Penguin Recruitment Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 15 reviews

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Penguin Recruitment Director  Jim Richardson
Jim Richardson
6 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Enjoyed my time here

    Mar 12, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Swansea, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good office banter/team environment, hard work is rewarded accordingly, generous monthly incentives, healthy living/being active is promoted within, weekly incentives such as early darts & sporting lunches.

    Cons

    Parking, Micromanagement at times, the training & development needs to be more structured and Client/Business Development training is lacking, progression into senior positions is unclear, CRM and recruitment tools can be considered outdated.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Penguin Recruitment

    Apr 13, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Swansea, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work on a daily basis

    Cons

    Not any cons I can think of

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    new

    Apr 3, 2021 - Project Manajer in Moscow
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    salary work entertaiment event work

    Cons

    work salary taime mine solo

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Honest Review

    Jul 22, 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Birmingham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are some of the best I've ever worked with, there is a friendly office environment & everybody pulls in the same direction/helps one another. The commission structure is great- I was able to buy a house in my first year of working here. Monthly Incentives top up your earnings and enable you to make an extra few hundred pounds on top of your salary too (as well as comms). Early finishes on Fridays for hitting target Monthly group incentives are also good- fancy dinners, trips away etc.

    Cons

    Long hours & does take time to gain trust from management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Goodness

    Mar 8, 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Swansea, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Can get very steamy and erotic

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A great company to work for. I'm into my third year and still enjoying it...

    Oct 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Swansea, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -The company offer internal and external training to develop us -I feel the commission scheme is strong. I like that it increases with time in employment and performance -Pay rises based on performance and merit -The staff. We have a great team and lots of fun -Promotions on performance/merit -Excellent incentives. I have won a Michelin star meal, spa retreat, an Ipad, champagne, GoPro and more -The company offer early finishes based on team/company targets being achieved -2 hour sporting lunches that encourages fitness and well-being -Regular company team building activities (White water rafting, paint balling, bowling, kayaking etc.) -Seaside location. You can get an ice cream for lunch!

    Cons

    -Recruitment can be long hours, but that's the nature of recruitment -Lack of parking on site -The roller-coaster of sales can be tough but you learn to develop thick skin quickly

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    A decent place to learn the 360 recruitment ropes

    Jul 18, 2017 - Recruitment Consultant in Birmingham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Due to the 360 nature of the job Penguin is actually a great place to cut your recruitment teeth - you have to do everything bar chasing payments - so you learn quickly how to do advertising campaigns, searches, the interview process, offer management, Canvassing for business etc... It sets you up well for your next job in recruitment. There are decent team incentives - days out, sporting events, Lavish Meals, go-karting etc. A good place to make friends.

    Cons

    There was a culture of checking / micromanagement which came from the very top. Regular 'business updates', internal emails being monitored etc Being a smallish firm it's a very flat structure and with a settled management team in place it is hard to progress beyond being a good billing consultant. I was often distracted by petty battles amongst management as to which radio station was playing, whether doors windows were open or closed, whether food stuffs were in the office bin rather than the kitchen bin etc

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Penguin Recruitment Response

    Owner

    Thank you for the review. My colleagues and I appreciate the positive comments around the manner in which we both train and develop our new consultants to enhance their recruitment skills and knowledge. This is important to us. It’s also pleasing to see that you enjoyed the incentives and activities that we organise. I’m a firm believer in rewarding staff and in trying to build a strong team ethic and such activities help achieve that in my opinion. Obviously I’m disappointed to hear that you felt that some of our management processes were not to your liking. However, I have a duty of care to fellow staff and our clients and as such I will not shy away from following up on complaints of inappropriate emails being sent from the company email account – for example. We have worked hard to build a strong position in the market place and a strong brand reputation so I really make no apologies for protecting that. We try our best to reward and recognise good performers and I believe there are great career prospects at Penguin for those that do perform well and meet our expectations in terms of representing the company and respecting fellow employees. I had thought this was communicated to all staff, but I’m sorry if this wasn’t clear to you during your time here. We will work to address that. I wish you all the best in your new venture.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent Incentives and a fun office environment!

    Nov 11, 2016 - Lead Consultant in Swansea, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Penguin offer exciting team building activities, substantial bonus scheme and great incentives! Most recently team building activities have included trampolining, white water rafting and climbing. Penguin also offer monthly incentives which really pushes you to hit targets! This weekend I am going to watch an Autumn International Rugby Game in the Millennium Stadium courtesy of Penguin Recruitment and I have previous had 2 Jeroboams of Champagne and a new TV!! The team are also really friendly and supportive!

    Cons

    Sales targets do not appeal to everyone but I love a challenge!!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    An experience...

    Jul 17, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The staff- resilient despite the madness and always offering support to each other, had some great times with them in the office and outside. The 'pod skippers' - calling these people managers would lead you to thinking they actually manage, but this is done from the top. However, the managers I had the pleasure of working with were superb characters and a big help day-to-day. Some incentives worth praising, notably at Christmas and the 'raffles' - it's just a shame that they don't go far enough though. Good launch pad for a recruitment career elsewhere - you learn the hard way. The ping pong table.

    Cons

    Micromanagement from the top - the managers have little influence, you know everything comes from above them and the frequent 'business updates' leave you little time to recruit. Being called Penguins repeatedly. Lack of career progression.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Penguin Recruitment Response

    Owner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We would of course prefer all our employees to build a long career at Penguin, but I fully accept the reality of the competitive, commercial world we live in and that a percentage of people come and go in every organisation. We do have quite a unique culture, accepted. We purposefully chose to create an organisation that had an element of fun about it and wasn’t too corporate in its style. I believe the majority of people enjoy that culture, but I totally understand that it may not be for everyone. A couple of the points you reference are from several years ago and have already been addressed within the organisation so I won’t dwell on them here. I’m pleased to see that you considered the managers to be ‘superb characters and a big help’, but somewhat disappointed that you then mention they have little influence. I tend to believe that it is their character and level of support (that you mention) that makes them influential in the workplace. We certainly appreciate their work so I’ll have a think about addressing your point internally in case I’m missing something. The current management team have progressed into those roles internally and we encourage all staff to work towards career advancement targets. Our business has grown (and can only continue to grow) if we bring talented individuals through from consultant to manager and that is something that we will continue to work on. Thanks also for praising the incentive schemes. That’s an integral part of the way we work – offering activity days, prizes, lunches and so on to individuals and the entire team. And yes, the Christmas shopping giveaway is always popular (who wouldn’t like being given up to £1,000 to go shopping on a work day!). I’m not sure on your point that the raffles don’t go far enough though – we gave away a Sonos sound system and £1,000 holiday after all – but as usual we’ll discuss the incentive options with team members in case there is a lesson to be learned there. Finally, may I wish you all the best in your future career.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Going from strength to strength....

    Mar 28, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great earning potential with generous rewards. They say a workplace is nothing without good people and this place certainly has some of the best people I've had the pleasure of working with. Also the directors have made a big push forward to grow individual's career prospects as well as business through continual money and time investment!

    Cons

    Long working hours, however this is made better by the early finishes, end of month incentives and late starts we are regularly rewarded with.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

Work at Penguin Recruitment? Share Your Experiences

Penguin Recruitment logo
or