PetSmart Employee Reviews about "dogs"

Updated 2 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
529 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Most animals like the peanut butter(in 461 reviews)

  • "Prone to dealing with misbehaving dogs(in 276 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "dogs"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good job for college students"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Dog Bather in Chino, CA

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours and overall good vibes

    Cons

    Prone to dealing with misbehaving dogs

    PetSmart Response

    January 4, 2021Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at PetSmart with us. We love that you enjoyed your management, coworkers, and work environment! Thank you for all that you do for the love of pets!

  2. "Great way to start a grooming career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Bather/Grooming Trainee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are basically paying you to train and become a dog groomer. Once you become a groomer the pay doubles. My coworkers are awesome.

    Cons

    The pay sucks while you are in training although I do get insurance and 401k match. Picking up heavy dogs is hard on your back, make sure you know how to lift properly.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    December 22, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to review and share with us. We're happy to hear you love your life at PetSmart and appreciate all that you do for pets and pet parents that come into the salon!


  3. "So fun"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Doggy Day Care Attendant in Beaver, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dogs, more dogs, dogs are really cute. Being able to create bonds with the dogs that regularly come in was fun, and their pet-parents are nice too!

    Cons

    Picking up fecal matter wasn't always fun, but the dogs made it worth it.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    December 7, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hey there, thanks for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to share with us. Please feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 if you want to speak with us further. Thanks again!

  4. "A good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Dog Bather 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They’re very picky about who they have work for them. They want good people with great people skills. They’re very understanding about scheduling. They actually care about keeping everyone safe and treating pets well.

    Cons

    Being a dog bather is not easy. It is NOT a job for people who cannot handle feces, vomit, aggressive dogs, and awful customers.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    December 7, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hi! Thanks for taking the time to review. We'd enjoy getting to speak to you further about a few of the things you mentioned above, as this is not in line with our values. Please feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693.

  5. "Caring Management"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Petsmart PetsHotel Associate in Torrance, CA

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Lots of time with dogs!

    Cons

    My only complaint honestly would be just that it did get boring spending hours in a room with energetic dogs.

    PetSmart Response

    December 2, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We're glad you enjoyed your life at PetSmart.

  6. "Fun"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Dog Bather in Lansing, MI

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of dogs and other animals

    Cons

    Loud birds and dogs and machines

  7. "DONT BRING PETS HERE!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Doggy Daycare Attendant in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    none that I can think of besides nice coworkers

    Cons

    The dogs don't get what you pay for, the supervisors tell you to just mark it off as if it has been done but it never actually was. This includes individual play times and snacks etc. There are fights in the camps everyday because too many dogs are put in at once. 1 person per 20-25 dogs ...... not a good situation. 0 training before you are expected to clip nails etc.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    November 25, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a thoughtful review and are very sorry to hear this was your experience. We want to connect with you via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so that we can try to help. Thank you so much for everything you did for pets and pet parents that came into the PetsHotel.

  8. "Ehh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dog Groomer in Highlands Ranch, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits and the training is ok

    Cons

    Hours can be long, they try to push you into grooming more dogs than you feel comfortable with

    PetSmart Response

    November 25, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your life at PetSmart with us! Thank you for 10+ years of bettering the lives of pets! Please know, you can always connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to discuss further. Thanks again!

  9. "It’s ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Bather in Bolingbrook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can get as many hours as you can and the managers are nice

    Cons

    The pay isn’t all that great for the snout of work and danger you have to put yourself through dealing with dogs

    PetSmart Response

    November 4, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hey there, thanks for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to share with us. Please feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 if you want to speak with us further. Thanks again!

  10. "Loved it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Chicago, IL

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management was amazing, coworkers were super helpful and nice, the environment was fun to work in. Had some rude customers but it’s like that everywhere in the retail industry! Other than that, I loved working here!

    Cons

    People didn’t clean up their dogs feces/urine so they just leave it there. How rude!

    PetSmart Response

    October 14, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at PetSmart with us. We love that you enjoyed your management, coworkers, and work environment! Thank you for all that you did for the love of pets while with PetSmart!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 276 English Reviews