay for extremely long hours(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A shadow of its former self"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at One Kings Lane full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Great team of smart, driven, design-obsessed professionals -It's fun to be part of such a beloved, beautiful brand!

    Cons

    -Poor culture always trickles down from the very top, and here is no exception. As a result, it's rife with micromanagement and leaders who make you feel worse about yourself and your role. It wasn't always like this.

    Continue reading
    One Kings Lane2019-09-17
  2. "Fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant 

    I have been working at One Kings Lane full-time

    Pros

    My coworkers, Vacation, Roof, Customer Service, Snacks

    Cons

    IT, Network Issues, Commute, Workload

    One Kings Lane2019-08-16
  3. "awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at One Kings Lane part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun place to work. great perks

    Cons

    occasional rude customers, but nothing terrible

    Continue reading
    One Kings Lane2019-07-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not a place you should take a job at, at this stage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at One Kings Lane full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Attractive office decor Snacks Overall, there are a lot of nice people here who care about their job

    Cons

    Dysfunctional Bed Bath IT systems Division is unprofitable with no path to profitability Ultimately OKL will end up shuttered

    Continue reading
    One Kings Lane2019-07-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at One Kings Lane full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard working collaborative staff that is unfortunately under poor "leadership" . Work from home option, unlimited dto.

    Cons

    Inconsistent to little direction from the top down, high employee turn over, and disorganized. All of which leads to low employee morale .

    One Kings Lane2019-02-27
  6. "Great company, awesome people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at One Kings Lane full-time

    Pros

    1. Company culture is top-notch. 2. Fast-paced environment with always something to do. 3. Plenty of opportunity to move between teams.

    Cons

    Career growth can feel stalled within a team.

    Continue reading
    One Kings Lane2018-12-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Talent was in the building but lacking focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at One Kings Lane full-time

    Pros

    Great concept, some of the best home decor inventory on the internet.

    Cons

    Leadership could not agree on strategic direction and ended up silo'd as a result.

    Continue reading
    One Kings Lane2018-12-12
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at One Kings Lane full-time

    Pros

    People are amazing, it was a fun place to work.

    Cons

    None whatsoever. We just ran out of runway.

    One Kings Lane2018-11-24
  9. "Great spot to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at One Kings Lane full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful and committed work environment. The entire community is supportive, kind, and resourceful.

    Cons

    Office space is tight

    One Kings Lane2018-11-16
  10. "Creative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at One Kings Lane full-time

    Pros

    Roll up your sleeves mentality across most teams

    Cons

    Shrinking teams, increased workloads, benefits changing each year

    One Kings Lane2018-11-20
Found 157 reviews