Paycom "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Paycom Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Paycom President Chad Richison
Chad Richison
1,024 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helpfulness of people; the blessings of a parking garage; great benefits -(in 90 reviews)

  • "There are so many benefits to working at Paycom, from the catered lunches to the free goodies every 3 months(in 84 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/ life balance- which has improved tremendously since I have been employed here(in 112 reviews)

  • "Occasional long hours to meet your numbers(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to plant roots and grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Paycom

    Pros

    $1 healthcare Catered lunches Team environment Fast growth = numerous opportunities for personal/ professional development and career growth

    Cons

    Work/ life balance- which has improved tremendously since I have been employed here.

    Continue reading
    Paycom2020-02-12

    Paycom Response

    February 13, 2020Paycom Representative

    We appreciate your feedback, and we will be sure to share this with our leadership team! Thank you for being a part of the Paycom family!

    Continue reading
  2. "Amazing Place to Be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relations Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Earning potential, training, leadership. I love my team and colleagues, we celebrate each other’s wins as much as our own. I truly love my career.

    Cons

    Some say work life balance but you can achieve that in strong personal management. I have not found that to be a problem.

    Continue reading
    Paycom2020-01-30

    Paycom Response

    January 31, 2020Paycom Representative

    We're thrilled that you are enjoying your career at Paycom! Thank you for sharing!

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Atmosphere and Amazing People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transition Specialist in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paycom is a company that truly cares about its people. The TSR department in particular is constantly looking for ways to grow and develop as individuals, offices, and as an entire department. You can always count on your feedback to be heard and implemented. The Pittsburgh office is a very tight-knight group, who gets along and works well together. If you are willing to work hard, there are a lot of opportunities for extra compensation. Management has the perfect balance of being involved and supportive but not micro-managing in projects. Overall, awesome place to work.

    Cons

    It is a very fast-paced environment and can sometimes involve long hours. Time management and good work-ethic are key if you want to be successful and maintain a good work-life balance!

    Continue reading
    Paycom2020-01-30

    Paycom Response

    January 31, 2020Paycom Representative

    We appreciate the great review! We're so glad you are enjoying your team up in Pittsburgh! Thank you for being a part of Paycom's success!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Abusive Work Environment - Take Your Sales Ability Anywhere Else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Paycom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job if you have daddy issues and like to be in an abusive work relationship. You can make decent money, but by the time you factor in the long-work hours (no work-life balance) and the emotional distress of working for a company who will fire you at the drop of a hat if you aren't bought into the cult environment... just go find another job (there are plenty out there!). Especially if you're good at sales - there's so many better opportunities! Don't work here if you're bad or unsure of your sales ability because that's a recipe for instant firing.

    Cons

    Speaking of firing, once you get hired you go through what they call a "training program" which is essentially an extended interview process. It is well known as you go through training that if you don't set a certain number of meetings and hit specific metrics, you will get fired, and many people in my training class did. If you make it past training, and even IF you are selling and at or above quota, if you don't take the abuse from the 14+ year Dallas Manager (why they have a manager who's been in the same role for that many years is beyond me), metrics will be created out of thin air so you WILL get fired. You are bought-in, smile on your face every day or you are OUT. It truly is an emotionally abusive experience. You are expected to make 8 hours of dials a week, which it's sales, so that's fine - and run a significantly high volume of in person meetings you are driving all over DFW to attend - you essentially throw any hope of a normal work life balance out the window. Not to mention they "forget" to tell you when you interview you are required to get to the office at 7am for pointless team meetings and leave at 5pm or later running meetings. Working here IS selling your soul for money. I've been there, I've made the money, then you wise up and realize if you are talented at sales, there are MANY companies who will pay you JUST AS GOOD OR BETTER (in my experience) and you can hit your goals in 40 hour work weeks and be treated with respect - treated like a human, and have your life back. You're not a slave to money, which doesn't bring joy. You are a number here and are playing a popularity contest every day you show up at the office. It's really degrading to people in general - potential hires come in and get openly talked bad about, management talks to sales reps about other sales reps, it's just overall evil. They are trying to be this huge corporation and if you want to the the bottom feeder they abuse to reach the top, go for it. But that's exactly what they do to sales at this company. They don't care about you, your life or your well-being, even if you're performing if your personality "rubs them the wrong way" - which if you aren't incredibly shallow, you will rub them the wrong way. The management is the biggest problem here. Also, you sell C-levels that trust you on this "premium" product, but good luck even getting your payroll specialist to show up to run the payroll someone just paid 5 figures for you to facilitate. Personally, as a sales professional, I can't sell things I don't believe in, and while the product has benefits, you are lying to clients about this smooth transition when Paycom WILL mess up their payroll and if you try to get help or support internally YOU are seen as the problem. They don't care about their clients, which eventually, will catch up to them. They have built existing success taking advantage of their salesforce and clients. Even the sales people that still work there who make significant income I talk to complain to me regularly about how much they hate their day to day and they know they need to leave but they "don't get paid until their payroll runs in 3 months," and the cycle continues. There are SO many other sales organizations to work for - RUN! (and you'll notice they try to hire a lot out of college to take advantage of kids who literally don't have any perspective or know better - it's very sad)

    Continue reading
    Paycom2020-02-08
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Worked there for 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Relations Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team culture and very optimistic goal centered work environment.

