Plante Moran "busy season" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Plante Moran Employee Reviews about "busy season"

Updated 28 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Plante Moran Managing Partner Jim Proppe
Jim Proppe
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Working Sundays during busy season(in 31 reviews)

  • "Long hours which can be expected as an intern(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "busy season"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Overall great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Tax Intern 

    I worked at Plante Moran for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment Opportunity to do a variety of projects

    Cons

    Working Sundays during busy season Partners aren't always approachable

    Plante Moran2019-08-28
  2. Helpful (9)

    "A workplace that treats you like a person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plante Moran full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plante Moran has been one of the Top 100 companies to work for for 21 years, and the company strives to live up to that title. Everyone, from the partners to the staff, strives to make Plante the best team environment it can be. When you start, you are assigned a a buddy with slightly more experience as well as a team partner to help with any questions or issues that you may encounter. They also takes an interest in your goals and how you want to grow within the firm so that both you and the firm benefit. I also gained a lot of varied experience at Plante Moran. Due to being middle market, staff are able to work a wider variety of clients throughout the year as well as getting exposure to a lot of different sections of the audit. By the end of my first year, I had touched almost every section of the audit including helping prepare financial statements.

    Show More

    Cons

    All the cons associated with Plante are the ones that you would see from other public accounting firms, though perhaps not as severe. Busy season is stressful, and there is a lot of learning on the job, which can be frustrating at times no matter how much others are helping you. However, all the support mentioned above very much helps lessen these issues.

    Plante Moran2019-05-16
  3. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Plante Moran full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance and compensation

    Cons

    Hours during the busy season

    Plante Moran2019-06-05
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great people, tough hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plante Moran full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I work with in the DTC office are wonderful. The company has great benefits ($0 premiums for the high deductible insurance plan, and unlimited time off!)

    Cons

    You have unlimited time off, but you must hit your required charge hours which equates to ~3 weeks of vacation. When I first started the required hours for busy season were around 55 hours a week. Three years in and now the hours have bumped up to 65 hours a week.

    Advice to Management

    Don't become like the big 4. Hours have increased and there is more of culture pressuring you to hit high hours each week.

    Plante Moran2019-03-15
  5. "Amazing Culture at one of the biggest firms in the Country"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Audit Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plante Moran for less than a year

    Pros

    - Dress code is typically casual or client based - Staff are extremely knowledgeable; an internship has been a very rewarding experience - The work is not as stressful as the Big Four workload but enough to keep it interesting and challenging throughout the year

    Cons

    - busy season means long hours and extensive travel (I like both but most would consider this a con) - Most locations are around the great lakes (and 4 in Colorado); the weather can get pretty cold which is a big con for me

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, keep it up. I would love to see Plante grow into even a larger firm. I just wish they had some warmer locations.

    Plante Moran2019-02-27
  6. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plante Moran

    Pros

    The culture and the people are great.

    Cons

    Public accounting and busy season are a big time commitment.

    Plante Moran2018-12-13
  7. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plante Moran full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is very kind, and willing to help. Great place for working mothers

    Cons

    Understaffed, so busy season is more busy than other places

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff

    Plante Moran2018-11-07
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Plante Moran full-time

    Pros

    Great culture. Jerk-free workplace. Opportunities for growth and advancement

    Cons

    “Busy season” hours, high travel... basically what you would expect from a public accounting firm

    Plante Moran2018-09-07
  9. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plante Moran for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly staff. Everyone is willing to help you learn and grow at the company.

    Cons

    I can honestly think of no real downsides. During busy season, you are expected to work late hours but that is to be expected from any accounting firm.

    Advice to Management

    You are doing a great job. This is a great place to work and I love the friendly environment that your staff seem to create.

    Plante Moran2018-02-13
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assurance Staff in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Plante Moran

    Pros

    Best is 4 weeks vacation when you start. Also hours are decent when not at busy season and there's a lot of flexibility.

    Cons

    Busy season is difficult but that's with all accounting firms. Compensation is not great either compared to the expected work hours

    Advice to Management

    Compensate your employees what they are worth, especially since they are the ones putting in long hours and working in evenings

    Plante Moran2017-09-13
Found 34 reviews