Progressive Insurance Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 556 of over 4,385 reviews

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Progressive Insurance President and Chief Executive Officer Tricia Griffith
Tricia Griffith
1,744 Ratings
Pros
  • "great company great pay great benefits(in 307 reviews)

  • "It is a very healthy work environment(in 269 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not so much of work life balance due to a lot of work(in 303 reviews)

  • "Progressive can be inflexible with its employees(in 223 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company

      Nov 25, 2021 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work options. Servant leadership model. Company as a whole encourages honesty and integrity.

      Cons

      Salaries could be more competitive with more market, but flexibility and work/life balance make it worthwhile.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic company to work for

      Nov 13, 2021 - Commercial Lines Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved every minute of working there, and I worked from home. Even though I struggled a bit to learn the insurance information, and am trying to get back there. I loved it all, from training all the way to being on my own on the phones. The people there are amazing and the positive way the company works is by far the best experience that I ever had. They treat you like adults, letting you handle your work/life balance.

      Cons

      None as far as I could tell, other than the information itself. Hard to learn unless you have an analytical brain. But still worth the work.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great culture

      Nov 17, 2021 - Progressive Claims Adjuster in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility with work times , allows time to pick up kids from School

      Cons

      Work life balance suffers with working from home and excessive amount of claims

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Salary but Over Worked

      Dec 1, 2021 - Claims Generalist Associate in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary Pay Annual Bonus Equipment Provided for Work From Home

      Cons

      4-6 new claims per day, average rolling workload of 80-140 claims at any given time. There are not enough hours in the day to complete work as assigned, leading to "incentives" to work 7 days a week to complete tasks. Work life balance is hard, but individuals who stick it out past a year say you get used to it and make it work. Customer vehicles are totaled more frequently than other insurance agencies from experience with similar damage and no one is ever satisfied with the amounts Progressive is paying.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great culture

      Nov 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture is great and they care about work life balance

      Cons

      Volume has greatly increased and hiring is hard to keep up with

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not what it used to be.

      Nov 8, 2021 - Blended Representative, Customer Service & Direct Sales in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I will say that many of the pros are no longer a thing… when I first started the work life balance was great. They were fully staffed, we got regular raises and it was easy to take off work. Right before covid hit that all went down the drain.

      Cons

      PTO. You don’t get it all at once, you get it every 2 weeks a few hours at a time. And if you don’t have it and you need it, you get an “occurrence” which keep you from being able to get raises or move into other positions. It’s a very stupid system. So you can “have” the PTO but they don’t let you use it. Work life balance. It used to exist. Pre-Covid. They have a system called Green Alerts that you can sign up for if you want. If they aren’t busy or have enough staff, you can get approved and get off early. It was such a nice surprise on those long crappy days. When covid hit. Never again. They are a legend now. Managers are a real 50/50 and charge pretty frequently. My first 2 were great and my 3rd was an a*****e. Didn’t care about us at all and only pointed out flaws. It was never what you did good, it was only the bad. Over worked. When covid hit, obviously a lot of people weren’t going to be coming back to work. They only relief anyone got was 1 month where those occurrence’s I mentioned earlier, didn’t hurt you. How generous… Scheduling. Biggest joke by far. Three things go into your schedule options. Performance, attendance and tenure. Tenure the lowest. But. Say you use FMLA. For a pregnancy, an injury, etc. while that is normally protected, you will get a BS schedule because it goes against attendance. I had a severe accident and had to use FMLA and one of the people on my team had a baby. Why should we get bad schedules because of that? Also, you can’t really change it. There are “mini-bids” where you can try to get a different schedule like 2 times a year I think but it’s the same criteria. Business Disruption Policy. When covid hit, obviously a lot of people were going to be sent home to work. So what did they do? They changed their BDP to better benefit them. When I say Business Disruption I mean power outages, internet outages, Progressive equipment failure, etc. Pre-covid, if it was PROGRESSIVE SUPPLIED equipment, you got paid. Because why should you have to suffer because they stuff sucks?? If it was your internet or your electricity, naturally you don’t get paid. When covid hit, they said, “nah, our stuff broke? Oh well. No money for you.” Lastly, the systems. Progressive systems and hardware are horrible. They break or crash constantly. The reason I am even writing this review right now is because my system went down in August. It’s now November. Have they fixed it? Nope. Am I getting paid for THEIR system being down. You guessed it. Nope. They have basically ghosted me at this point. An absolute joke of a company.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor work-life balance

      Oct 20, 2021 - Claims Specialist in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits and Gainshare (bonus)

      Cons

      No work-life balance Unrealistic workload Overall negative industry-you are not dealing with people in good moments in their lives, and no day is really a "good day". Outdated methodology and industrial/organizational outlook on employees,

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to start career

      Oct 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Thorough training and continued support

      Cons

      Case load and Work/life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company not so great work

      Nov 8, 2021 - Claims Adjuster 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible and work from home

      Cons

      Work life balance and stress

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great company need work life balance

      Nov 3, 2021 - Property Adjuster in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Competitive pay co workers

      Cons

      No work life balance and hard to take time off

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 556 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Progressive Insurance Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Progressive Insurance? Share Your Experiences

    Progressive Insurance logo
    or