Pinterest "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Pinterest Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated 14 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Pinterest CEO Ben Silbermann
Ben Silbermann
225 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is very respected--my team management pushes us to take at least four weeks a year off(in 37 reviews)

  • "Nice office, great location, free food(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's grown quickly in the past few years, and growing pains are inevitable(in 17 reviews)

  • "The company is growing now and isn't as small as it was during my internship(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Poor Middle Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture, lots of smart people to learn from

    Cons

    Growing pains... like any other start-up

    Pinterest2019-08-14

    Pinterest Response

    August 20, 2019People Team

    Thank you for your feedback! We pride ourselves on our amazing people and culture, I'm encouraged that you are experiencing them. We've grown a lot but hopefully any growing pains that you experience with smooth out with time and attention. I've noted your feedback on middle management, and will investigate further. If you're comfortable, there is an anonymous hotline to give more feedback directly: (844) 704-6249. Jo, CHRO

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, Still Experiencing Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Ogden, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pinterest does a few things exceptionally. They develop their people incredibly well, I feel as though I've learned more in 18 months than in my entire previous career. The truly care about their employees, they emphasize work-life balance and allow for people to have lives outside work. They also truly care about their users, making a product that is focused actually improving peoples lives.

    Cons

    There are definitely growing pains with a company that's experienced rapid growth. Sometimes feels like upper-level executives don't understand that Pinterest generates revenue by selling ads. Also noticed some people moving up in the company because of their relationships with people rather than there ability or potential to do their job well.

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2019-06-16

    Pinterest Response

    August 20, 2019People Team

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m happy to hear that you’re learning and developing in your career, and that you feel inspired by how much Pinployees believe in the mission. We’ve taken your words into consideration and will watch for the concerns that you voiced. Stay working hard and keeping Pinterest accountable! Jo, CHRO

    Continue reading
  3. "Incredible place to be both challenged and happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The people are second to none - some of the best talent and kindest colleagues I've had in my career - Truly puts the users first in every way - ahead of the curve on just about every major issue (diversity in workforce and in product, encouraging engaged but not addicted users, etc). It's a company I feel proud of. - Work-life balance is truly a thing here in a way I haven't seen before - Benefits are really great - some of the best insurance I've ever had - The company is doing really well, and still incredibly humble and cautious

    Cons

    - It's grown quickly in the past few years, and growing pains are inevitable. A lot of processes changing and being put in place, a lot more "regulation", but I honestly appreciate a more cautious approach.

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2019-01-30
  4. "Creativity and Ownership at Pinterest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The product and the culture go hand in hand; Pinterest inspires creativity and exploration, both inside and outside of the office. - Authenticity and lack of ego amongst employees - Fast paced, but Pinterest encourages you to cultivate ownership over your work.

    Cons

    Like any startup, there are growing pains, which is to be expected.

    Pinterest2018-11-18
  5. "Great company, meh people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pinterest

    Pros

    - Very "Pinteresty" environment, DIY, and artsy. Great for those who have a creative passion. Will have random fun events, KnitCon, and can attend studio nights taught by an employee - Lots of work to do, especially in ads and visual search. You will have a lot of impact with the work you do. - Very methodical with growth, which leads to building a better product (w/ ads) - Ben, CEO, has a great vision & direction and is very inspirational

    Cons

    - **Biggest gripe is the amount of people who are not passionate about the company/product. Even during a short 3 month internship, I could see a problem with some people at Pinterest. It's a bigger problem if you're working outside of Product Engineering (working on the app). If you're really passionate about the product like I was, you'll be disappointed when you start interacting with people at the company. - Little career opportunities for engineers. HR is hiring people who can do the job, rather than teaching/building engineers to do it. Not a great place to grow your career - Mentorship is very hit or miss. For interns, some get great mentors, some get bad ones who don't care for your success. - Growing pains of getting bigger. A lot of org restructuring and outside people coming in, creating more levels of management. It feels like a bigger company where you have less freedom to do things. - Food is very hit or miss, made by in-house chefs

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2017-11-20
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’ve seen this company grow up and the leaders and team are top notch. The focus on our vision has never changed or been compromised as we’ve built the business.

