Paylocity Employee Reviews about "account manager"

Updated 19 Sep 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
87%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Paylocity President & CEO Steve Beauchamp
Steve Beauchamp
1,102 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "account manager"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Too much work!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time

    Pros

    Love the culture, the people I work with and my leads and managers. Everyone in client services has been working really hard to get through the craziness of the last year.

    Cons

    Unrealistic work expectations. As an account manager, I’m the only one at Paylocity that talks to clients. No other teams pick up the phone and talks to clients. So what does that mean? I’m taking over 30 calls and emails a day. And I’m switching between calls and emails all day long, making it almost impossible to focus on one thing at a time. And you want me to answer all my emails in 4 hours and attend trainings and meetings, and learn all the new products we release and give great customer service? When do I have the time? It’s an unreasonable amount of work to expect from employees. No wonder why people are quitting or everyone who stays says it’s too much work. I’ve been here for a while and I see it getting worse each year.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    September 18, 2020Paylocity

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Paylocity puts a lot of effort into ensuring all employees feel appreciated and your review will be shared with leadership.

  2. Helpful (5)

    "The Good, the Bad, & the Ugly"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager II in Lake Mary, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paylocity will teach you a plethora of things about payroll, taxes, and business. They will also hire those with no payroll experience and give you a chance to learn it.

    Cons

    Workload: This job is extremely stressful; the workload is probably the worst of it. You will start with a list of over 100 clients, but it does not stop there. Every week it seems, there are two or three new clients that are added to an Account Manager; staffing simply cannot keep up with the influx of new clients. There is a form of training the clients go through before they are handed over to an account manager to ensure they know the basics of payroll and our system. The Sales team tries so hard to cram new clients in and get the sale, and the actual Implementation team is so understaffed, you have uninformed and inexperienced clients being placed under your belt, that you are now responsible for training on your own; this is in addition to everything else that you have to accomplish for the week. Communication and Ownership: There is a very strong culture of "not my client" in this place. The expectation is that all account managers work as a team, so any calls or cases that you get from someone else's client, you should treat it as your own. This does NOT happen; your team will do the bare minimum to get rid of the responsibility, leaving your client upset and having even more questions/problems. Everyone clearly has way too much on their plate regarding their own client list; there is simply no time to handle someone else's. End of Year is a big deal in payroll. At Paylocity, account managers are not allowed to request time off during the months of October through February of the next year. You will receive phone calls back-to-back with no break in between, all while emails flood into your dashboard. You are responsible for all of it. Clients: These are business-owners or employees that were hired to handle a company's payroll/HR functions. It would be assumed that these people have basic knowledge about business, tax, and payroll. Assume nothing. It is baffling how little the clients know about tax laws and filing; they are also completely unaware of how payroll even works. And when they severely mess up something in their account, who is responsible? The account manager. You will even advise the client to DO or NOT DO something, but they do not heed your warning and royally mess up their payroll. It is now the account manager's responsibility to fix it.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    October 5, 2020Paylocity

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Paylocity puts a lot of effort into ensuring all employees feel appreciated and your review will be shared with leadership.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Meridian, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paylocity is a growing company so the workload is high. Although they have a lot of grace when you make mistakes and they provide you with many options for assistance for when you need help (which is often in this job). They know they push you so they give you the necessary support to do the job well. The balance at the company is very good. Whenever I have a life situation come up that I need to deal with, the managers are always more than happy to hear me out and adjust my schedule or make other emends to help me out so that I can take care of things outside of work. Here at Paylocity you are a valued human being and a lot of good people work here. You are not just a worker. Literally anyone you ask for help will drop what they are doing and help you when you are struggling. Great environment.

    Cons

    The workload is high and you have to deal with a lot of tough situations and deal with horrible clients at times. That being said it is a little disappointing with how little account managers are paid considering how much we go through, the horrible clients that we have to deal with at times, and all the crap we have to deal with for the company. Not to mention the company depends on AMs for existence. That being said, this does not take away from the company though - awesome company and I enjoy working here!

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    September 18, 2020Paylocity

    Our management here at Paylocity is amazing as they believe in the potential of every team member reaching their fullest potential! Balance is key to allowing this to all be possible with schedules and workloads to prove that all are valued.

  4. Helpful (6)

    "Not valued as a top-performer."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Remote life, paid time off flexibility, benefits.

