Qualcomm Staff Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Qualcomm Staff Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
61%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Qualcomm CEO Steve Mollenkopf
Steve Mollenkopf
43 Ratings
  1. "Staff engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Staff Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very Good Pay. Work life balance is maintained. Cutting edge technology.

    Cons

    Promotions are very slow. Its taking 4 to 5 years for every promotion.

    Continue reading
    Qualcomm2016-01-04
  2. "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Technology, culture, pay, people, 5G

    Cons

    workload, hectic, work life balance, coding

    Qualcomm2019-05-16
  3. "Staff Engg"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Calls typically start late so can put kids to sleep and take calls :-)

    Cons

    it would have been good if all employees in bangalore could be co-located in a single office

    Qualcomm2014-08-20
  4. "Staff engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Chennai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great engineers to work with. Could work on multiple product line in a short span of time I worked there. Management was appreciative of the performance and that was reflected on the salary increase after appraisal

    Cons

    Less development, mostly trouble shooting customer issues. Management was not looking at the quality of work they were getting from Santa Clara division. They were focused on the volume

    Qualcomm2013-08-05
  5. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Taipei

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with talent people

    Cons

    I don't like Some political culture

    Continue reading
    Qualcomm2019-10-17
  6. "Overall, great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Ample learning opportunities, spacious office space, lots of perks, rewarded for performance, latest and greatest technology, competency.

    Cons

    Political environment, difficult to get work-life balance, high pressure work environment.

    Qualcomm2019-09-22
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people Open environment Excellent projects

    Cons

    Health care is not good.

    Continue reading
    Qualcomm2019-09-05
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Not bad, but not as good as it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's a pleasure to work with some of the smartest people I've ever met. In general, I have access to the tools I need to do my job, and to resources to keep my skills up to date. Management is sort of trying again to make it a good place to work.

    Cons

    Communication and Vision from senior leadership in the engineering organization is severely lacking. The tools and processes engineers must deal with on a daily basis are a source of frustration. Legal woes have been a constant overhang on employee morale (and compensation) for the last several years... and it seems it's still not finished. Management is clumsily re-learning how to show their appreciation for employees by inviting thousands of employees to a launch party on one of the campuses where we get to wait in horribly long lines just to get a free taco and a beer. Employee appreciation is nothing like what it used to be. HR keeps fiddling with the performance review process and rating system, yet at the end of it all the rating system and forced curve-fitting ends up destroying employee morale even further.

    Continue reading
    Qualcomm2019-07-25
  9. "best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good tech and interesting working style

    Cons

    no overtime and too much traveling

    Qualcomm2019-07-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Work life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    pay for the amount of work we do is actually higher

    Cons

    low morale and zero motivation

    Qualcomm2019-02-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 98 reviews