Principal Financial Group Retirement Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Principal Financial Group Retirement Specialist Reviews

Updated 26 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Principal Financial Group President and Chief Executive Officer Daniel J. Houston  (no image)
Daniel J. Houston
4 Ratings
  1. "Happy to be at Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retirement Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've heard lots of good things about Principal and it has lived up to expectations.

    Cons

    Good benefits, but I didn't negotiate my initial salary and wouldn't increase in the first year.

    Principal Financial Group2019-12-27
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retirement Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible with the PTO, good coworkers

    Cons

    very repetitive day to day

    Principal Financial Group2019-09-09
  3. "Retirement Specialist - Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retirement Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - They offer a great benefits package (ie. life, health, 401k, pension if vested, free gym, etc.)

    Cons

    - On the phone for the full 8 hour shift - You will not get the shift you want (for at least 6 months) - You have all breaks and lunch schedule at specific times everyday - VERY little interaction with co-workers - Managers are not very well connected with their team - Time-off rarely gets approves unless you request it way in advance - They say there is a lot of potential to move up or out of call-center but there is not

    Show More
    Principal Financial Group2019-07-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retirement Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits, except for the time off. You don’t get time off unless you know you’ll need it 3 months out. There were never enough employees to be able to request a day off the same month, let alone the same week. So you have to call in. Management actively encourages employees to request as many days off as they feel they need, even if you might not use them. So what you get is 20 people all requesting any day off that’s available so that when a person actually needs to take time off, there is none available. So you have to call in and you get punished. Appealing to management does nothing because “it’s in the handbook.”

    Show More

    Cons

    Dismissive leadership, poor training (i only survived cuz of my experience), high turnover, archaic systems, customers and agents who regret placing business like you wouldn’t believe, no correspondence was principal reviewed, took me 6 months to get a new chair after I complained of back pains.

    Advice to Management

    You need new managers in the annuity call center who will treat their employees like people instead of stats.

    Principal Financial Group2019-03-21
  5. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retirement Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Principal Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits , great location, opportunities to grow

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Principal Financial Group2019-02-06
  6. Helpful (6)

    "I had a horrible experience working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retirement Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Principal Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Climate-controlled office. Indoor plumbing. Briefly spoke with a celebrity on the phone at my oh-so-glamorous call center cubicle. Having learned that I will never work at such a horrible company again.

    Cons

    Feeling like a number in a large, hierarchical, dysfunctional organization. Micromanaged to cellular level. Pretty much stuck at my cubicle the whole day without much freedom to walk around.

    Advice to Management

    I don't even know where to begin...

    Principal Financial Group2016-10-10
  7. "Take inbound calls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retirement Specialist in Grand Island, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some of the best benefits in town. Work in a nice office environment with the opportunity to work from home.

    Cons

    There is little room for advancement based on this location. If you are will to re-locate the opportunities are higher Required overtime and sometimes you cannot get the time off you requested.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff

    Principal Financial Group2015-08-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Okay company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retirement Specialist 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Principal Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PTO accrual, ability to purchase time off, stock purchase options, decent insurance costs

    Cons

    Public company - focused more on shareholders than employees

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees more. Quit wasting money and use that to increase wages instead.

    Principal Financial Group2014-01-01
Found 8 reviews