    Cons

    Pay. As someone who consistently performs almost the highest, if not the highest, every quarter, being paid less than other coworkers is disheartening. Because of the timing of the original hire date and pay rate versus the others, I am being paid less than my peers though I have and contributed above and beyond on a very normal basis. My experience and knowledge is practically unmatched but am not rewarded for this besides a value impression here or there. HR states that I am in "the range" and are not taking into consideration my actual efforts. On an internal level, management is extremely slow at listening and taking any sort of action to alleviate the workload and stress. Years of stating what was wrong, they finally sent out a survey so we can provide insight of our day-to-day and process improvements. We have yet to hear back over a month. Communication still lacks--managers not responding to e-mails due to petty reasons or no reason at all is extremely unprofessional. Client-first mentality has warped into bending over backwards for every account manager request, even if unnecessary causing a waste of resources.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    August 28, 2020Paylocity

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Paylocity puts a lot of effort into ensuring all employees feel appreciated and your review will be shared with leadership. We’re always striving to get better and your review is helpful for us on that journey.  

  5. COVID-19
    Helpful (9)

    "Work any job but Customer Service"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly consistent schedule Your peers are generally great to work with Team outings Full Remote Positions

    Cons

    Kool-aid mentality: With the introduction of the new values, feedback and mentality from leadership is always sort of cliche around “Drink our own wine” or “Be Unbeatable Together”. When genuine concerns and feedback is brought to the attention of leadership/HR, these types of responses end up being dismissive of the persons attempts to help facilitate a conversation. Live a value for sure, don’t drown us in it. Stress, Stress, stress - I would never recommend the Account Manager role to anyone. I’ve seen good friends and people breakdown in tears at their desk (year round, not just a year end issue), great CSM leaders are in short supply, and knowledge resources available are subpar. PEAK information is never updated timely enough to account for process or product changes. Incorrect information plagues the articles as well. Training - The new hire training is built around “perfect world” scenarios but there is nothing “perfect” of the scenarios you’ll encounter daily. Basic troubleshooting is not taught nor deescalation processes for clients. There’s a difference between explaining how the system is “supposed” to work and explaining what you can expect to encounter. Procedures - Internal Procedures lack any sort of standardization which makes doing your daily job difficult. One department may require a separate ticket for every single company where another department doesn’t. Some you email, some you can’t. Some work in sales force while others don’t. Use salesforce but don’t make a ticket. Trying to keep 10+ departments procedures straight is tough. Especially when you’re busy servicing all your clients. Do it wrong and you have to restart your entire process all over again. Delayed results = angry clients = stress, stress, stress. Sales Team: Overpromises, no true understanding of system. Leaves IC and AM to do damage control and clean up. They still get their commission checks though so no incentive for them to be better.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    July 31, 2020Paylocity

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Paylocity puts a lot of effort into ensuring all employees feel appreciated, and your review will be shared with leadership. We’re always striving to get better and your review is helpful for us on that journey.

  6. "Company Culture is great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Schaumburg, IL
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paylocity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture, benefits, co workers are diverse and friendly.

    Cons

    The account manager position is extremely stressful. It's difficult to keep up, but your teammates help you out if you get behind.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    August 28, 2020Paylocity

    Yes, Paylocity does have the most amazing culture, benefits, and people! This is what sets us apart in our industry. True, there are peak times throughout the year being an account manager. These are times when your teammates play a key role in supporting us and assisting us through peak times. Supportive Teammates are the best!

  7. Helpful (7)

    "Understaffed and Micromanaged"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paylocity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good Free snacks, team engagement, and semi frequent swag

    Cons

    The current job is unreasonable. Paylocity is adding clients quicker than they can hire Account Manager and it results in overworked and underappreciated employees. They do hire frequently but not enough to accommodate the new business and the high turnover of employees who leave the company. Burnout is common and leadership micromanages to the point of misery. Every second of your day is watched (down to bathroom/water breaks) and acceptable metrics are impossible to achieve. Very little support or assistance from leadership.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    June 24, 2020Employment Branding Coordinator

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, and for allowing us the chance to address your concerns. Also, the benefits, snacks and swag definitely add to the fun of working for such a cool company! Paylocity puts a lot of effort into ensuring all employees feel appreciated, and leadership sets the tone of our company. We are concerned to hear you felt underappreciated, and about the lack of leadership in your area of work. We are always striving to get better and will keep our promise to our employees of listening to them so that we can continue to evolve and improve.

