Proofpoint Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Proofpoint Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Proofpoint CEO Gary L. Steele
Gary L. Steele
234 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No 401K match in the benefits offering(in 20 reviews)

  • "Small 401K match (but offset by a good Employee Stock Purchase Plan, merit-based salary increases and impact awards)(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Easily worst job I've had in years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Na-Duar
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Products - market leader Co workers Snacks Just typing at this point to hit the minimum amount of words.

    Cons

    Company doesn't invest in their ppl - only cares about gettung to a billion dollars. They don't care how or who gets them there. Good talent has left within last year. No 401k match Constant territory changes - no motivation for sales teams Culture is toxic - lots of back staving Everyone in fear on being on chopping block now that everyone isn't close to hitting quota.

    Continue reading
    Proofpoint2017-08-25
  2. "Interesting and challenging place to grow your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineering Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can make real impact with your own contribution/ideas/hacks Positive interactions between engineering. Engineering challenges are "not-yet-all-solved" so you can truly make an impact if you willing to put in an effort

    Cons

    Not enough timely focus on engineering infrastructure

    Proofpoint2019-11-04
  3. "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Proofpoint is an industry leading, innovative place to work.

    Cons

    There aren’t any cons to working at Proofpoint.

    Proofpoint2019-10-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Order Management Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Management Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, the only positive thing honestly.

    Cons

    Hours during EOQ are ridiculous. So much turn around, not only with OMS but with management. PTO is supposedly unlimited but upper management will put a limit on how much time you can take off. Very poor automation for a tech company, a lot of manual work. Raises are OK. Upper management is not great on giving positive feedback, it feels like they are only focused on negative feedback. CFO referred order management as “picture yourself starting in the mailroom”. Supervisors are nice but do not stand up for their employees; I feel like they are frightened for their own positions if they mention anything that the directors do not want to hear. New director is all about “metrics/calculations”. A “do as I say” style and does not like to be questioned. Very controlling as well. Manipulative in a way that he will come off as being nice but will have a reason to find something negative on how you respond. He watches everyone like a hawk! He will walk around the department to make sure no one is on their phones or web browsing!

    Proofpoint2019-11-01
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Recommend but it's not perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good solutions and reputation. Decent benefits. Culture is good. I like 90% of the people that work here. I'd recommend Proofpoint.

    Cons

    Poor matching 401K. Lack of raises. For this size of company there are way too many layers of management and channel people. Same old processes and we've doubled in revenue since I've been here. Way too many tasks for a field rep which aren't related to customer facing activities.

    Continue reading
    Proofpoint2019-10-09
  6. "Awesome tech, cool people, not much perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Proofpoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Proofpoint are working on awesome technology and helping people become more secure. People are friendly and good to be around.

    Cons

    Perks are not at par for tech company.

    Proofpoint2019-10-11
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good pay but proceed with caution."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Proofpoint full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is generally above market averages. Full Time employees get Equity which vests over 4 years and makes the job even more lucrative. Flex vacation but it's not applied equally. The company is growing fast and has a good product which is valued in the marketplace. High customer renewal rates. Free snacks and soft drinks.

    Cons

    It's a generally stuffy culture. Having fun at work is discouraged. Somebody is always watching and will complain to HR or Senior Mgmt. Sales has high turnover but maybe that is standard in that field. Support and Operations are ok but quiet. Some departments such as Engineering have almost zero turnover so your results may vary.

    Continue reading
    Proofpoint2019-10-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Proofpoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Compensation (not worth it) Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Promotions are infrequent, pay increase is negligible, no annual stock refreshers, very frugal benefits (i.e. $250 match in 401k), lack of culture (no team outings or lunches), snacks and drinks are the cheapest options from Costco, difficulty in obtaining basic work equipment such as mice/keyboards/monitors, incompetent hiring practices leading to decrease in morale

    Continue reading
    Proofpoint2019-10-29
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Stay away if you’re in sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Proofpoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best of breed solution...can’t thing of anything else.

    Cons

    I worked on the middle enterprise sales team. I had maybe 75 real accounts in my territory. To hit quota I probably would have needed to close 12 of them...which means 35-40 would have needed to evaluate us within the year. This was completely unworkable. Not only was converting that % of my accounts into pipeline impossible it was the first sales job I held where I actually ran out of things to do every day. There just weren’t enough prospects to call on.

    Continue reading
    Proofpoint2019-09-29
  10. "Fast Paced, Good Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Proofpoint full-time

    Pros

    Leading edge technology, lots to learn, fast paced and company consistently does well financially.

    Cons

    No true software as a service and very complex product.

    Proofpoint2019-09-19
Found 317 reviews