Glassdoor Alert: Attempt to Inflate Reviews

We have evidence that someone has taken steps to artificially inflate the rating for this employer in violation of our Community Guidelines. We have addressed the issue. Please exercise your best judgment when evaluating this employer. Learn more about Glassdoor Alerts.

OutboundEngine Employee Reviews about "spiffs"

Updated Feb 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 280 reviews

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
OutboundEngine CEO Marc Pickren
Marc Pickren
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "A great place to learn and grow your career(in 13 reviews)

  • "Commission structure is set to reward those who work hard, so are spiffs(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low work life balance and underpaid for skill set(in 20 reviews)

  • "People who want a kush 9-5 sales job that come in here not believing that this is a true grind(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "spiffs"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Just celebrated my 2nd year

      Feb 9, 2018 - Senior Account Director in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      95% off the time I wake up happy to come in the office. 5% of the time, I've stayed up past my bed time and want to stay home with my dogs. I'd say that says a lot about this place. I have been in sales over 20 years, so it's fair to say I've been around the block, maybe even the whole neighborhood. One of the things I love about sales, especially as a woman, is your ability to write your own paycheck. A couple of the things I really love about this place. I get to work with a lot of hardworking people. People are always willing to help a peer out. Commission structure is set to reward those who work hard, so are spiffs. Free parking downtown and we get the good bagels, from Wholey bagel. They have happy hours and live shows at our office. Also, probably my favorite perk is the nice 2 week long break over the holidays.

      Cons

      Sometimes they play to much Justin Bieber, I guess it's a plus to some, but I'm just not his biggest fan.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to get sales experience

      Aug 30, 2017 - Junior Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the culture in our office was one that made daily work seem less mundane, the training and coaching we received helped me learn and grow, the perks of spiffs and red bull office round definitely didn't hurt

      Cons

      having the office abruptly shut down definitely was a huge con as I did not see that coming, aside from that things would get tense when we got close to closing a deal, there was some tension between AEs and MDRs which made things some what uncomfortable and distracting, the lack of accountability from some people made it difficult to stay motivated.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Disappointing and Out of Touch

      Aug 4, 2017 - Sales in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best reasons to work for OutboundEngine are no longer in place. Having worked here for a decent amount of time, I've been disappointed to see the company take a turn for the negative. For the purpose of this review, I'll explain what used to be really great about working here. Training: This company use to provide sales training so extensive that people from any background could work in inside sales to change their lives for the better. It was critical that before being placed on the phones, all new hires were armed with expert knowledge of the sales process. Furthermore, continuing sales education trainings were held every morning, afternoon, and evening. Refocus sessions were offered as a huge help to avoid sales execs getting burnt out, and also reinforced the value of the fundamentals provided in the first weeks of training. The former sales leaders put an incredible amount of time into improving people both professionally, and personally. You felt supported, and that your questions would be answered with expert knowledge. Culture: Because everyone was provided the same amount of training and access to great sales leadership, there was a togetherness on the sales team that meant we were all working to not only crush our individual goals, but that we needed to push harder to hit our team/company goals as well. It wasn't the snacks or happy hours, but a more balanced number of people closing deals, being celebrated, and winning together, as a team. Quality hires, quality training, quality closing, and better quality of life for those working on the team. Celebrating your teammate was easy, because you knew it was your turn next. Staying late to work together to improve your pitch, your close, etc. Making friendly bets with your neighbor about how many deals you'll close that month. It's no coincidence that the former SVP himself would interview candidates to ensure they had the characteristics of someone right for the job, and good for the team. Compensation: Like many of the reviews before this one, it must be said that this is a grind. While not the easiest job, it was extremely possible to make more than double your starting base pay with the commission structure. But it's not just commission that rocked. Sales spiffs,bonus rewards, grants of equity, and other incentives that were not only good for the pocketbook, but good for the soul of the salesperson who worked their butt off to win it. Rewarding excellence, rather than holding drawings for mediocrity. Pushing individuals to reach deep down and pull out all the stops to win $$ or take mom on a trip. This also helped breed a culture of happy, inspired, hungry& competitive sales people. Stability: Electing to work for a startup means that you will encounter change--and possibly several stages of change depending on how long you stay with one company. OE was, for a while, excellent at implementing change. Executive team was honest and would share months in advance during company updates to prep the company for the coming changes. Organized communication and transparency from the leadership team helped employees to trust that their best interests were being considered when changes were made. We could trust that the decisions being made were also going to take the company in positive directions, and that our jobs were secure. Each department knew what part they would play in the shift, and leaders were transparent by holding open forum with employees. This is dramatically different of OE 2017.

