Pfizer Principal Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Pfizer Principal Scientist Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
26%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
Pfizer CEO Ian Read
Ian Read
11 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work with good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist 

    I have been working at Pfizer full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible work environment

    Cons

    Instability, like any pharma company

    Pfizer2019-08-16
  2. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist 

    I have been working at Pfizer full-time

    Pros

    best work/life balance. great benefits. okay salary, but made up by bonus.

    Cons

    still a big company...

    Pfizer2019-06-03
  3. "Pharma is a tough industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Principal Scientist in Groton, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pfizer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    LOTS of resources to get job done Nice people Decent benefits Flexible work arrangements (sort of)

    Cons

    Focus on the bottom line and not the patients - plain and simple. Willing to dispense with very talented senior scientists to save a buck for another M&A.

    Pfizer2018-04-09
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Career prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Research Scientist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Pfizer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding work-life balance, freedom to work flexible hours, accomplished and bright colleagues to work with

    Cons

    Promotions are hard to come by, R&D does not seem to be a priority for the leadership

    Pfizer2016-12-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company values, good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pfizer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Multitude of resources, strong teamwork to get the job done, great values

    Cons

    Sometimes upper management tends to get in the way of progress, mixed messages

    Advice to Management

    Send clear messages, don't be so risk averse

    Pfizer2016-10-31
  6. "Nice benefits, terrible work space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist in Brookline, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pfizer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the people are nice and easy to work with. Access to a lot of scientific knowledge.

    Cons

    open workplace is difficult to deal with at times, no privacy, and very distracting.

    Pfizer2016-09-28
  7. Helpful (6)

    "dysfunctional matrix top heavy organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Scientist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pfizer

    Pros

    I have never worked with a more committed group of people in all my business life. I have never had a bad manager or had to tolerate problem uncooperative or lazy colleagues because they were well protected politically..

    Cons

    I shake my head when I read that work balance is a pro at Pfizer. It's been very hard for me over the last 5 years to even take a week of vacation let alone use all of my allotted time. We have what is call a Pfizercation, where colleagues are encouraged or required to attend telecoms or meeting even when they should be on holiday. One colleague was on a webex the day after an emergency appendectomy. Because it's...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are looking for exceptional employees who excel in this field yet you constantly lower compensation and use the excuse you are on par with industry standards. If you want surpass industry standards then you have to compensate employees above the benchmark and show them the respect they deserve by providing a work environment that makes them feel as an asset to the company rather than a financial liability.

    Pfizer2016-05-17
  8. "Usual science stuff, cure cancer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Scientist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pfizer

    Pros

    Competitive pay Benefits It is great working here. It's a small site and people are friendly. Easy to get things done.

    Cons

    Lack of personal development. As such it is not a con, but there are disadvantages when you work in a small site of a big company. The usual stuff.

    Pfizer2016-01-26
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Principal Scientist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Pfizer

    Pros

    Robust R & D funding; Well structured work environment; focus on research excellence

    Cons

    The very frequent company reorganizations;

    Pfizer2015-01-08
  10. "Good company for big pharma"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Scientist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pfizer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, though always trimming those, work/life balance, caliber of people working there. Pay is good, but a bit less so after the move to Cambridge as they are less competitive here.

    Cons

    Frequent restructuring, management does not follow through with plans for long, changing their minds frequently

    Pfizer2015-01-15
Found 26 reviews