    Cons

    No work life balance - after hitting president's club I'm still asked weekly what sales I'm bringing in as if I'm still on the chopping block. Almost daily reports are pulled to show what you're NOT doing and this take up so much time to try scheduling meetings just to check a box that it takes away from our time actually selling. Most of the times those clients we are required to meet with are not a sales opportunity.

    Continue reading
    Paycom2019-11-23

    Paycom Response

    November 26, 2019Paycom Representative

    Thank you for the review and feedback. We are glad that you are enjoying the culture and goal-centered work environment at Paycom. As an employee-focused organization, we appreciate you sharing your experiences with us. We hope you also share these thoughts with your leaders and your HR business partner through the established communication channels. If you have additional feedback that you would like to share with the leadership team, please feel free to contact us at feedback@paycomonline.com. Thank you for being a part of our team!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Always Hiring for a Reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Paycom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cheap individual insurance. $1 per pay period.

    Cons

    Unqualified Leadership No work/life balance Lack of proper training Poor management The entire company is a rumor mill

    Continue reading
    Paycom2019-12-01

    Paycom Response

    December 3, 2019Paycom Representative

    We are sad to learn that you are unhappy with your time at Paycom. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share it with our leadership team. We wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (17)

    "Do Your Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Paycom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have the opportunity to make a lot of money (don't worry, you'll be reminded of that everyday, 10x a day). Training is extensive, but very well done and informative. You can meet some really great people, and the opportunity to be promoted quickly is at your disposal. The health benefits are great and extremely cheap. In terms of income, you will crush it, IF you survive.

    Cons

    Be prepared to be treated like nothing more than a body who generates revenue. Even when you are doing exceptionally well, you will fear for your job security every single day. Managers will stroke your ego one day, and the next you're on the chopping block for something insignificant. There is absolutely no flexibility. Ever. Work-life balance will be thrust down your throat as a mission of the company, but they won't do anything about it. The PTO policy is next to nothing, but don't worry, you'll be too afraid to use it. Be willing to receive texts from your office group chat from 6 a.m. until 11 p.m. I saw amazing, hard-working, intelligent people cry daily. This job took my soul out of me and by the time I left, I didn't even recognize myself. Just know what you're getting yourself into. If making a ton of money at the cost of your sanity and soul is worth it to you, by all means go for it - you have the opportunity. Just do your homework first, the negative reviews are here for a reason.

    Paycom2019-10-08

    Paycom Response

    October 11, 2019Paycom Representative

    We’re sorry to see your experience at Paycom wasn’t more positive. We understand that our current growth and vigorous dedication to innovation and improvement may result in employees feeling outside of their comfort zone. We hope you shared your feedback in your exit interview. While we disagree with many of the statements you have made, we appreciate your feedback and the contributions you’ve made to the organization.

    Continue reading
  8. "Junior Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paycom for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay and training program. Learned the ins and outs of B2B Sales and the importance of prospecting and cold calling for a top notch tech company.

    Cons

    Promises that are unkept and very cut throat. There is no work life balance in this company.

    Continue reading
    Paycom2019-10-29
  9. "Wonderful opportunity for motivated workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Developer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Variety of work but consistent expectations, huge room for growth/advancement, learning culture, quarterly reviews and continuous feedback going both directions, paid family leave, $1 health insurance (for the employee only), $4 lunches (two "hearty" options and two "healthy" options), on-site gym with professionally led classes and sports leagues

    Cons

    The work/life balance is difficult for some departments but not all! Not everyone values the "extras" like the gym and parties but we're paid well and have flexible vacation too so it's hard to complain.

    Continue reading
    Paycom2019-10-10

    Paycom Response

    October 11, 2019Paycom Representative

    Thank you for sharing the reasons you love working at Paycom with others!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 

    I have been working at Paycom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    $$$$ is insane, awesome commission structure

    Cons

    Work-life balance, micromanagement, turnover, lack of development, did I mention turnover? Terrible culture

    Paycom2019-10-16

    Paycom Response

    October 22, 2019Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to learn that you are enjoying certain aspects of your Paycom experience. While we do not agree with all of your statements, we hope that you are sharing this feedback with the designated communication channels available. We appreciate your feedback and we will share it with the leadership team.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 112 reviews