Petro-Canada "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Petro-Canada Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated 23 de Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Petro-Canada CEO Steve Williams
Steve Williams
71 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No benefits, bonus for the sale(in 9 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage, customers yelling at you for doing reasons, people drive away from gas and not pay(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Guest Service Attendent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Attendant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Petro-Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great understanding customers that's it...

    Cons

    Doing manager work for minimum wage even though I was told I'd get a raise Not enough hours. Went down to part time hours instead of full time Mangers dont know what they are doing. We constantly run out of products. Haven't had a clean mop head in months. I had to wash it in the sink by the till. Not enough staff

    Continue reading
    Petro-Canada2019-07-24
  2. "Guest service technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Petro-Canada full-time

    Pros

    Nice environment No force from the management Decent place to work for part time while searching for ur full time jobs

    Cons

    Minimum wage Boring at times

    Petro-Canada2019-04-16
  3. "Gas Station Attendent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gas Station Attendant in London, ON

    I worked at Petro-Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My trainers were quite good and very paitent

    Cons

    Job instability Schedules come up a day before the work week High turnover in staff They fired 1/2 the staff at my store because there was change in management and he wanted his own people Shifts are working for 8 hrs. and you're not allowed to sit or take breaks You get fired if you have 1 bad "mystery shopper" Very aggressive management - tended expect that tone from a company that large Minimum wage w/no benefits You're constantly wondering if you're going to have any shifts next week

    Petro-Canada2018-06-07
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Petro-Canada

    Pros

    A decently good job overall

    Cons

    It's a normal minimum wage job

    Petro-Canada2017-12-05
  5. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Petro-Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job with minimum pay. Fairly laid back atmosphere and not too stressful. Easy to get good at your job

    Cons

    Minimum wage, customers yelling at you for doing reasons, people drive away from gas and not pay

    Continue reading
    Petro-Canada2017-12-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "More than meets the eye!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Kingston, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Petro-Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly management, as many hours as you want, 50% shift discount on A&W food, mostly great customers. Shifts are fast paced and fly by. If you aren't afraid of work and like to keep busy this is the job for you.

    Cons

    Don't let the job ads fool you, this is not a "cashier" job. You will be a cashier, a stock person, a janitor, a coffee barrista, a snow removal team and more. Advertised as a minimum wage cashier job, there is much much more involved and it is hard work. Expect heavy lifting, bending, scrubbing (The truck stop locations have very large public washrooms and private showers for truck drivers) Snow removal in the winter is also part of the "cashiers" responsibility. All side walks, filling areas and pumps (front and back) are to be kept clear at all times.

    Continue reading
    Petro-Canada2014-08-16
  7. "Rough and tumble, wacky and wild"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Attendant in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Petro-Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Minimal supervision, hours are usually available, free coffee, small discount for in store items, learn how to deal with customers good and bad, learn how to remain calm when multiple robbers "know" you can open the safe, learn how to deal with work induced post traumatic stress disorder

    Cons

    Minimum wage, ZERO breaks, high risk, often very busy, no benefits, no work-life balance, management doesn't care as long as the money is rolling in and it shows, mystery shops used as a disciplinary measure (against the recommended use as stated by their mystery shop contractor, Market Force), replacement employees often don't care to show up and you have no choice but to stay and work a double shift, minimal opportunity for advancement

    Continue reading
    Petro-Canada2014-08-17
  8. "Great for multi-taskers and socially focused people, negative interactions with management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gas Station Attendant in Halifax, NS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Petro-Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours available, fast-paced dynamic environment. A good atmosphere to learn multi-tasking and time management skills. This is mostly an average retail job.

    Cons

    Management was unsupportive during training. Expectations were unclear and questions were rudely responded to, creating a hostile environment for a new employee. The manager would also talk poorly of other employees behind their back while training me. Obviously this only applied to the location I worked at, your mileage with a different manager may vary. Most of the shift was worked alone and this became a problem during long rushes when I was unable to take bathroom breaks, and would be dangerous late at night. End-of-shift paperwork took much longer than the 15 minutes paid while attending to customers, and any time over that was unpaid. Minimum wage, but this is average for an entry-level position in this region. You also have to say "my pleasure" after every transaction, which is really awkward. Customers can be challenging, but that is true of any retail job. Upselling is also a large part of the job, which is understandable as it increases profits, but can upset busy customers who just want to get their gas and leave.

    Continue reading
    Petro-Canada2014-01-16
Found 8 reviews