PNC Financial Services Group Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 6 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
PNC Financial Services Group  President and Chief Executive Officer William S. Demchak
William S. Demchak
2,052 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some members of upper management made things unnecessarily stressful because they wanted to be promoted(in 173 reviews)

  • "Multitasking is essential in most jobs but this much work for so little pay left me with no work/life balance(in 145 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Decent firm with great track record"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Analyst in New Brunswick, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PNC Financial Services Group for less than a year

    Pros

    -clear support from upper management -hands on training with central message

    Cons

    -inability to transition roles -lack to reception to abilities and education of employees

    PNC Financial Services Group2020-05-06
  2. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Universal Banker in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PNC Financial Services Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits and culture.

    Cons

    Some members of upper management made things unnecessarily stressful because they wanted to be promoted.

    PNC Financial Services Group2020-03-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Stagnant positions and pay, incompetence is RAMPANT, and they do NOT care about their employees"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Call Center Representative 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PNC Financial Services Group for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay is alright depending on experience and education. But good luck getting a raise after that. They have benefits mainly good time off compared to most and many options for your schedule. Coworkers while lacking in ability are generally nice people and lower mgmt does seem to care as much as they're allowed to.

    Cons

    Incompetent coworkers EVERYWHERE. Lack of training in cross depts leaves a qualified few to pick up the pieces of everyone else mistakes. To the point you wonder how this bank keeps any customers. High turn over of employees. Very few opportunities to advance beyond a notch or two above a normal consultant. Benefits dont cover any costs with insurance. The upper management decisions and goals are set clearly by people who dont know the jobs being performed and has been steadily growing more and more away from employee friendly policies constantly squeezing more out of you while never paying you a penny more for it. Communication of important information and changes typically comes far too late. Directly witnessed failure of upper management to follow thru on promises of pay and incentives and no one seemed to care, border line wage theft. This might be a good place to get your foot in the door in your first career or so but most dont stay longer than 2 years or so for good reason. By then the company doesnt care to promote you or train you more than necessary. Your just a number to them.

    Continue reading
    PNC Financial Services Group2020-02-15
  4. "PNC is a good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Banker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PNC Financial Services Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PNC gives you exposure to great people and has great benefits.

    Cons

    Micro managed and upper management is oblivious to in branch needs.

    PNC Financial Services Group2020-01-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good People, Poor Culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BSSA II in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PNC Financial Services Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People I worked with were great! Compensation was decent with commissions allowing for a major bump to your overall pay.

    Cons

    Company culture seems fake from upper management. Top tier commissions very difficult to obtain but achievable. Politics tend to get in the way sometimes.

    PNC Financial Services Group2020-01-30
  6. "If you want to hate your life? Work here!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Sales and Service Representative in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PNC Financial Services Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    #1 - Branch support team was really helpful and professional. #2 - Healthcare decent, plus HSA incentives nice.

    Cons

    My branch Micro-manager liked to play favorites. Send me job ads from Indeed, then ask me why I was still there? Mgr. would talk about drama w/her husbands ex-wife. (That was superfun!) Upper management doesn't care how your being treated. All they care about is sales goals. I really liked the job but didn't like how they treated their lower rung employees.

    Continue reading
    PNC Financial Services Group2020-02-04
  7. "Stepping stone"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Universal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PNC Financial Services Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good for resume, unique experience, room for some growth, decent benefits

    Cons

    6 day work weeks in some regions, no overtime, upper management favored heavily over bankers and tellers, unrealistic goals to meet, micromanaging to the highest degree, some of the lowest pay in the industry, almost impossible to meet bonuses, very slow growth, and overall a company that couldn't care less about your overall well-being.

    PNC Financial Services Group2020-01-31
  8. "its cool.."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teller in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PNC Financial Services Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    brand promise, technolgy, products

    Cons

    mirco managed, upper management out of touch,

    PNC Financial Services Group2019-12-07
  9. "Friendly environment"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Personal Banker 

    I have been working at PNC Financial Services Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission structure is great compared to other banks

    Cons

    Upper management controls your every move

    PNC Financial Services Group2019-12-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "BSSR"

    3.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at PNC Financial Services Group full-time

    Pros

    15 vacation days, 6 sick days, 1 personal day Benefits are good.

    Cons

    Both upper management and branch management, pay is very low.

    PNC Financial Services Group2019-10-14
Found 211 reviews