PetSmart Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 30 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
527 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Most animals like the peanut butter(in 461 reviews)

  • "Prone to dealing with misbehaving dogs(in 276 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "great job"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Dog Groomer in Oak Ridge, TN

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    positive work environment good team

    Cons

    hard physical and mental work

    PetSmart Response

    January 4, 2021Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your life at PetSmart with us. We appreciate your feedback. Please know, you can always connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to discuss further. Thanks again!

  2. "Petsmart IT engineering review"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Awesome work environment Very helpful higher management group, helps in advancing your career

    Cons

    Not too competitive environment sometimes

    PetSmart Response

    January 4, 2021Associate Employment Brand Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We're glad you enjoyed your life at PetSmart. Please know, you can always connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to chat through anything mentioned above. Thank you!


  3. "Great Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Care Associate in Hixson, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff, healthy work environment

    Cons

    I haven’t found any cons working here!

  4. "Stereotypical corporate retail environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise & Inventory Leader in Portland, OR

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent bonuses when they happen. Work environment is alright, not unpleasant. Get to see and interact with animals all day. Customers tend to be nice for the most part.

    Cons

    - District and Regional managers tend to be disconnected from the realities of the store. i.e. "You have X number of hours to complete this task according to my spreadsheet." These estimates do not take into account interruptions, additional duties, etc. - P&Ps must be followed to the letter, even if they do not work as well for your individual store as they do for the flagship test store. - Animal death and injury are part of the job. Not for the sensitive or squeamish.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    January 4, 2021Associate Employment Brand Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your life at PetSmart with us. Please know, you can also share your thoughts with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you for all that you did while at PetSmart for the love of pets!

  5. "Great"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Being available and learning customer service techniques.

    Cons

    No communication and very hostile work environment

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    December 10, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a thoughtful review and share a bit about your life at PetSmart with us. Please feel free to connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so we can chat with you further. Thank you for all that you did for the love of pets that come into the store!

  6. "Good for a first time job"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Stylist Assistant in Upper Marlboro, MD

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Entry level experience needed . Learning about grooming pets.

    Cons

    Passive aggressive work environment in grooming salon.

    PetSmart Response

    December 22, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and would love to connect via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to see if we can help. Thank you for several years with us and for all that you did to better the lives of animals that come into the salon!

  7. "Hotel associate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Hotel Associate 

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours Puppies Team work environment

    Cons

    Blackout dates for most holidays More work than you think

    PetSmart Response

    December 22, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hello! We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to leave a thoughtful review. Thank you for all that you did for the pets that came into the PetsHotel while you were with PetSmart!

  8. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some benefits, good management, good work environment

    Cons

    Ethical issues, salary isn't great

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    December 7, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We're sorry that this was your experience and would like to help. Please feel free to connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so we can learn more. Thank you!

  9. "Would Never Board my Pets Here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pethotel Associate in Delray Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning new skills and playing with cute dogs.

    Cons

    Crazy hours for a part-time position, people are hired for positions they do not qualify for, extremely stressful, hostile work environment, horrible management, bad living conditions for animals, employees encourage lying to pet parents in order to keep them satisfied.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    January 4, 2021Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to review and share with us! Please know, we take your concerns seriously and would love to connect with you so that we can help. Please reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to talk more with us.

  10. "Great Opportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dog Groomer in Norcross, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment. Love the people I work with. We have great time while getting work done.

    Cons

    Certain managers with no grooming experience or knowledge tend to neglect the grooming area and not very helpful when needed.

    Continue reading

    PetSmart Response

    November 4, 2020Associate Employment Brand Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We're glad you enjoy your grooming life at PetSmart! Please know, you can always connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to chat through anything mentioned above. Thank you for all that you do for the pets that come into the salon!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 201 English Reviews