Pearson Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Pearson Reviews

Updated 15 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Pearson CEO John Fallon
John Fallon
1,263 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management did not act in accordance to the core values they espoused(in 133 reviews)

  • "Senior management puts it on ground level employees to influence culture and middle management are not bought in to company values(in 88 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager in Bangalore

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance and very good team Employee friendly and a lot of events and celebrations with goodies

    Cons

    I found no cons during my tenure

    Pearson2019-09-26
  2. "Great work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    I have worked with Pearson for 4 years. Good workplace and have opportunity to work with distributed agile teams across India.

    Cons

    Lack of digital product vision

    Pearson2019-11-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Regional Lead Academics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Consultant in Calcutta
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Learning opportunities on the job. The company culture welcomes a diverse work force.

    Cons

    The Company is exiting the K12 direct delivery sphere very soon. So need to move on.

    Advice to Management

    Better HR practices.

    Pearson2019-08-28
  4. "Intensive work - good professional growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Lead in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Contemporary technologies World changing - in a beautiful domain - education A lot of trust and good work culture Good learning resources available

    Cons

    Formal employee growth plans not in place, employee has to figure it out himself

    Advice to Management

    Good freedom but encourage employees to plan their personal and professional growth in the company

    Pearson2019-08-12
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Content Writer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Facilities are excellent in the Pearson office.

    Cons

    Learning and empowerment of employees not happening here; also quality enhancement of the educational publications based on principles was not done, had a very superficial and disappointing experience

    Pearson2019-08-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Worst HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    Had brand name in the past

    Cons

    Autocratic managers with indifferent HR

    Pearson2019-09-11
  7. "Pathetic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pearson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing good as per my knowledge

    Cons

    No stability no direction complete controlled by us

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire people without planning

    Pearson2019-09-03
  8. "Academics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pearson full-time

    Pros

    Ethos and policy of the company.

    Cons

    Lack of communication among the different verticals

    Pearson2019-07-27
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to learn new things

    Cons

    Less opportunities to grow, slow growth

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    Pearson2019-08-08
  10. "Editor - Acquisitions - Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pearson full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. No Micro Monitoring (or) Policing 2. Target set at the beginning of the year and periodical reviews are conducted to motivate and help an individual to achieve the target 3. Abundant scope given for R & D of new product development and on justifying the outcome, investment are provided for new product development.

    Cons

    Nothing very specific (from my views)

    Pearson2019-06-29
Found 3806 reviews