    Cons

    We’re working on moving faster and it’s defiantly getting better. There are always growing pains but nothing out of the ordinary.

    Pinterest2017-09-30
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Most incredible culture - it stems from leadership that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is the #1 reason to work at Pinterest. The mission is part of our every day and we are expected to live and breathe it. Experiencing the product in our lives and being Pinners ourselves helps us think about the end users and make the product better for those who make us successful. Here's what I LOVE about this culture. -Super smart, down-to-Earth, friendly people. Everyone is willing to roll up their sleeves to help one another accomplish their goals. Collaboration is key and there's a lot of cross functional work that takes place. "Knitting" with other departments is part of who we are. -Transparent leadership. Q&A with founders every Friday sets the tone for open, honest communication across the company. It makes you want to go the extra mile to help the company succeed. -Work/life balance. People not only respect that you have responsibility outside of the office but that you are a person with interests, too. It's engrained in the culture that you get out and try new things, explore the world, do what you love and be who you are in order to be the best and most productive. -Equity packages make you a true owner of the company. Your success is the company's success and it makes you work just that much harder. -Outlook for the company is strong. We are constantly compared to the Google's and Facebook's of the world and it's often hard to keep up but just being in that category given our size is a compliment. -On-staff chefs with breakfast, lunch and dinner daily at HQ. -Dog friendly: so many cute pups to play with as needed -Social company: the expectation is that you get to know your co-workers and it makes being a part of a growing organization so much fun because you get to enjoy time in and out of the office with great people.

    Cons

    Not many, honestly. But for sake of balanced feedback: -Growing pains. Pinterest is growing fast and there are moments where it's clear that new process is needed where it's never existed before. It's an opportunity to impact change and make things better but can also be frustrating. -You're thrown right in. Everyone is willing to help but it's really up to you to determine your path here and carve out your place. -Salaries are a tad lower than typical market value. Equity packages help make up for it but if you're in it for your base this may not be the right time to join a company of this size.

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2017-06-22
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to build a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We're building a billion-dollar business. Our user and revenue growth numbers are top-of-their class (I've read some pessimism on here, but it seems to stem from high standards - I speak as an analyst) Flexible PTO, and great perks (our chefs randomly leave treats like creme brulee and smoothies around the office) Smart people (truly best of the best) who ENGAGE every day to make Pinterest better and are genuinely nice to work with Beautiful office environment (architecture award-winning) CEO holds Q&A every Friday - and people aren't afraid to ask tough questions Thoughtful leadership team that listens, in sharp contrast to an industry often led by ego-driven extroverts Our work impacts a product LOVED by 100's of millions of users. I've never heard people speak about Instagram/Snapchat/Google with the fierce passion and love that Pinterest evokes for them

    Cons

    My team has experienced 3-4 re-orgs in 12 months. This reduces focus and harms productivity. We need time to stabilize Growing pains - too much tribal knowledge means it can take awhile to feel up-to-speed. Our tooling needs to catch up to our scale

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2017-05-23
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Honestly the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Every company talks about culture but I've never seen a place so clearly embrace and live up to its culture (in a good way). People at Pinterest are some of the smartest I've ever worked with (and I've worked at top companies in Silicon Valley) and yet they are truly NICE and Pinterest-y. And there's a drive and hustle there - people stepping into different roles and wearing hats as needed to get sh*t done. Very little ego, just drive.

    Cons

    Nothing significant that I haven't seen much worse elsewhere. There is the inevitable political game every once in a while but far less than other companies still and of course growing pains as the company has expanded quickly. The strong culture keeps a lot of these problems in check.

    Pinterest2017-02-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Keep going!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pinterest full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks, great people, interesting work. It doesn't just pay lip-service when it says the company wants you to grow in more than your professional development.

    Cons

    Pinterest is growing up from a startup to a large, established company, so there have been a few growing pains. Leadership is aware of them and actively working to address them.

    Continue reading
    Pinterest2016-10-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews