OpenMarket Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

OpenMarket Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
OpenMarket CEO Jonathan Morgan
Jonathan Morgan
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "xico seems to understand work/life balance of their employees without being too soft(in 20 reviews)

  • "Engineering org is full of bright and authentic people(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "As a division of Amdocs, it can sometimes feel like we are not part of our parent company(in 9 reviews)

  • "Senior management push out a completely new initiative every few months without completing the initial one(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for OpenMarket for almost 2 years. The culture is great and the management strives to do the right thing. The industry is changing and the company is adapting by investing in new product development. What I've loved most about OpenMarket is the people and size... it's a mid-size company so you feel like you can get to know most people. It also allows you to get things done quickly compared to other large companies I've been apart of. Overall this is the best place I've worked. The perks are also great - brand new office, stocked kitchen, generous travel subsidy, wellness benefit, paternity leave, ~5 weeks of PTO + sick time for all employees, cash transportation subsidy.

    Cons

    With a change in leadership and strategy comes some employees who don't like the change. We have had a spike in attrition of some long tenured employees recently. That said, the new employees coming in have been smart, engaged are helping continue to make OM a great place to work.

    Continue reading
    OpenMarket2019-08-09
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Good place to coast. Bad place to learn. If you’re good at politicking, this is the place for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you just want to coast with decent benefits, then this is the place to be.

    Cons

    Nothing is cool and sexy in the development or support of the services. It’s all about which org you land in — if you’re in Ops, you can get by without much thinking or initiative. If you’re in Engineering, you’ll be ducking pointed fingers. If you want to harass your female coworkers and get away with it, this is the place for you. If you want to take credit for other people’s work, this is the place to be. If you want to hobble through the support or development process, this is definitely the place to be. Even recruiting is giving up/quitting and settling for subpar recruits. Attrition is 1/3 of the company over the past year bc of poor leadership and poorer listening skills.

    Continue reading
    OpenMarket2019-07-09

    OpenMarket Response

    August 1, 2019

    As a company, we are committed to making this a great place to work no matter what your gender, and we celebrate diversity in all its forms. The culture of learning and development sits at the very heart of our business and is something that the leaders and I, personally, are committed to at OpenMarket. Equally, encouraging strong performance and recognizing it is something we strive for. Listening to our people is key. Our doors are always open. Jonathan Morgan, CEO, OpenMarket

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Best Place I Have Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, wonderful management, autonomy, strong financials, 15 days paid sick, 23 days PTO, above avg health and dental coverage, fun industry, employees are valued, collaborative environment

    Cons

    Some people don’t appreciate what they have here

    Continue reading
    OpenMarket2019-06-22

    OpenMarket Response

    August 19, 2019

    Great to hear this is the best place you have ever worked. We agree and are glad that OMies (employees) find this to be a valued, collaborative environment. Also excellent to learn that you enjoy the benefits and perks – we work hard to make this a place where everyone can thrive and grow. We appreciate your ongoing feedback. Jonathan Morgan, CEO, OpenMarket

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Best work experience of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’ve been with OpenMarket for more than five years, and can say without hesitation that it has been the most rewarding professional experience of my life. At OpenMarket I’ve been able to take ownership of company-wide projects and processes, hire and grow a global team, and generally be creative in a way I’d never be able to at bigger organization. But the best thing about OpenMarket by far is the people – they’re genuine, passionate about technology, supportive and honestly, just fun and funny. I actually look forward to going to meetings at OpenMarket because I always end up having real, spirited conversation, and laughing a lot – even with the CEO! – and I can’t say that’s ever been the case for me before. Another major perk of OpenMarket is it’s size -it’s big enough that we have good resources, like awesome benefits and ability to travel, but small enough that you can still make a major, visible impact with minimal red tape. The last major aspect of OpenMarket I can’t go without mentioning is our efforts to bolster diversity and inclusion. We have made huge strides bringing more women into the organization, especially in the tech space. Though there is definitely still room to grow from a diversity and inclusion perspective, as a woman I can say I personally feel the efforts around inclusivity paying off on a daily basis.

    Cons

    There are some downsides to OpenMarket of course, like a big parent company that is incredibly resistant to change and has cumbersome systems and processes that don't always sync with common sense.

    Continue reading
    OpenMarket2019-06-05

    OpenMarket Response

    August 19, 2019

    I was delighted to read this. Every company comes with its own set of challenges – but through listening and action we can help OpenMarket, and its staff, reach their true potential. Jonathan Morgan, CEO, OpenMarket

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Too much hierarchy and office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OpenMarket full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and supportive colleagues & reasonable middle management

