Oxford University Press Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Oxford University Press Reviews

Updated 15 de Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 505 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Nigel Portwood
190 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work culture and great work life balance(in 54 reviews)

  • "A nascent focus on change and digital transformation is going to make OUP an exciting (and career-defining) place to work for many people(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not OUP related but traffic is constant thorn in everyone's side(in 57 reviews)

  • "Very low pay, slow career progression, company slow to respond to market changes(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Associate Director Sales & Marketing ( North & International Markets)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time

    Pros

    Part of the university of Oxford, most ethical place to work.

    Cons

    Lost the market touch and not understanding new business dynamics.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-07-23

    Oxford University Press Response

    July 29, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thanks for sharing your experiences of working at OUP. If you’d like to share any further feedback, please get in touch via glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  2. "Employee center of company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Fare pay scales Brand image

    Cons

    Laid back attitude and not adaptive to change

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-07-30

    Oxford University Press Response

    August 2, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thanks for the review, and it’s great to hear feedback from a long-standing employee, such as yourself. We take on board your thoughts on salary too - though we are a non-profit organization with a clear mission, we are working with our global reward teams to review salaries across all markets. You can email glassdoor@oup.com if you want to expand on your review.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Editor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time

    Pros

    Good office space and location

    Cons

    Complicated processes and limited growth opportunities

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-06-23

    Oxford University Press Response

    June 25, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thanks for posting - if you would like to discuss your experiences further, please do email us at glassdoor@oup.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "good organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Control in Noida
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work with big heart

    Cons

    Big management , very slow decision making

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-06-22

    Oxford University Press Response

    June 25, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thank you for your review. It's great to read you feel we have heart - we believe this is due to our people and our mission. Thanks also for the feedback on management and decision making. You can reach us at glassdoor@oup.com if you would like to speak to us about your thoughts in more detail.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great cry little wool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer in Noida
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is company which is going to shut very soon.

    Cons

    It's a big name with low mentality people. They can't identify good talent. Never apphraises you or appreciates. People who please their managers can survive there.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-07-19

    Oxford University Press Response

    July 29, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, but are concerned by your comments around how our people are feeling. We would like the opportunity to speak to you more to understand your comments, so encourage you to get in touch via glassdoor@oup.com. We would also suggest contacting our confidential helpline - SpeakUpOUP@expolink.co.uk -if you have witnessed any unethical behaviour, so that we can look into it further.

    Continue reading
  6. "Solution Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Noida
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Work life balance easy

    Cons

    Not a good pay master

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-06-15

    Oxford University Press Response

    June 25, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to review us. If you want to add anything extra you can reach us at glassdoor@oup.com

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (7)

    "If editing only meant reshuffling chapters!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editorial Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Decent (apparent) working hours - Work-from- home is allowed at times

    Cons

    -Shuffling materials and no brain use whatsoever- by the end of two months you're a vegetable or a clockwork churning out faux copy-edited materials. -Working weekends is an implicit agreement. - Seniors laze around.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-05-20

    Oxford University Press Response

    May 31, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    It is disappointing to hear that you are not feeling fulfilled in your role here, and we understand the importance of feeling engaged and passionate about your work. We are also concerned to read your comment about weekend working. If you would like to talk to us confidentially about your experiences, or find out more about different career opportunities at OUP, please get in touch at glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "OUP India - No Longer Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Editor in New Delhi
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It has a recognised name

    Cons

    Top Management is not from Industry, and is clueless about publishing.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-06-14

    Oxford University Press Response

    June 25, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We were concerned to read your comments on management, though we appreciate the feedback. If you witnessed any behaviour you feel was unethical, please do consider reporting it to the independent helpline at SpeakUpOUP@expolink.co.uk. Alternatively, you can contact us confidentially at glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Tension free for mediocre work. Extremely tensed for dreamers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere Highly ethical Brand name Focus on employee training Amazing collegues

    Cons

    Riddlled with Red-tape Slow to change Internal processes are too rigid and impractical Less than competent marketing team

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-04-24

    Oxford University Press Response

    May 2, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We’re really pleased to hear that our brand, people, and ethical practices are something that have positively impacted your time at OUP, though we also note your thoughts on our change and processes. We are actively working to improve this around the organization, so if you would like to offer any extra detail in this regard we would love to hear from you - you can reach us at glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Calcutta
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary, Saturday off, good incentives

    Cons

    New management, only thinking of saving their own jobs, bad policy, extreme sales pressure

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-04-24

    Oxford University Press Response

    April 30, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts - we would like to understand more about your comments on management and policy, so if you would be happy to expand on this, you can email us at glassdoor@oup.com

    Continue reading
Found 505 reviews