PKF O’Connor Davies Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

PKF O’Connor Davies Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
PKF O’Connor Davies CEO Kevin Keane
Kevin Keane
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is pretty good for the most part too(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Especially during busy season, there are partners fighting over the staff/seniors/supervisors(in 4 reviews)

  • "Long hours in peak season but we get seamless(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and interesting clients, which will give you good experience in various fields.

    Cons

    Too much politics; compensation could be more competitive, especially for employees who are loyal to the company,

    Advice to Management

    Professionals should be fairly compensated for the hours they put during the year. Bonuses are laughable as well.

    PKF O’Connor Davies2019-06-26
  2. "A great mid sized accounting firm and an even better place to start your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Harrison, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people and family atmosphere. Doable busy season hours. Great experience and get to network with many. Competitive compensation and benefits.

    Cons

    Some “cliques”. Talking behind other’s backs seems to be quite common.

    PKF O’Connor Davies2019-06-12
  3. "PKF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people interesting work

    Cons

    Tax season is not normal.

    PKF O’Connor Davies2019-06-05
  4. "Senior Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time

    Pros

    Hands down the people. Everyone is also very willing to help and you learn A LOT. Work life balance is pretty good for the most part too.

    Cons

    No downsides, just your typical public accounting firm. Busy season hours are better here and flexible, option to work from home on Saturdays as well.

    PKF O’Connor Davies2019-01-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Harrison, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Standard accounting firm with average benefits.

    Cons

    Understaffed, nepotism and management caters to incompetent staff.

    PKF O’Connor Davies2018-12-09
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Staff Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time

    Pros

    Good starting pay Experience with different types of clients

    Cons

    Not so open door policy Not willing to train Very stiff office environment

    Advice to Management

    Dont accuse employees of nefarious acts without asking the employee what happened first, calling into question someones integrity and berating them after only working there for a month is not exactly the way to get the best out of someone.

    PKF O’Connor Davies2018-11-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mid sized but still has small firm feel Good name

    Cons

    Its a big deal if you work from home once in a blue moon Dont reward you for your CPA (They give you a one time bonus and not a salary bump)

    Advice to Management

    Let people work from home once in a blue moon Give people bumps for passing the CPA

    PKF O’Connor Davies2018-10-04

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    October 8, 2018Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you are having a positive experience! The Firm has a Flexible Work Option program available where employees are able to create a schedule that works best for them and for the respective practice area that they are in. We would ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time

    Pros

    Fast growth and nice coworkers

    Cons

    Learning caps, not encouraged as fully

    PKF O’Connor Davies2018-08-19
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Audit Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked out of the Harrison office so it was close to home and I didn’t have to travel into the city, other than that nothing.

    Cons

    If you are considering this company for your first position out of college I highly recommend you look elsewhere. The hours are standard for public accounting but at the staff/ senior level they will not allow any of the flexibility you get anywhere else. They can’t allow it because the partners & management do not trust employees and nor are they concern with their professional development. HR will agree with your...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You will continue to lose smart and hard working employees if you continue managing with the same mentality.

    PKF O’Connor Davies2018-09-12

    PKF O’Connor Davies Response

    October 8, 2018Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. Professional development is a top priority and we are looking to make significant enhancements soon firm wide at all levels. Also, the Firm has a Flexible Work Option program that lets employees ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Senior tax Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tax Accountant in Harrison, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PKF O’Connor Davies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, nice compensation and good chances for promotion

    Cons

    The off-season is very slow

    PKF O’Connor Davies2018-05-16
Found 65 reviews