Patelco Credit Union Reviews

Updated 12 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
67%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Patelco Credit Union President and Chief Executive Officer Erin Mendez (no image)
Erin Mendez
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits starting with health insurance and pto acrues if you don't use it to 240 I believe(in 17 reviews)

  • "Benefits are good, company offers fun events(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review

    "Believe in the Mission"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Solutions Specialist 
    Recommends

    I worked at Patelco Credit Union part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Mission and Vision, like working for a company where I am promoting a product I believe in

    Cons

    short staffed sometimes had to switch to teller

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    October 28, 2020Communications Specialist

    First of all, thank you for being there for our members, especially during this difficult time. And thank you for sharing your experience as a Patelco team member. We truly believe in taking care of our members and our team, especially during these uncertain financial times. Unfortunately, to meet the needs of our members (which has changed and continues to in response to the economy), we did have to temporarily shift roles throughout this year. Thank you for your flexibility and for the service you gave to Patelco and especially our members.

  2. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Culture, one team mindset, financial well-being for members and team members

    Cons

    There are no downsides. Great place to work!

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    January 12, 2021Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Patelco CU. We pride ourselves on our culture of people helping people, who are dedicated our mission. Thank you for being a part of the Patelco team!


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Solutions Specialist in Elk Grove, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Flexible with benefits. Treat employees well.

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to grow.

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    January 12, 2021Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to see that you feel treated well and have flexibility. We'd like to see our team members grow with us and do have a few options on ways that you could possibly grow with us. Please have a conversation with your manager about what your career could look like and take advantage of our free learning. Thank you for being part of the Patelco team.

  4. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Non incentive company that looks out for member financial health and well being

    Cons

    theres to be a system issue here and there

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    December 15, 2020Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your work experience at Patelco. As a credit union, we pride ourselves on being ethical and are truly dedicated to the best interests of our members, which is why we do not offer incentives. As we continue to grow and digital banking becomes more desirable, we have encountered some system issues. Please share your suggestions and observations through our Change Makers campaign - where we're asking our team to let us know how we can improve. Thank you for being a part of the Patelco team!

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not Profit"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Patelco Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The salary and benefits are great

    Cons

    A culture of gossip and not about what you know more about who you have in your corner

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    October 28, 2020Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking your time to share your experience as a Manager at Patelco. We do strive to have competitive salaries and benefits that will take care of our team, so thank you for recognizing that. The strength of our team is one of our greatest strengths, as our team usually echoes in surveys. Sorry that you had the unfortunate experience of gossip, as that is not supported and we hope you'll share this with your former team mates or manager. Thank you for your service at Patelco.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "The leadership team needs a lot of scrutiny"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    If you find the right people to work with, you are golden. You will learn a lot and be given opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    The C level at Patelco is very smart but the leadership team is short sighted. The VPs have their own agenda where it’s always a blame game and not about the company. Little do they care about their team members. When VPs are elected leaders for their businesses, they should truly represent leadership. But they are instilling a lot of toxicity with their selfish agenda within team members.

    Continue reading

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    October 28, 2020Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your very honest and candid perspective of working as a Manager at Patelco. Without knowing which part of the organization you worked in, it's difficult to respond. We believe in continuous learning and empower our leaders with tools to help them lead and grow. If you would like to share feedback more specifically about your experience, we would appreciate it by contacting Suzanne Rumsey, VP of Talent. Thank you again for your service at Patelco.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Part Time Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Dublin, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Patelco Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, I had a good team, good part time work

    Cons

    Not many areas for growth

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    October 28, 2020Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your service at Patelco Credit Union. We want our team members to grow with us, on a path that they are passionate about which is why we encourage our employees to have open and honest conversations with their managers on a continuous basis. We're sorry if this was not your experience, but hope you will continue to share your career aspirations with whoever your manager is!

  8. "OK but wouldn't stay forever"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Patelco Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, HQ is very nice

    Cons

    Outdated systems and vendors in place

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    August 12, 2020Communications Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your perspective on working at Patelco. We are making many upgrades to our systems so that we can meet and exceed our members' financial needs, this includes our vendors. Please talk with your manager or leader about any suggestions you have and help us improve this experience for members and our team. Thank you.

  9. "Solutions Nightmare."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dublin, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Patelco Credit Union

    Pros

    New location is in a commutable area

    Cons

    I lasted only couple of weeks. The person who trained me was horrible it was like being in high school she was bad mouthing all of the other employees. They were not prepared to train me.

    Continue reading

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    March 10, 2020Communications Specialist

    We're sorry to hear your experience with Patelco was short and did not meet your expectations. Some departments are responsible for training new members of their team and without knowing which department, it's difficult to determine which training path. Our HR onboarding partners and your manager would have been excellent resources, which we recommend in new team member orientation on day one. If you're open to sharing which department, we would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with them. Thank you for sharing your experience.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Worst company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Patelco Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No pros for this shady company

    Cons

    Patelco is operating shady business by just opening accounts without members consent and just looking to bring in new business which ever way they can in a wrong way. Patelco soon will get in some real trouble like Wells Fargo did. If you want to ruin your career join Patelco.

    Continue reading

    Patelco Credit Union Response

    February 25, 2020Communications Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your review and perceptions as a Patelco team member. As a member-owned credit union, we are committed to promoting the highest standards of ethical conduct, and we hold our team accountable for acting with the upmost of integrity. We purposefully do not reward our team with production bonuses or commissions (based on the number of accounts they open) because we do not want to encourage this type of behavior. As part of our onboarding, compliance training and throughout a team member’s career at Patelco, we reinforce and encourage the reporting of any unethical behavior, such as this, to their manager, Human Resources or our Ethics Hotline. We would appreciate learning more about your observations and any other information you would like to share by contacting Suzanne Rumsey, VP, Talent. Thank you.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 113 English Reviews