Cover image for OneMain Financial
Logo

OneMain Financial

Engaged Employer

OneMain Financial

Add a Review

OneMain Financial Reviews

Updated 3 Feb 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,942 of over 2K reviews
3.4
55% Recommend to a Friend
72% Approve of CEO

Found 1,940 of over 2K reviews

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
OneMain Financial President and Chief Executive Officer Doug Shulman (no image)
Doug Shulman
486 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance and culture(in 66 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and work life balance(in 126 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can be a challenge(in 76 reviews)

  • "Upper management were out of touch(in 89 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      review

      28 Jan 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      awesome place to work . no issues at all

      Cons

      nothing bad about this plave

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OneMain Financial Response

      Community Manager

      We appreciate your feedback and are happy to have you on our team. Thanks for sharing your experience. – M.S.

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Eh

      10 Feb 2022 - PLS 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good people depending on who you work with

      Cons

      Terrible system no pay raises

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OneMain Financial Response

      Online Reputation Management Coordinator

      Thank you for sharing your experience. The variable incentive program is monitored on a regular basis and adjusted as needed. Your feedback helps us determine future improvements. -AS

    3. Join the OneMain Financial team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company

      28 Jun 2012 - Assistant Branch Manager in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Global Atmosphere , Learning environment and Growth opportunities.

      Cons

      more workload, target pressure, no work visa provided by company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Loved ot

      24 Jan 2023 - Branch Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Vacation time, bonus pay, great work life balance

      Cons

      None, I enjoyed everything while I was there

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OneMain Financial Response

      Sr. Social Media Community Manager

      We appreciate your positive feedback, we hope that your time with us prepared you for the next step in your career. - ck

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      21 Jan 2023 - Branch Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay. Valued. Opportunity. Commision.

      Cons

      Alot of work hours. Salaried.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OneMain Financial Response

      Sr. Social Media Community Manager

      Thank you for the positive review and providing your feedback. - ck

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice Place

      2 Feb 2023 - Technical Lead in Evansville, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My manger cared about the team and their well being. I believe he is an exception in the organization. Compensation is at and above industry levels.

      Cons

      Most teams worked in a siloed manner not treating the users of their services as a customer. Outside of project efforts, the communication between the development and support teams was non-existent. Favoritism - Some teams were consistently given praise, even when not merited, while others were not even when merited.

      1 person found this review helpful

      OneMain Financial Response

      Sr. Social Media Community Manager

      Your experience does not reflect the culture we strive to provide and maintain, and we are truly sorry we did not meet your expectations. We hope that your time with us prepared you for the next step in your career. - ck

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good for the area.

      3 Feb 2023 - Loan Officer in Evansville, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid time off and sick time.

      Cons

      Little work life balance. Can be difficult to gain promotion due to limited advancement opportunities.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OneMain Financial Response

      Sr. Social Media Community Manager

      We encourage you to have open and honest discussions with your manager about your own goals and expectations. Additionally, your HRBP and our Human Resources department are always accessible to discuss any concerns that may arise. - ck

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Great Co-workers

      28 Jan 2023 - Data Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers! I’ve always felt really supported from co-workers. People share information and try to help each other out. Great PTO. You get four weeks of vacation, five sick days, and two personal days after being there for two or three years, and it is a use it or lose it policy. I’ve never had any problems using all my vacation.

      Cons

      Raises are the typical 2% - 3% a year even if they tell you it will be larger. There’s always an excuse for why the company can’t give raises. It’s the typical run around you get from companies this size. I have stayed so far because of the PTO, which is helpful because my wife and I keep having babies haha. The company laid off a lot of people during 2020, even though they said we were meeting all our expected goals. The company promised we would be permanent remote workers and that this would be a benefit that would not be taken away. A lot of us invested in equipment that isn’t provided for by the company (ie monitors, keyboards, faster internet), however, they have since taken that benefit away after almost three years without compensating employees. They were very inappropriate in how they handled Covid. They were very invasive in wanting personal medical records of employees. Men are allowed to wear dresses and skirts in the office, but baseball caps are considered unprofessional.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      OneMain Financial Response

      Sr. Social Media Community Manager

      I would encourage and invite you to connect with to your HRBP and talk about your exact issues. Please consider taking the time to talk with them. -ck

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Entry level - May not be best long term

      17 Jan 2023 - Branch Manager in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Growth opportunities - Tuition reimbursement - Continued learning

      Cons

      - lack of flexibility - constantly change bonus structure monthly - long days

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OneMain Financial Response

      Sr. Social Media Community Manager

      Thanks for your candid review. We are sorry to hear your frustrations and encourage you to reach out to your HRBP to discuss your issues. - ck

    11. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great work place

      16 Jan 2023 - Loan Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to start your career , they offer so many developmental tools

      Cons

      Hard to keep offices fully staffed

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OneMain Financial Response

      Sr. Social Media Community Manager

      We appreciate your positive review as well as your feedback. If you care to reach out to us for additional feedback we will certainly listen to your thoughts and suggestions. Contact your HRBP directly or provide additional feedback to hrsocialmedia@omf.com. - ck

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,940 Reviews
    </>Embed

    OneMain Financial Reviews FAQs

    OneMain Financial has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 2,054 reviews left anonymously by employees. 55% of employees would recommend working at OneMain Financial to a friend and 55% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, OneMain Financial employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at OneMain Financial. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

    55% of OneMain Financial employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated OneMain Financial 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with OneMain Financial Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews