PeopleAdmin Reviews

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
PeopleAdmin Chief Executive Officer Jack Blaha (no image)
Jack Blaha
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There seems to be a disconnect between the cultures of the Austin & KC offices(in 9 reviews)

  • "He wants to create that perfect work-life balance(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "This company is broken"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PeopleAdmin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I wish I could say there were some but there are none.

    Cons

    overbearing executive team with micromanagement style. Outdated software with serious security issues. 75% customer dissatisfaction, Horrible culture. Was once a good company but been in decline for last five years. Customers regularly cancelling service due to lack of response to major issues.

    Continue reading
    PeopleAdmin2020-05-22
  2. "Good job, rough acquisition transition"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSM in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PeopleAdmin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with. A few different managers, some were better than others, but autonomy was important, and encouraged. Resources were good and communication with departments was encouraged. Relevant information was typically only a few slack chats away.

    Cons

    Workload at times for the CSM was high. Trying to maintain engagement and work on process improvement with over 150 accounts was difficult. Meaningful relationships were limited at times due to the necessity of bulk communication. Turn over at times was also an issue. Not necessarily for the CSM, but at the leadership level during the acquisition, which made it hard at times to focus on specific goals and metrics.

    Continue reading
    PeopleAdmin2019-06-08
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Another company ruined by corporate greed"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PeopleAdmin full-time

    Pros

    The people were the best. Once PowerSchool took over, anyone with talent or ambition was run out & many desks remained empty.

    Cons

    They foster an environment of complacency & do not have time for anyone who wants to grow or succeed within their role or department. PeopleAdmin sells a higher education product and PowerSchool, a K-12 market product, does not understand the needs of the employees or the clients. I’ve never seen so many ‘managers’ and ‘executives’ blatantly ignore issues & turn a blind eye to the daily dumpster fires blazing. At any given time you can find employees job searching or watching YouTube. That’s IF they come to work that day. It’s very clear to see the five star reviews on here obviously planted by management. Please do not reply with a canned response. It’s embarrassing.

    Continue reading
    PeopleAdmin2019-05-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of change, good and bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at PeopleAdmin full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced workplace, learned a lot while working there.

    Cons

    Very few benefits. Job security was not good.

    PeopleAdmin2019-02-05
  5. "Great benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at PeopleAdmin full-time

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO, HSA contribution, and more!

    Cons

    There have been lots of changes since I worked there, so not sure what they currently are.

    PeopleAdmin2018-10-09
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Good company, decent benefits, mixed feelings about management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PeopleAdmin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are the usual software benefits like health insurance, matching 401k, unlimited PTO, free drinks and snacks, etc. The customers and your coworkers are actually the best part of the company. Because the customer base is HR for education, you are dealing with (usually) really nice people with good social skills. If you communicate with them regularly and honestly try to help them, they will forgive you alot. Seriously, the customers are the people I miss the most. Coworkers are pretty great, too, although that is more of a mixed bag of some REALLY awesome people and some waste-of-space people (see cons below). Look for the people who know their stuff and become friends. Some of the best help and answers I got were from my coworkers.

    Cons

    The company has been bought, which means potential layoffs within the next 6 months. You might want to wait until after that to consider applying. There is a serious problem with a lack of accountability. Some people do the bare minimum to get by, and the managers don't appear to do anything about it. It's very frustrating for the employees who have to then work even harder to pick up the slack from the slacker employee. Also, while they have a Work from Home policy and numerous executives work from home, some of those executives are hypocritical and keep trying to take it away. Seriously, an executive who works remotely telling people that working remotely is a privilege they may not get to keep?!

    Continue reading
    PeopleAdmin2018-05-15

    PeopleAdmin Response

    May 23, 2018HR Coordinator

    Thank you for providing feedback. When it comes to working from home, we strive to provide a positive work experience and hold all employees to the same standard. The executives you are referring to are working from home within the same WFH policy afforded to all employees, which allows work from home when an employee lives outside a reasonable vicinity of the office location. Related to accountability, it is concerning to hear that there is a perceived lack of accountability in some departments. We would like to address those issues further and encourage you to reach out to Ashley Birkner on the HR team if you have specific concerns you’d like to share.

  7. Helpful (3)

    "It is what it is."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - G & A in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PeopleAdmin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility- If I need to take half of the day off, I can make it up in the evening- it’s nice to be able to attend family and friend functions with no question. Any training I’ve asked for, I’ve always been provided with, or given the freedom to seek outside if it wasn’t what I was looking for. Work/Life Balance- While it is work, and sometimes you have to do actual work, working here makes the day go by that much smoother. Some days you may have to work a bit longer or harder, however, when you do your job, you can reap the benefits. There have been times I've had upper management ask me to stop working. If that doesn't scream that your company wants you to have work/life balance, I don't know what else does. Transparency- Among other things, I enjoy having access to see where each and every employee lands on the org chart. It gives the startup feel of being able to see every name making communication and collaboration smoother. If i've ever had questions on what's going on in the company, i've always been able to ask with no problem. If you’re looking for a laidback environment that gives you the ability to grow and learn, this is the place. I started with the company in one department, and was able to move to the complete opposite side of the company while still maintaining some duties that —get this—I COMMUNICATED I wanted to keep. Training is offered for quite a few items- you have the option to do some courses with people, or online. If specific courses aren't offered, you always have the ability to do them outside of the LMS system.

    Cons

    Employee morale- Quite a few of these postings are made to make the company seem like it’s the worst place to work. These postings are easy to read through and see where an employee is frustrated, yet doesn’t take the proper channels to air those frustrations or communicate to anyone that there is an issue. Not happy with the company events? Try joining the events team that meets once a quarter. If you don’t want to join, provide feedback to those asking for feedback (yes, they ask for feedback all the time, and none is ever provided). Want work life balance? Don’t spend the whole working day playing ping pong and video games and then complain when you have a deadline you’re working against. Want more communication? Read your emails. There are so many emails communicating information that people tend to overlook- and yes, I’m guilty of this as well. Want to see change? Provide feedback. You can’t expect a company to read your mind when you don’t provide feedback. Since Jack has come on board, he has done nothing but kept the employees in mind, almost to a fault. It may be previous leadership that has made some feel like they can’t come to vocalize their opinions, however, from what I’ve seen, everyone on the leadership team has had an extremely open-door policy, and done everything they can to make themselves available to the employees.

    Continue reading
    PeopleAdmin2018-04-10

    PeopleAdmin Response

    April 16, 2018HR Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are happy to hear that PeopleAdmin is a place you feel that you can give input and see results. We appreciate your advice to our management as it is very helpful. Again, thank you for taking the time to share with us.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company Heading in the Right Direction"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PeopleAdmin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of growth potential in the company. Many people have been promoted Great co workers with a lot of great ideas Gaining momentum in the education industry and seeing a passion for what we do

    Cons

    Being a SaaS company, you have to handle a lot of change Still some negative people who worked at company's acquired, who need to move on from what was done back then

    Continue reading
    PeopleAdmin2018-04-04

    PeopleAdmin Response

    April 10, 2018HR Coordinator

    Thank you for your feedback! As a company, we value growth and the ability to promote within and we take pride in our employees. With the recent acquisition, there has been a lot of change but we are quickly finding measures to continually improve our communication throughout the company. Thank you again for taking the time to share with us.

  9. Helpful (4)

    "WASTE OF YOUR TIME"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Shawnee, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PeopleAdmin

    Pros

    Sad to say not many pros except snack...

    Cons

    The environment is child's play and leadership plays favorites. Not much company loyalty. The Company also has been boughten out countless of times if that says much.

    Continue reading
    PeopleAdmin2018-05-16

    PeopleAdmin Response

    May 23, 2018HR Coordinator

    Thank you for providing feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience at PeopleAdmin. If you would like to share specifics in the spirit of helping us improve as an organization, please reach out to Ashley Birkner on the HR team.

  10. Helpful (5)

    "Sinking ship with selfish hypocrites for Leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PeopleAdmin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of free food like daily snacks and drinks. Most of the people you work with on the lower levels are really smart and good to work with. Good place to start out and gain tech experience for that next position. The company has a good mission and products that do provide value to our customers, helping them to improve Education.

    Cons

    Constant changes to policies and procedures that will negatively impact you as a front line employee serving the company's customers. Of course, none of these changes will apply to Mid, Upper and Executive level Management. No real training program so as a new employee you will be expected to train yourself on the company's multitude of different products, some having limited or no documentation on how to use them. Company very much has a favoritism vibe to it, especially, since Jack Blaha has taken over. Not much of a work/life balance, since, the goals and amount of work you're expected to handle, are unrealistic for the number of hours in a day. Lack of opportunities to promote from within even with high turnovers in some departments. Company believes the solution to any problem is, to go buy another company rather than innovate and solve the problems/design flaws that plague its own products.

    Continue reading
    PeopleAdmin2018-04-03

    PeopleAdmin Response

    April 4, 2018HR Coordinator

    Our CEO, Jack Blaha, has asked to respond directly to your comments. “As the CEO of the company, I am unsure of what to make from your feedback, honestly. There are too many falsehoods in this post to address here, so please take the time to swing by or give me a call to discuss. I do want to improve this company and any implication I do not is just untrue. To make the company better, we need transparent and open feedback and to have those types of conversations directly. My door is open so stop by. Respectfully, Jack Blaha”

Found 101 reviews