Quicken Loans "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Quicken Loans Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1641 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Quicken Loans CEO Jay Farner
Jay Farner
472 Ratings
Pros
  • "upbeat and energetic work environment(in 140 reviews)

  • "Great culture and very fast-paced for people who have a lot of energy(in 113 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours, no work life balance at certain times(in 237 reviews)

  • "For those that want work life balance - learn time management(in 224 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Internship review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Quicken Loans

    Pros

    1. Excellent work life balance 2. Opportunities to shadow other teams 3. Multiple events are organized for interns 4. Good technical teams 5. A lot of benefits for full-time employees

    Cons

    The only con of the internship program is the low internship salary rate. It does not meet the industry standards at all. No demarcation between graduate and undergraduate interns.

    Advice to Management

    The management should work on restructuring the compensation policies so that it attracts better talented candidates from all across the country.

    Quicken Loans2016-12-19
  2. Helpful (59)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE (5 stars so it doesn’t get buried)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Banker 

    I worked at Quicken Loans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - nice office - make some good friends that’s literally it. this place sucks.

    Cons

    Horrible company to work for. Their sales tactics are overly pushy and questionable, and the people who run the company are all bros that peaked in college (more on this to come). During my time here, I had multiple “leaders” and I was instructed to mislead clients into options that had no benefit. You sell on their ignorance. If a client doesn’t realize they’re losing money over 30 years, you sell it. You’ll be told...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - live by the culture you promote - new management - have morals

    Quicken Loans2019-02-09

    Quicken Loans Response

    February 15, 2019Job Board Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. Having a bad experience is not what we're about and are disappointed to hear this. We value your feedback and think that it would be helpful to discuss your specific situation further. Please reach out to us at Lisa@quickenloans.com.

  3. "Cleveland's #1 Employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banker in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quicken's culture and the people make it very easy and fun to work here - the leaders truly care about developing people and making sure everyone has a great work life balance and employees accomplish their goals. Expectations are realistically set and motivation to help others and do well has been exceeded.

    Cons

    There are no cons that i can think of off the top of my head.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Quicken Loans2019-06-28

    Quicken Loans Response

    July 3, 2019Job Board Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We value helping our team members grow and our leadership team is here to help! We appreciate your kind words and are so glad that you recommend others to working with us.

  4. "LOVE IT HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banker in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - the people - the culture - the environment - the growth opportunity - the earning potential

    Cons

    - hours..... but, this is a career. I would rather work 50 hours a week until I was 35 an early retire (started at 23).... Than 40 hours a week until probably 65 and then still never be able to afford retirement. That's 31,000 hours at work over 12 years versus, 87,000 hours over 42 years of my working life. So those that complain about hours are short sited. Embrace the grind and give it your all because Quicken...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do what you're doing. You are the best leadership team I've ever worked with in my life.

    Quicken Loans2019-06-19

    Quicken Loans Response

    July 3, 2019Job Board Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted about your observation of our culture and environment as we will always be committed to our team members experience. We also appreciate your honesty about the hours and we will continue to find ways to improve work-life ...

    Show More
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banker in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Environment, Leadership, Growth potential, you can achieve all of you personal and financial goals here as long as you are willing to work.

    Cons

    Hours/Work life balance, in the beginning it's a little rough. If you aren't committed to getting better it's not going to work for you.

    Advice to Management

    Increase base salary for new banker. until they can get a feel and are good at sales over the phone.

    Quicken Loans2019-06-11

    Quicken Loans Response

    June 12, 2019Job Board Specialist

    Thank you for your kind words. We are overjoyed that you recommend us to others and see the growth potential available. We also appreciate the feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Worked there for almost 13 years, and saw a company go from something special to just another corporate shop."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IOS Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Quicken Loans full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Technology was usually up to date, offices and buildings were nice, and met some really good friends there. You usually could check out other careers in the company, and even move into those roles if you so chose and your leadership had your back. Benefits were good, but if you worked your way up, as you were promoted they liked to keep your pay much lower than if you came in from the outside with the same skillset.

    Cons

    Things have changed with a new CEO and CTO, and they have lost all of their culture, at least the leadership under the CTO. It went from a bottom-up environment, where the engineers drive the ideas, to a top-down organization, where you are expected to be a bunch of yes-man order takers. Leadership would give mixed messages, and many times you would do the same work over and over because engineers were not listened...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    With the addition of the newer CEO and the CTO, the company has become corporate and bureaucratic like all the companies they would talk about being better than. Listen to the team members if they come to you about how things have changed, and pay attention to the Exit Interviews.

    Quicken Loans2019-06-11

    Quicken Loans Response

    June 18, 2019Job Board Specialist

    Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate your honesty and constructive feedback. We are committed to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative environment for all of our employees, so we are disappointed to hear about your experience. We deeply value our team ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Single parent advice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Quicken Loans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Definitely a place I would have wanted to found earlier in my professional career. Efficient with training minus how long it takes and the opportunity for reward is there. Nice location and people you work with aren’t the worst.

    Cons

    Common theme, work life balance. They say they are working on fixing it but it’s not explained that you will most likely work 6 days a week for a few months/years with these shifts being 10+ hours for the most part. I would not recommend working here if you’re a single parent.

    Advice to Management

    It is a sales job so it’s very much production oriented. With QL continuing to grow they have to find a balance with these goals as they could come off as non-realistic.

    Quicken Loans2019-06-06

    Quicken Loans Response

    June 12, 2019Job Board Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your honesty and feedback. We are glad that you find value in the training that we provide as we take great pride in our programs. We will also continue to work on developing more work-life balance for our team members ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Ehhhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MOrtgage Loan Originator in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Quicken Loans full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money and a fun work environment

    Cons

    no work life balance, had some bad meetings with HR in regards to other team members that were doing very inappropriate things to other team members with no consequences

    Quicken Loans2019-06-04

    Quicken Loans Response

    June 11, 2019Job Board Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are glad that enjoy the environment with us here at Quicken Loans but would like to discuss your specific situation further. Please reach out to us at Lisa@quickenloans.com.

  9. "Fast paced environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Quicken Loans full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for overtime and bonus.

    Cons

    A diminishing work life balance that was previously prioritized by the company.

    Quicken Loans2019-06-04

    Quicken Loans Response

    June 11, 2019Job Board Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are committed to our team member experience and will continue to improve our work-life balance.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "It's more of a lifestyle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Originator in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Quicken Loans full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, benefits, and atmosphere.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is no existent, somewhat pushy sales tactics.

    Advice to Management

    Mandatory 11 hour days 5 days a week with a mandatory weekend is a tad ridiculous.

    Quicken Loans2019-05-07

    Quicken Loans Response

    May 23, 2019Job Board Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are committed to our team member experience and will continue to improve our work-life balance.

Found 1641 reviews