  8. Helpful (8)

    "Call Center In Disguise"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services Account Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paylocity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits offered to employees are really, really good, almost good enough to make me want to stay. We had a lot of stress and increased volume of calls and emails during the release of FFCRA legislation, but upper management gave us an extra day's vacation time. My coworkers were great. There were a lot of perks and lots of swag. The training was good, though it's impossible to learn everything in the short allotted time that is given to you. Management seems to care about you and wants the best for you (or at least, mine did). I got feedback often, and it was very clear what I needed to do to improve. I like the company itself.

    Cons

    As an "account manager," you will do very little actual managing of accounts. They tell you it's not really a call center, but it sure felt like one. Back to back calls with exactly one minute in between them on the busiest days, with a 15-minute break roughly every two hours and a one-hour lunch break in the middle of your shift. There is no time to take care of any ongoing issues that need to be worked on those days, you have to just hope that the next day will be a little easier and less busy so you can get stuff done. You get 2 hours of "project time" per week where you can be off the phones and work on things like long term projects, but that isn't enough time when you are still learning your job and learning the ropes. Your availability (meaning time that you are available to receive calls) is monitored, and you are expected to answer new emails within 4 hours. You are also expected to completely take care of any issues that clients call in about from start to finish - even if they aren't one of your assigned clients, and even if they are huge and complex and will take a while to complete. I kind of wondered what the point of having assigned clients was since this was the case. Meanwhile, the Sales execs are using the "dedicated Account Manager" spiel as a huge selling point to our clients, and the smaller, lower revenue clients definitely don't feel as though they have a go-to person, which results in unmet expectations, which leads to unhappy clients. The thing that really sucks is that being an Account Manager is one of the only ways to get your foot in the door at Paylocity, but it's not a good fit for everyone. There are other positions in the company that might be, but you'll have to tough it out through the call center environment for a couple of years first. Without the call center aspect of this job, I would have liked it a lot and would have stayed for many years. But I just got to where I dreaded answering the phone because of negative experiences with clients who were impatient, rude, demanding, and wanting to complain at someone, and that doesn't jive with my personality at all. It also sucks when these irate people are looking to you for answers and you don't have them and sometimes no one does.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    June 8, 2020Employment Branding Coordinator

    Yes, our leadership does care and only wants the best for us as team members. Glad to know your experience was a good one with our leaders and your co-workers while you were here. The perks and swag are great too! As an account manager, your daily work is extremely important to the overall success of Paylocity and can be a full work schedule. True, not every position if a good for fit for everyone. Our goal is to give everyone the opportunity to learn, so what they’re passionate about, all to help us help our clients create better places to work. Thank you for your honest feedback.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Review of Paylocity"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diverse culture, having the opportunity to meet many people. The ability to work remotely.

    Cons

    Constant changes with not enough training at times. I don't feel that everyone gets a chance to broaden their knowledge of products and processes, and "favorites" are selected. There aren't too many internal promotions for Account Managers so many look at other companies for employment.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    June 8, 2020Employment Branding Coordinator

    Yes, the opportunity to be remote has been amazing especially during this time. Our culture is diverse, which is something we’ve always believed to be important and something we continue to focus on, because it is a key part of making us stronger and better. There is constant change as an Account Manager as you are meeting the needs of our client with all of their requests and demands. Your daily work is extremely important to the overall success of Paylocity as you are the key part of how we help our clients be successful!

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company, but hard work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager III in Lake Mary, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, culture, and opportunity. This company really is an amazing company to work for and I feel lucky. Everyone is very supportive and will help you to reach your goals in the company. There is a lot of transparency and I love that we can speak with our executives.

    Cons

    There are not many Cons. Being an account manager is hard work, because a lot is expected of and you're on the front lines when it comes to managing customers. If you're coming in as an account manager just know you need to be organized and have project management skills.

    Paylocity Response

    May 4, 2020Employment Branding Coordinator

    Absolutely! We are so lucky to work for leadership that believes in us and is supportive of our goals. This creates amazing opportunities for us on a daily basis to be challenged and be problem-solvers. The transparency has been especially visible during this time we are in now. I look forward to the Friday executive Q&A’s and that we can submit questions to them for these sessions. Yes, being an account manager is hard especially during year end and now. There is much expected of you since you are so connected with our clients, but you’re also the reason why our clients lean on us for support, especially during times like these. Thank you for being part of our team!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 English Reviews