PENFED Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

PENFED Credit Union Reviews

Updated 28 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
PENFED Credit Union President & CEO James Schenck
James Schenck
264 Ratings
Pros
  • "PenFed is a great place to work because they gave me my first opportunity of working for a financial institution in the United States(in 51 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, sick time that is separate from vacation time(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "PenFed is a great place to work as long as you are a dedicated and hard worker(in 47 reviews)

  • "Upper management impressed by buzz-words easily(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at PENFED Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great financial services and customer service

    Cons

    Training time is too long with not enough pay

    PENFED Credit Union2020-03-28
  2. "Good people, team dynamic strong."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Training Specialist in Eugene, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PENFED Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, work from home, collaborative-creative control with projects. Travel possibilities.

    Cons

    Communication between departments. Unreasonable/unfair training timeline expectations (not always).

    PENFED Credit Union2020-03-11

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    March 16, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    We're glad to know that you enjoy our collaborative environment, and feel a strong team dynamic!

    Continue reading
  3. "Employee Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Support Representative in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PENFED Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PenFed is a great place to work because they gave me my first opportunity of working for a financial institution in the United States. Very professional atmosphere . My manager has been very wonderful, I can go to him with any question and it would get answered. The great part of the job was helping the members & teammates and becoming someone they could come to with any questions. We always work as a team.

    Cons

    The hardest part has been too many changes with new systems and no training.

    PENFED Credit Union2020-03-09

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    March 16, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for your comments!

    Continue reading
  4. "It’s an ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Card Analyst in Eugene, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PENFED Credit Union full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They at least pay you, & offer overtime compensation.

    Cons

    Benefits are not the best, & it has become too much of a corporate atmosphere in the last few years. They don’t care about the employees as much as they use to. Overtime is sometimes required of you even on the weekends.

    Continue reading
    PENFED Credit Union2020-03-15

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    March 16, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    Thank you for your feedback! We work hard to ensure a positive workplace environment, and honest comments such as yours, make a difference.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Yes - This is how it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee - IT + in Tysons Corner, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PENFED Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people in mid-management and below

    Cons

    Confusion. Clueless. Millions (10+ and counting) wasted because executives wont listen to their employees. Its just sad.

    Continue reading
    PENFED Credit Union2020-03-24
  6. "Stable, Healthy, and Productive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Msr in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PENFED Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    competitive pay, health benefits, pet insurance, PTO, promotional opportunities, employee celebrations, clean facilities, and more

    Cons

    inconsistent communications infrastructure. Different positions have access to different programs and may not have access to the same programs as another department. Too Many Programs to use all at the same time. There needs to be a more efficient consolidation of programs and increase in cyber security.

    Continue reading
    PENFED Credit Union2020-02-03

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    February 18, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    Thank you so much for your review, and your candid feedback! Have a wonderful day.

    Continue reading
  7. "Overall Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Processor in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PENFED Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation plan. team culture. friendly, helpful management.

    Cons

    Lack of SOPs means everyone does things differently. Barely controlled chaos makes for a sometimes stressful work environment. They tend toward 'jump in and figure it out', rather than actual training.

    Continue reading
    PENFED Credit Union2020-02-03
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor/Consultant-card Fraud Investigations/Temporary Data Entry 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PENFED Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to work

    Cons

    None. Have nothing bad to say

    PENFED Credit Union2020-02-03
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative 

    I worked at PENFED Credit Union part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and company culture, good starting pay, benefits

    Cons

    They can improve by staying ahead on the latest technologies

    PENFED Credit Union2020-01-12

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    January 17, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    We work hard to ensure a positive workplace environment! Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. "HORRIBLE LIES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Escrow Officer in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PENFED Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is no reason to work for this company.

    Cons

    They talk about being a family, but the minute you challenge anything they dump you like yesterday's garbage. They are not open to hear input from underlings, if you are not a lemming don't bother.

    Continue reading
    PENFED Credit Union2020-02-14

    PENFED Credit Union Response

    March 2, 2020Military and College Recruiting Lead

    Thanks for your candid review. We appreciate your comments. We are sorry to hear your frustrations regarding your time here at PenFed.

    Continue reading
Found 393 reviews