      Cons

      Training: Now a crash course with two questionable trainers who have a track record of harassment and unprofessional behavior. No continuing trainings to improve skill or personal life, and most team meetings result in a bash session (pointing fingers and blaming) various executives. Most of the sales floor is struggling, feels a lack of support from leadership, and the script/pitch/process/sales model has changed more than 4 times over the last 7 months. Creative "trial" scripts are written and handed out to select individuals at trainer discretion, without approval from executive team. What was once uniform and a well-oiled machine is now a game of trial-and-error. My peers were frustrated and vocalized this multiple times to HR and to Sales leadership, but were ignored and then insulted behind closed doors for "not being a good enough sales person to make it anyway." Culture: Very poor. Bleak, even. Smatterings of applause when deals are closed, and no peer meetings after hours or one-on-ones. Scarce overall attendance at company events including the Outbound Outloud series. The company just lost the Best Places to Work award for 2017....an award that OE has won for the past 4 years. Stocked kitchen as advertised on the careers page? No. Empty baskets stand in the place that used to be full of snacks, food, lunch. The togetherness that used to drive the engine on the sales floor has evaporated. The theme is frustration, and the recent surveys from the Best Places to Work contest are proof that most employees feel this is NOT a best place to work. Which is interesting, because I'm seeing an influx of fake positive reviews on Glassdoor claiming to be from the sales department...it's an admittedly smart attempt to get new talent in the door. It's really disappointing to see all the empty desks on the sales floor. Compensation: Completely changed in February, it's a de-motivating structure with little chance of success given the fact that the sales process has been completely destroyed by amateur script changes. Spiffs are now reduced to things like winning chocolate bunny rabbits left over after Easter purchased from a discount bin. No, I'm not joking. "First 7 people to close deals today will win a tasty chocolate treat!" Less money, with major quota increases. All remaining $$ contests are drawings, so performance means nothing and prizes are distributed based on luck of the draw. Equity is now given as incentive to stay with the company when people threaten to leave. Stability: Sales leadership just changed again after less than a year, there's a likable acting Sales VP in place who has yet to provide clarity on the way reps will be paid, how metrics are measured, or what the sales model should be. The company has high customer churn, and low sales incapable of balancing revenue. Multiple tenured employees leaving from Marketing, Sales, CS, and Ops. Product changes are made with no communication between departments, and it not only frustrates employees, but also customers.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      OE

      Apr 12, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      office, perks, spiffs, parking, PTO

      Cons

      management, mixed signals, work-life balance

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Jr. Account Executive

      Feb 24, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work with the new Management Team! My advice to anyone debating working at Outbound Engine is this, if you are willing to put the work in learning the script... you will go so far with this company! Management is here to help you and train you. Overall- Awesome group of people, energy, music playing, spiffs, snacks, catered lunch on Wednesday, benefits are covered, but most importantly the Director (Cody Frank) wants to help you grow.

      Cons

      Only Con I can think of (for someone) would be it's more of a modern feel with the open desk concept.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Senior Sales Associate

      Dec 12, 2016 - Senior Sales Associate in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great experience for someone trying to get into sales. Great for individuals that thrive on fast paced environments and the competitiveness about it keeps you going. Great spiffs, 2 weeks off for Christmas, awesome office and view. All in all, an excellent learning experience for green sales professionals, or someone who is always striving to sharpen their abilities.

      Cons

      It can feel like a boiler room at times, but that is what keeps the energy up

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales Associate

      Oct 24, 2016 - Sales Associate in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture with some great people. Cools spiffs on a weekly basis. Managers want to see their teams succeed and it shows. Ongoing training Team bonding

      Cons

      If you are OK with calling 200 people a day and hearing 199 people say no then this might be for you. Call center environment If you are in sales you will not stop calling people, frankly not the kind of thing for me, there are no administrative tasks

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Solid job for seasoned/proven sales associates

      Sep 1, 2016 - Sales Associate in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment, with quality training provided. Also the support from upper management is there at your finger tips. Keep in mind you have to make an effort to ask for help too. That is another great thing about this place it is very transparent. On another note solid starting pay, great work events, spiffs galore, catered lunches, and food filled kitchen.

      Cons

      Sink or swim...simple as that

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      National Sales Executive

      Apr 19, 2016 - Senior Sales Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I just had my one year anniversary this month (April) and it's the best company I've ever worked for. - Base pay advancement. I went from 32k base to 50k base in my first 12 months - Commission structure. (You can seriously make 3k-12k in commission every month) - Quarterly bonus. That adds up over the course of the year - Culture. I genuinely love working with so many people here. And I've built great friendships - Training. There is initial training and on-going training. You can get as much assistance as you want. - Growth. I was one of the original hires when we opened the office and there is opportunity for advancement and growing the company - Great benefits, great location, recognition, lots of office events, and lots of Spiffs. - (I've won a trip to San Diego and Seattle on the company. Thousands of dollars in cash, and more and my colleagues have won TV's, gaming systems and cash.

      Cons

      - Expect to work 50-55 hours first few months. It's not mandatory but I recommend it if you want to advance in your career quicker. I did that and it definitely paid off. - Our PTO is amazing but it is accrued. I wish we had set PTO days every year.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best sales environment

      May 30, 2014 - Sales Associate in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Constant motivation, spiffs,background music. and training. They provide a "Wolf of Wall Street" vibe. If you feed off energy you will love it.

      Cons

      The product is marginally useful for some of their clients. You will do very well if you believe in product and culture.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Work at OutboundEngine? Share Your Experiences

    OutboundEngine logo
    or