    Cons

    Looking at the reviews, I expect the majority of the positive comments come from the management, their friends and family members as many OM employees are not satisfied with the company. I really enjoyed working at OpenMarket as my colleagues were friendly and supportive, unfortunately, I cannot say the same about my manager who seemed to be scared of expressing any form of criticism against the leadership. I completely lost respect towards them as they were timid and unable to defend their own team. Many senior managers seem to be indecisive and lack industry experience, which is reflected in their poor decision making. Majority of them are located in Seattle and are completely out of touch with the situation in Pune, Guadaralaja and London. Furthermore, there is a dangerous trend among the leadership team to employ their ex-colleagues/friends who seem equally incompetent. The company puts an emphasis on diversity, however, the same individuals keep being promoted, some of them got promoted 2-3 times in a year and the majority of them were men. Unfortunately, women don’t get much recognition at OM, especially those who are vocal and dare to criticise the leadership. I also don’t see much diversity across the leadership team- the majority of them are white Americans. Although one of the core values of OpenMakret is ‘be authentic’, not many managers are living up to this standard. The CEO and the management surround themselves with Yes-men only and any form of criticism sooner or later will be punished. ‘Value people’ is another questionable core value of OpenMarket- people should be valued in various ways, paying for drinks and pizza once per month is not enough. At OpenMarket many employees are underpaid for the amount of work they do. The most ‘lucky’ individuals end up doing a job of 2-3 people.  The work culture leaking from the senior management is quite toxic, there is lots of backstabbing and politics that ‘spill’ over the middle managers and regular employees, even those in technical roles. The old-fashioned and not fit for purpose processes and systems may hinder your efficiency. If your laptop doesn’t function properly, it takes ages to get a new one. Moreover, HR, payroll and recruitment processes are very time-consuming and complicated as a result finalising employee’s promotions might take months. If you have any pay-related issues you may end up emailing multiple individuals located in various locations before anyone solves your problem as the HR/Payroll departments are redistributed across the globe. There is a non-existent budget for personal development, only a few of my colleagues were able to attend some conferences last year, most of us couldn’t due to a very tight budget. Nevertheless, some teams (Sales, Marketing) seem to have enough money to attend fancy events. The attrition rate is rocketing high and I have never seen in my whole career so many colleagues departing within such a short space of time. HR claims that this is normal and such an attrition level is an industry-standard. To make it worse, many of those who have left were never replaced. The recruitment team doesn’t employ new people, they just fill the gaps.

    Continue reading
    OpenMarket2019-07-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "experience of OpenMarket"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are really nice. Management are kind

    Cons

    Can't be sure of job security

    Continue reading
    OpenMarket2019-07-01

    OpenMarket Response

    August 19, 2019

    I’m glad to hear that you enjoy being part of the OpenMarket team. Many of our colleagues have been part of the company for many years, so I hope you can see the opportunities are there for the taking. The next few years are going to be incredibly exciting and I hope you’ll continue to be part of our journey. Jonathan Morgan, CEO, OpenMarket

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Again with the "Fake" reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OpenMarket full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Every time there is a negative review, or two or three, you can count on some contrived review to pop up extolling all the qualities the company tries to offer to wash away the truth from the prior posts, from real employees, revealing it like it is.

    Cons

    Read the reviews that offer details vs. glossy cover-ups. They tell the truth.

    Continue reading
    OpenMarket2019-07-04

    OpenMarket Response

    August 1, 2019

    I make a point of reading every review posted on Glassdoor and value hearing points of view from multiple channels. We are dedicated to making this company a great place to work and the best in our sector. Jonathan Morgan, CEO, OpenMarket

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Rudderless and Struggling Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenMarket full-time

    Pros

    1. Competitive salary 2. Smart middle management 3. Comfortable low stress office environment 4. Global presence 5. Great benefits.

    Cons

    1. Leadership doesn’t listen to middle management’s ideas. This is unfortunate especially if middle mgmt are smarter than the leaders. If you disagree with leaders you will be tagged as an employee causing friction. 2. Each month many people were quitting, getting fired or just existing being dissatisfied and complacent with their jobs. 3. Ineffective communication among global matrix organization. 4. Onboarding was the worst experience I’ve ever had. Most technical problems had to go through a parent company troubleshooting ticket which was extremely cumbersome. Methods and technical tools across regional offices are not in sync. 5. No clear product, service, value proposition, or direction of purpose

    Continue reading
    OpenMarket2019-06-14

    OpenMarket Response

    August 19, 2019

    I agree that that there are some fantastic benefits to working at OpenMarket. We are responding to a changing market with an exciting new proposition and a clear strategy that our whole global team is working hard to deliver. The leadership team and I remain committed to ensuring that everyone has an open forum to discuss, debate and offer feedback every day. Jonathan Morgan, CEO, OpenMarket

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, a great environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly & welcoming culture - Approachable SLT - Fair salary - Great benefits package - Good career prospects

    Cons

    - The hours can be long (9 hour days are the standard requirement) - The commute can be an issue (London office) as the office is not central and the train lines servicing the station aren't the most reliable - IT & systems onboarding is painful because of the crossover with Amdocs (parent company) & OpenMarket systems. There isn't really a clear process to follow, and everybody seems to have issues for the first few weeks at least. This is more of a reflection on Amdocs than OpenMarket though - There isn't an official flexible working policy (and the IT issues make this more challenging too)

    Continue reading
    OpenMarket2019-05-16

    OpenMarket Response

    May 30, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your review. You’re obviously someone with a balanced perspective who knows there are pros and cons to everyone’s work situation. Overall though, it sounds like you’re quite pleased with the major aspects of your role - senior leadership, career prospects, our friendly culture. Those are the big things that I care deeply about myself. That being said, I’ve noted your comments regarding flexible work hours and issues with IT and onboarding and I plan to take them up with the relevant people. Thank you for bringing these issues to light and allowing us the valuable opportunity to continue to learn and grow along with our employees. As you continue to have insights, be all means tell me about them! Email me at jonathan.morgan@openmarket.com whenever you want to set up a time to connect.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time

    Pros

    CEO is amazing Authentic management Work culture is excellent-no blame culture Growth opportunities

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    OpenMarket2019-05-09

    OpenMarket Response

    May 30, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your feedback! I’m so glad OpenMarket is providing you with the kind of leadership and growth opportunities you’re looking for in your career. I’d love to hear even more of your feedback – reach out to me at jonathan.morgan@openmarket.com if you’d like to connect.

    Continue reading
Found 99 reviews