R+L Carriers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

R+L Carriers Reviews

Updated Jun 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 273 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Ralph Larry Roberts, Sr
140 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay , care about the employee's , willing to help if someone needs help(in 23 reviews)

  • "Decent pay raises, over-time if needed an weekends off(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Don't really get praised by upper management by doing a good job(in 13 reviews)

  • "If you're a loader their "damage freight accountability" process needs huge refinement(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company, always feels like family."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Central Dispatcher in Wilmington, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is not the best, but very reasonable still. Everyone knows everybody and for the most part you will always feel like family. Positive atmosphere with positive energy.

    Cons

    Pay is not the best. If you are good at something, you will always do more. Promotions don't come to those who deserve them.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of hindering those who are successful in your department, promote them or give them more pay. Be more appreciative. Up pay. Up pay. Up pay. Especially those who deserve it. You can only micromanage so much, More sick/vacation time - your employees deserve it.

    R+L Carriers2019-06-08
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loader in Janesville, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great and they do take care of their employees.

    Cons

    work loads can vary.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    R+L Carriers2019-05-28
  3. "Out bound shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dock Worker in West Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay raises, over-time if needed an weekends off.

    Cons

    Having to pick up the slack of lazy dock workers that are only there to milk the clock an wanting to talk to anyone that crosses thier path. Always having to do other shifts work wen we already have a full plate. Hardly ever having the dock set to start work.

    Advice to Management

    Start cracking the whip on the morning an grave yard shift to start doing their jobs an quit blaming out bound for everything.

    R+L Carriers2019-05-01
  4. "Could be better but I've had worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have really cool company owned vacation p properties you can visit on your vacation if you want. I've worked for worse companies before.

    Cons

    If you're a loader their "damage freight accountability" process needs huge refinement. Basically damaged freight is always your fault and never anyone else's. As a Supervisor/router they work you to death. Although the pay is decent for the field of work, it's also nowhere near the upper portion of what you can make. Also, to overtime pay. It's all straight time.

    R+L Carriers2019-04-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Was looking for work and glad I haven't found it hear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in North Tonawanda, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at R+L Carriers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    First impression on appling for a driver position the management team was not very nice I felt like I was comiting a crime by putting a application in . I met with the manager and not one smile or welcome or how's your day .that is sad very sad wish I had looked at reviews I would if never wasted my gas to go thier.

    Cons

    Poor people skills and miserable environment I'm depressed just by walking in the door .some one really needs to get people in thier that wanna be thier for one and some one who has a better attitude for doing interviews I will not return even if I was offered 100,000 year salary to depressing I have a 15 yrs accident free ticket free and 0 points on my csa score u think they would want that on thier team guess not

    Advice to Management

    You will never get good drivers to stay when u have degenerate management in thier .to tell some one they have to have this many stops done a hour is ridiculous to meny uncontrollable situations will happen and then what u get punished because some one got into a accident and traffic cant move or the weather is so bad that traffic is slow what happens then u punish some one because they didn't have the number of stops...

    Show More
    R+L Carriers2019-04-22
  6. "Needs new management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great drivers and second shift office staff

    Cons

    Horrible communication with management regarding problems

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your office staff and dispatchers

    R+L Carriers2019-04-20
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safety Manager in Ocala, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Always busy- Never a dull moment

    Cons

    Spread a bit too thin.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to constructive criticism.

    R+L Carriers2019-03-14
  8. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loader1 in Kennesaw, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at R+L Carriers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    No overtime allowed other task make up

    R+L Carriers2019-02-20
  9. "It’s only OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - City Pick Up and Delivery Driver in North Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was OK, Benefits are all right

    Cons

    Old equipment old trucks old trailers

    Advice to Management

    Could be more organized

    R+L Carriers2019-02-19
  10. "Poor leadership, terrible attendance policies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at R+L Carriers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly, overtime is an option

    Cons

    The attendance policy is such that you can have a doctors note excusing you from work, and still be written up because they don’t consider it excused unless you’ve earned sick time (after a year) and this is after you’ve caught some contagion from a coworker because they too have the choice of coming in to work sick or being written up

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees, don’t think of them as expendable and your high turnover rate would lower quickly.

    R+L Carriers2019-03-22
Found 273 reviews